We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly a home away from home...Outstanding!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Milestone Hotel
Ranked #3 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Truly a home away from home...Outstanding!!”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Milestone Hotel for nine nights over the Christmas and New Year holiday. I cannot say enough about the management, staff and hotel in general. Without exception, every staff member treated us with the utmost respect and really, really seemed to care about our needs.

We initially had some concerns about staying in a hotel on Christmas Day but the Milestone and its staff made it a wonderful (and very memorable) day. The day started by us finding a Christmas stocking with wrapped presents attached to our hotel room door on Christmas morning...then we had a fabulous full English breakfast in our room followed that evening by an outstanding dinner in Cheneston's Restaurant...finally, we capped off this great day with evening tea in the library (which we experienced every night of our stay). In addition to the hotel itself, the Milestone's Kensington location is perfect...we walked everywhere from the hotel and very much enjoyed our walks in Hyde Park.

I've stayed in many "so called" first class hotels and all too often they've sadly missed the mark but in the case of the Milestone, they’re truly a first class establishment at every level and expertly operated and managed. We guarantee we will return as soon as we can....

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank BCSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MilestoneGM, Front Office Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 3 February 2012
Dear Reviewer

I was absolutely delighted to read your fantastic feedback regarding your stay at Christmas. Christmas is a special time at The Milestone Hotel and all the team here try their hardest to make it, as you said, "a home from home." In fact our aim is to do that all through the year !!

Anyway I have passed on your kind words to all the team here at the hotel and I hope you will join us again in the near future for more of our excellent service that we pride ourselves in delivering to our guests.

Kind regards and with renewed thanks

Neil Anderson
Front of House Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,878 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,699
    138
    36
    3
    2
See reviews for
484
869
93
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We stayed here in December for husbands 50th birthday. He had no idea where we where going, everything had been booked and arranged in secret, and i am pleased to say, we both had a fantastic time.

All the staff are very friendly and helpful, nice touch to be called by your name, and also remembering what you had to drink the night before when ordering a drink the next evening. The staff we found, are about when required, and very helpful and friendly, not constantly hounding you!

Suite was beautiful, well equipped, romantic turndown was beautiful, and all the other little touches left in the room both nights.

Food was good, breakfast was beautiful, did have to wait for a table on the sunday morning, but not for long, maybe only 5 mins, so not a problem at all, nice chance to read and look at all the information/history about the hotel.

All in all, a great place to stay, would recomment to anybody, and we are currently saving up for our next trip to London to stay here, more birthdays coming up, wedding anniversary, really special place to celebrate.

Room Tip: We had a suite overlooking Kensington Park, no traffic noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alyson67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your wonderful review complimenting The Milestone Hotel.

I was delighted that you decided to join us for your 50th birthday celebrations, our team do work endlessly to ensure The Milestone make every occasion a memorable one. I am happy you mentioned our service as we do pay particular attention to striking the right balance between being engaged yet unobtrusive. Our restaurant does get particularly busy over the weekend however I invite you to enjoy the complimentary Room Service Breakfast we pride ourselves on delivering to our guests with breakfast inclusive packages.

I noted that you are looking to return for another special occasion and am looking forward to delivering another memorable experience.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asolo, Italy
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I had the pleasure of having afternoon tea with my fiance' and parents before going to Royal Albert Hall for a Christmas concert. The Milestone had won the the Top London Tea Place awards of 2011, so I was curious if it had truly deserved this honour.

The hotel itself was absolutely divine. Interiors of a high quality and very welcoming staff. The room in which the afternoon tea was served was was just the right size and very cozy and warm. The environment was tranquil, peaceful and very civilized. It really is a place to enjoy the comforts of British food culture with good company.

The afternoon tea itself was of a very high quality and the presentation was immaculate. The Milestone truly deserved its win in 2011 and I'm sure will continue to keep its reputation as the place to go to for afternoon tea. I can't wait to find another occasion to go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

I was delighted that you decided to join us for Afternoon Tea following the tea council awards. Our Park Lounge is such an amazing tranquil venue which is appreciated by all our guests. I am happy that you enjoyed our top quality offering and noted that you will be back again soon.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2012

On arrival at the Milestone we were greeted by very friendly concierge staff who quickly organised our rooms and luggage. The junior suite had excellent taste and decor. The rooms had everything to make our stay comfitable. What made our stay enjoyable was the personel touches like the turn back of the bed with a book and book light together with chocolates on the pillows.The bathroom was filled with luxurious cosmetics of excellent taste.
We have stayed at several 5* hotels in the city centre for conveniance but in our opinion nothing compares to the service and little extras provided at the Milestaone. My wife felt like a celebrity.
The hotel has an excellent view of Kennington Palace and Hyde Park.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heiske D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for reviewing The Milestone Hotel

I am pleased to read such a glowing review of our Concierge service; the team do aim to make every one of our guests feel extra special. Our in room amenities and bespoke touches is a very unique trait of The Milestone and our team are encouraged to make every one of our guests stays unique and memorable. I am happy that your wife felt like a celebrity whilst staying with us and hope to be of service to you again soon.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We arrived at The Milestone Hotel on September 10th
From the time we stepped from our cab until we were bid farewell at 7pm on September 13th,
The service we received from your professional ,friendly staff was nothing less than outstanding.

Your hotel was recommended to us by our Travel Agent- James Irving of MTA Travel -Robina Queensland Australia
James has been handling our travel arrangements for over 20 years and is very aware of our needs.
The Milestone certainly measured up to our expectations and more.
The staff, from the Door ,Reception, Bar,Restaurants,Service to room are all to be congratulated for their excellent service.
A family member surprised us by booking into your hotel for 2 nights.
We knew we had a very good package deal organised by James.
I approached the reception explaining the family member was a sister I hadn't seen for 2 years and if possible an upgrade of some description would be a pleasant surprise for her and her partner.
Your reception organised an upgrade .
This upgrade was far beyond what I had expected.
My sister and her partner had never experienced this type of accommodation before
It was delightful to see their excitement, a once in a lifetime experience for them.
A very impressive Hotel .It is of no wonder you are a member of
The Leading Small Hotels of the World
We will keep The Red Carnation Hotel Group in mind for future travel.
Certainly, The Milestone will be the choice for London
Jenny Coyle

Room Tip: all rooms would be acceptable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 888jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Jenny

Thank you for your wonderful detailed review of The Milestone Hotel

I am delighted that you chose The Milestone for your visit in September. I will be sure to send James a thank you note for recommending you to us. Our team were very happy to read your comments about their excellent service; they do strive to exceed our guests’ expectations at every opportunity. I am also very happy that your sister had such a memorable stay and happy that we made their once in a lifetime experience so special.

Thank you for keeping us in mind for your future travel endeavours and I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We stayed at The Milestone in early October and very much enjoyed the whole experience. The public rooms are so beautiful and we were treated to a tour of the building after enjoying a welcome glass of champagne on arrival. We enjoyed a pre-theatre dinner in the restaurant (which we had to ourselves) and it was really excellent. Our room was a little on the small side but exquisitely furnished with a beautiful bathroom. Unfortunately a carpenter was working on the conservatory roof outside our room in the afternoon when we wanted to take a short nap but we understand that maintenance has to be done at some time! That was certainly the only negative. The service was superb and all the staff bent over backwards to make sure we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMR56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your complimentary review of The Milestone Hotel

I am delighted that you chose The Milestone for your visit in October. I happy to read that our butlers took such good care of you on your arrival and that you managed to join us for a glass of Champagne. In order to maintain our beautiful property we have to perform routine maintenance from time to time, and as you mentioned do try and schedule this to cause minimal disturbance. Our team are delighted that you enjoyed their service regardless of the inconvenience you experienced.

I hope that you will be back again soon and I look forward to meeting you upon your return.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2012

We really had an excellent stay and appreciate the staff attention, the good food and wine at the Cheneston's and the cosines of the hotel. We appreciated the food and wine so much that we decided to eat there all three evenings. We especially appreciated the service from the sommelier. We did have drinks at the stable bar and liked it. We got upgraded on arrival to a junior suite and stayed for three nights. They also delivered complimentary champagne and a hand written note to congratulate on my birthday. There were some minor glitches, like it took 30 minutes to get coffee to our room and we had to tell the reception that we were out of toilet rolls, but this did not affect our overall rating as excellent. We really liked the settings and beautiful furniture's in the room an in the hotel. We did not have the opportunity to try the spa area or the afternoon tea but we would have very much liked to.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank damwim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milestone_Deputy_GM, Manager at The Milestone Hotel, responded to this review, 23 January 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review of The Milestone Hotel

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your birthday with us. I am especially pleased that you joined us for dinner in Chenestons on all three nights you were here. Lia our sommelier was very happy to read your comment about her wine and service. I sincerely apologise for the service delays you experienced and can assure you that our team have already started looking into these to ensure they do not happen again. Each one of our rooms and public areas are individually decorated, hence we enjoy reading comments about this unique feature.

I hope we will be able to welcome you back to The Milestone Hotel again soon in order to showcase our Spa and Afternoon tea to you too.

Kindest regards

Geoffrey Wild
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,707 reviews
Chelsea
Egerton House Hotel
Egerton House Hotel
#2 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
The Beaumont
The Beaumont
#4 of 1,063 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Westminster
Taj 51 Buckingham Gate Suites and Residences
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Milestone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Milestone Hotel

Property: The Milestone Hotel
Address: 1 Kensington Court, London W8 5DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Milestone Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant hotel housed within a meticulously restored grand Victorian mansion dating back to 1883. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Milestone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing