We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stanley House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Stanley House
Ranked #686 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Bellingham, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

The only redeeming things about this Hotel were the location and the breakfast. Where do I start?
The place smelled terrible! They apparently painted recently but did not have any ventilation, the fumes gave me a headache.
The door stuck on our room and we were afraid we would take the knob off trying to open it.
The room was dirty and the sheets and headboard had hair on them.
The bathroom plumbing was clogged and by the time you finished a shower you were ankle deep in water. The sink was not much better.
When someone flushed the toilet in the room above us it sounded like a waterfall in the walls.
The place was HOT and the window wouldn't stay open so we had to use a trash can to prop it open so we could get relief from the heat and the smell.
None of the staff was friendly or ever smiled. There was nothing charming about this bed and breakfast. The manager slept in the hall on the floor at night and we had to wake him to check out-awkward.
I would happily pay more to stay in a place that I didn't dread coming back to at the end of the day. DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trisha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,084 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    357
    408
    148
    108
See reviews for
325
388
53
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location for the centre of London and Victoria.
The surrounding area is buzzing with cafes, restaurants and everything you could need.

Free WiFi and breakfast included in the price for Central London

Rooms are basic but very clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff or manager.

I stay here regularly on business and this is my first choice hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M-from-Carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

This is a good location, but what made this hotel stand out for me was the staff. I was traveling alone on Christmas Eve and had nothing to do, and the staff made sure I had a great experience. This isnt something you'd expect in a such a big city like London, but they were kind, courteous, and really know the city!

My room was sized exactly what I would expect for the price I paid for the room, but it was clean and comfortable. I would not hesitate to stay here again, as it was one of the best customer service experiences I've ever had at a hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ExUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

Obviously we knew that this would not be perfect, but we found our stay very unpleasant. I was just relieved we were out at a party so did not spend much time there. Firstly, we booked double room, but were given a twin, and could not change to double as none left. That would have been OK, it was how dirty the room was that I did not like. Handprints on the wall, filthy lightswitch, broken bed, had to pull the bed out to reach the plug socket and behind was very dirty. We did not trust the cleanliness at all so used spare clothing we had brought with us to sleep on. There isn't a single feature about this hotel I would recommend. Maybe other rooms might be slightly better, but not ours. And to top it off, when we arrived back from the party freezing and tired, there was someone randomly lying on the hall floor. Quite an overall experience!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dannibenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Bologna
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

It's an old hotel with 30 rooms and the breakfast room at the lower floor. My room was very basic and the bathroom is really small, tiny sink and shower. The position is excellent. If you like to walk you can go to Westminster, Buckingham, Harrods... on foot. Otherwise the Victoria station underground is 2 minute walking. I had an english breakfast, pretty good. If you don't expect too much, it' s good option.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank patrizia-pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

It is cheap, just walking distance to Victoria Station and Victoria Bus Station and traditional english breakfast.

The breakfast was surprisingly good, wasn't expecting it. Rooms are a bit outdated, but it didn't matter as long as it is clean and the bed are comfortable as we were out most of the day. The staff are pretty friendly.

As long as you do not put high expectation, this hotel is good enough for budget traveller who do not want to spend more on accommodation and are not comfortable to stay in a hostel. I gave this hotel a 'very good' rating for the breakfast and location itself.

Room Tip: Request the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karulann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2011

after been let down by our first booked hotel , we arrived here and asked if they had any rooms available and the man behind reception was great and said he had one available after 10 am and would keep it for us . the double room was large and had all facillities , tv en suite etc and was nice and clean . all you would expect for a budget hotel . breakfast was good and excelent service full english was available and othr customers requests were been prepared aswell .good position for victoria station about 5 min walk , lots of nice resteraunts in the ajoining streets a very pleasurable trip .next time i will book direct with them .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimmy29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
Caswell Hotel London Victoria
#741 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Pimlico
The Dover Hotel
The Dover Hotel
#620 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#932 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#451 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Pimlico
Huttons Hotel
Huttons Hotel
#617 of 1,078 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,255 reviews
Pimlico
Sidney Hotel London-Victoria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanley House

Property: Stanley House
Address: 19-21 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 1RB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #686 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Stanley House 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Budget Places, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Stanley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stanley Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing