We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Unbelievable Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Strand Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Strand Palace Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,078 Hotels in London
GreenLeadersGold level
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unbelievable Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on business, the hotel and staff were always very punctual. Room was comfortable and had all the amenities required. Carvery restaurant was very good and excellent value for money. The location was fantastic, slap bang on the strand but minutes walk to Covent Garden, Leicester Square, Aldwych. My preference is always the Guoman when I stay in this part of town! however, take nothing away from the facilities and warmth of this hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank KrisP5282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,475
    3,498
    1,530
    539
    314
See reviews for
1,063
2,841
1,139
1,795
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,394)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

We always stay here when we come up to London to visit the theatre / museums / exhibitions a couple of times a year. It's so convenient and within walking distance / or a couple of tube stops of all the sights. Breakfast was good. Downside are the small rooms - but they are very warm. I turn the radiator off when i arrive, then the room is the right temp for sleeping!. For £2 per suitcase, they can be safely left with the concierge whilst you do more sightseeing.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jinny232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

We just spent a week here. Had a last-minute change in our plans and Asst, Mgr. AJ was very accommodating for our needs. The rooms have been recently remodeled and our double was nice size for London. The hotel restaurant is just okay, but there are plenty of places to eat in this area. We got a great deal on the room because the exterior of this entire building is being reworked. It did not cause any noise or bother on the inside at all though. This hotel is only a few blocks from Charing Cross Station and Trafalgar Square. There are numerous theaters, pubs, and eateries nearby.
The hotel's breakfast is okay if you are on a tight time schedule, but there are lots of places in all directions that you can get a good breakfast for quite a lot less money.

Room Tip: We were able to upgrade to a small double that was quite a bit larger than the executive single for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

This is my hotel of choice whenever I visit London. My recent stays at the hotel where both excellent. The single room without a view was small but comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was one of the best I've experienced at a hotel. I'm a vegetarian, and there were many choices for me. The location cannot be beat.

The service at the Strand Palace goes beyond what one would expect at a hotel. A screw, in my carry on bag's handle, had fallen out while traveling to London. I asked at the concierge's desk where I could get the bag fixed. I was told that someone at the hotel would fix the bag. I brought it to the desk the next morning, and it was fixed in about an hour.

I had written a comment, about something that happened at the Strand Carvery. I was immediately contacted by Adnan, the duty manager, to discuss my comment. He listened to me and assured me that my comment would be addressed. When he heard that I was a repeat guest and that I would be returning in a few weeks, he offered to upgrade my room for my next stay. I was happily upgraded to a king executive room which was spacious, clean, and extremely comfortable. With the upgrade came access to the executive breakfast dining room which had an even larger selection than the regular breakfast dining room.

The people, who work at the Strand Palace, are friendly, attentive, and concerned about the comfort of their guests. I will happily stay there the next time I visit London. Thank you to everyone at the hotel who where so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyricaldove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and very kind words about various members of my team. We always try help and satisfy guests to the best of our ability, and it is indeed pleasing to be able to respond to such a positive comment - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,
David MacRae
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed here on a brief trip to london. The rooms are quite small, I stayed in a basic single room, but they are well equipped, and such a great price, especially when you consider the amazing location in Covent garden!
There was plenty of room to lay down and unpack my suitcase, and the single bed was comfy. The staff we always friendly and helpful, and the breakfast buffet, although basic was tasty.

Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank poptartlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2012 via mobile

Booked this for a business trip because it was near the location I needed. Quite expensive considering the tiny room.
The room itself couldn't have been more than 12 foot by 6 foot, with an inward facing window.
Shower, no bath - disappointing.
The hotel was having an exterior facelift so was covered in scaffolding.
Disappointing.
The staff were great however, courteous and polite.
Free wifi with the room

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank g4Sandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and we are disappointed you did not enjoy your stay. Half of our bathrooms have been fitted with new showers, whilst the other half still have baths. Had we been made aware of your requirement for a bath we would happily have moved you to another room. Should we be able to offer you accommodation in the future please let us know of this requirement when you make your booking.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

Stayed one night on business trip. Hard to believe the room was a double, the bed was squashed up against the wall so one person had to climb over the other to get out. No bedside table on that side.
Extremely busy at breakfast but staff efficient and very helpful.
Great location for theatre, art galleries, sightseeing and shopping.
BUT: Never before have I had to pay for my luggage to be stored after checkout. I complained at the reception and the receptionist was very courteous and as a gesture of goodwill returned my money. However, I hope the management will note that the principle is wrong.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidMacrae, General Manager at Strand Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments - with regards to the charges for luggage storage, I can advise that we are currently reviewing our policy on this matter and will be making changes over the next few months. We currently need to charge due to the extremely high volume of luggage guests want to leave with us, and storage facilities are regrettably very limited.

Regards,
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#212 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,011 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#186 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#72 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strand Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Palace Hotel

Property: Strand Palace Hotel
Address: 372 Strand, London WC2R 0JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in London
#232 Family Hotel in London
#261 Romantic Hotel in London
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
#347 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Strand Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 785
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic four star Strand Palace Hotel stands with true grandeur in the heart of London's West End, on the doorstep of Covent Garden, Soho and Leicester Square. Since opening its doors in 1909, the hotel has remained a landmark in the area. With 785 guest rooms ranging from Cosy singles to larger Executive rooms, complimentary WiFi throughout, a well equipped gym, two restaurants, a destination Gin bar, a sports bar and a vast meeting space the hotel is ideal for business and leisure travellers alike. Covent Garden, Charing Cross and Embankment underground stations are also within easy reach as well as main line over ground train stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Strand Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strand Palace Hotel London
Hotel Strand Palace
Strand Palace London
Strand Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing