We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location but really really small rooms...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #459 of 1,077 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Located just behind covent garden, easily reachable by tube.
Very big hotel but the room was very very small. Clean and bed was comfortable. Complimentary water bottle was nice and wi-fi also included.
I had an executive suite but I don't really know what the executive part was or if "non executive" rooms are even worse. No fitness center.
Breakfast was nothing extraordinary but ok.
Overall a pretty standard hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, however to avoid confusion we would like to point out that we do not have any suites in the hotel, merely larger than average bedrooms with additional facilities and privileges. Although we do not have a fitness centre within the hotel we do offer complimentary entry to the Virgin Active leisure centre which is less than 100 metres away.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,050)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,248 - 7,254 of 10,052 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having stayed at the Strand Palace on many occasions it was well run and efficient as usual.
It's central position really makes it my hotel of choice when in London.The prices are very competitive for London.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitleywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a one night stay, we chose it because of the central location which to be fair makes this a great place to stay. To be honest the hotel was lovely in all the public areas but, I felt that the rooms were nothing special. The toiletries in the rooms were quite cheap to be honest. However, at £90pppn I expected a lot more. The secondary double glazing in our room had been removed and as the room was on the front of the Hotel we suffered loads of noise all night. When we complained all that we were offered was a free upgrade when we next visit and I don't think that is good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that front onto The Strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DINKEtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologise that the lack of secondary glazing in your room ruined your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel, and whilst I am pleased that our offer of an upgrade on your next stay was made, I do appreciate that this may seem insignificant. I would be interested to ascertain however, if you brought this matter to attention on arrival or when you were departing, as I would like to think that had we been made aware of the problem on check in, we would have moved you to a different room. Once again please accept my apologies, and I assure you that should you return to the hotel we will ensure you have a more comfortable and acceptable stay.

Regards,
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Strand palace is a favourite of mine when going to London.
Location is excellent and less than 10 min walk to Piccadilly.
Recently refuirbished the rooms are average but good.
Breakfast is excellent.
Can be expensive but web has deals.

Room Tip: club rooms not worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and a friend stayed here about 2 weeks ago as we fancied a good night out. We needed somwehere where we could walk to and from all the major bars/clubs etc. This hotel is fantasically located on the strand directly opposite the Savoy Hotel. Covent Garden is literally a 5minute walk.

We were upgraded to a Superior room as soon as we arrived. This room was huge!! The only 'downside' is that we had 1 tiny window which you could not open which made it feel a little 'cabin' like. Other than that £164.00 between two for such a clean and well located hotel in London - it is fab!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great location, nearby Covent Gardens and the theater zone.

Rooms are super tiny. Food in the bar was good as well as the friendly staff

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Two nights at this hotel this weekend. The room was comfortable although the single glazed windows did not shut or latch in my room, which meant that Saturday night was loud. In the winter, I imagine that the room could be cold. Breakfast was typical English, nothing fancy but good enough.
Close to Covent Garden, there are a large number of shops and restaurants close by which makes it convenient for dinner, however, with the Underground being such an amazing subway system, you can get anywhere quickly. Buy a day pass from the concierge service, which was wonderful and also arranged a car service to Heathrow in the morning for me.
The price seemed relatively high, but London is an expensive town and the prime theatre distric location was very convenient.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Waldorf Hilton London
The Waldorf Hilton London
#338 of 1,077 in London
4,374 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
St. James's
The Ritz London
The Ritz London
#33 of 1,077 in London
3,702 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#23 of 1,077 in London
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in London
#260 Romantic Hotel in London
#304 Luxury Hotel in London
#346 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $166 - $388 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming guests since 1909, the Strand Palace Hotel is surrounded by the best London has to offer. Set on the Strand in the heart of the capital's West End, the hotel is mere moments from Covent Garden, Trafalgar Square and the Thames, making it the perfect location for discovering cultural icons and for those travelling on business. The hotel is home to an award-winning restaurant serving British as well as superb bars offering afternoon teas and exquisite cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing