We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Nice location but really really small rooms...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #381 of 1,087 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Nice location but really really small rooms...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Located just behind covent garden, easily reachable by tube.
Very big hotel but the room was very very small. Clean and bed was comfortable. Complimentary water bottle was nice and wi-fi also included.
I had an executive suite but I don't really know what the executive part was or if "non executive" rooms are even worse. No fitness center.
Breakfast was nothing extraordinary but ok.
Overall a pretty standard hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ttalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, however to avoid confusion we would like to point out that we do not have any suites in the hotel, merely larger than average bedrooms with additional facilities and privileges. Although we do not have a fitness centre within the hotel we do offer complimentary entry to the Virgin Active leisure centre which is less than 100 metres away.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,618
    3,629
    1,588
    564
    327
See reviews for
1,107
3,024
1,166
1,867
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Having stayed at the Strand Palace on many occasions it was well run and efficient as usual.
It's central position really makes it my hotel of choice when in London.The prices are very competitive for London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitleywarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a one night stay, we chose it because of the central location which to be fair makes this a great place to stay. To be honest the hotel was lovely in all the public areas but, I felt that the rooms were nothing special. The toiletries in the rooms were quite cheap to be honest. However, at £90pppn I expected a lot more. The secondary double glazing in our room had been removed and as the room was on the front of the Hotel we suffered loads of noise all night. When we complained all that we were offered was a free upgrade when we next visit and I don't think that is good enough.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that front onto The Strand
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DINKEtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I apologise that the lack of secondary glazing in your room ruined your stay at the Strand Palace Hotel, and whilst I am pleased that our offer of an upgrade on your next stay was made, I do appreciate that this may seem insignificant. I would be interested to ascertain however, if you brought this matter to attention on arrival or when you were departing, as I would like to think that had we been made aware of the problem on check in, we would have moved you to a different room. Once again please accept my apologies, and I assure you that should you return to the hotel we will ensure you have a more comfortable and acceptable stay.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The Strand palace is a favourite of mine when going to London.
Location is excellent and less than 10 min walk to Piccadilly.
Recently refuirbished the rooms are average but good.
Breakfast is excellent.
Can be expensive but web has deals.

Room Tip: club rooms not worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tMCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Me and a friend stayed here about 2 weeks ago as we fancied a good night out. We needed somwehere where we could walk to and from all the major bars/clubs etc. This hotel is fantasically located on the strand directly opposite the Savoy Hotel. Covent Garden is literally a 5minute walk.

We were upgraded to a Superior room as soon as we arrived. This room was huge!! The only 'downside' is that we had 1 tiny window which you could not open which made it feel a little 'cabin' like. Other than that £164.00 between two for such a clean and well located hotel in London - it is fab!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuenca, Ecuador
Level Contributor
156 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Great location, nearby Covent Gardens and the theater zone.

Rooms are super tiny. Food in the bar was good as well as the friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012 via mobile

Two nights at this hotel this weekend. The room was comfortable although the single glazed windows did not shut or latch in my room, which meant that Saturday night was loud. In the winter, I imagine that the room could be cold. Breakfast was typical English, nothing fancy but good enough.
Close to Covent Garden, there are a large number of shops and restaurants close by which makes it convenient for dinner, however, with the Underground being such an amazing subway system, you can get anywhere quickly. Buy a day pass from the concierge service, which was wonderful and also arranged a car service to Heathrow in the morning for me.
The price seemed relatively high, but London is an expensive town and the prime theatre distric location was very convenient.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#14 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,264 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#24 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#267 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Travelocity.ca and Evoline ltd so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing