We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah, Mr Gulliver, welcome to Lilliput.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #497 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ah, Mr Gulliver, welcome to Lilliput.”
Reviewed 12 November 2011

There was nothing mediocre about this hotel. It was a pretty even split between excellent and really awful! In fairness to the hotel, lets look at the excellent first. The staff were first class. There were lots of them and they were all friendly and attentive. I only had breakfast in the restaurant but with the exception of the occasional cold pot of tea, the food was quickly served, plentiful and delicious. Over all, the cleanliness of the hotel was good including my single room, which you could have tidied, dusted and hoovered without moving from the centre of the room! A little bit of an exageration so lets be brutally honest. Having spent hundreds if not thousands of nights in hotel room across the UK, this was the smallest room I have ever seen by a long stretch. it was no bigger than a prison cell. There was no room for a bed side table, there was no room to put my luggage and the shower was very hard work. I consider myself tall but trim(ish) with a 36" waist and 44" chest. I had to jam myself against the shower wall to close the concertina shower door and I couldn't wash my hair without constantly banging my elbows on the walls. On one occasion I dropped the shampoo and I had to open the shower door to create the room to retrieve it. Most unsatisfactory. I am working in London for the next 5 weeks and despite it being further out from the office, I have booked the Tara Copthorne as I would not consider a return to The Strathmore.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin503888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    307
    144
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
263
55
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

The standard here is proof London hotels do not have to try very hard.

On the positive side the hotel has a fantastic position for major tourist attractions and is well presented on the outside. It was also very clean throughout.

However from there things take a turn for the worse. Staff are pretty miserable and common areas feel run down. For some reason myself and my wife were allocated a room with four tiny single beds all of which were uncomfortable. Furniture in the room is shabby and old and there was a strange smell in the corridor outside our room. Wireless internet was not working for the duration of our stay.

For some reason they also took a full payment from my card on arrival - presumably they want to get hold of your money before you see the rooms. Nowhere else in the whole of the UK would a supposedly '4 star' hotel of this standard survive.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham England
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This hotel was th former home of the queen mothers parents. You can imagine it as upstairs downstairs in its grander days. The room was fantastic; her adyships ex sitting room I believe. However, they have made nothing of the ballroom restaurant which is a real shame.
The waiter was non plussed by 3 tales to cope with and the music background was an old [---] which kept getting stuck! This is a pity becaue otherwise a facinating building.

Room Tip: Try the room we had on the first floor; Her ladyships old sitting room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepa1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

For a full-cost booking they put me in in the smallest hotel room I've ever seen (and I've been to Japan). I asked the front desk to find something else; they offered me a foul-smelling basement room with a view of garbage. Third room offered was adequate, although still small, and 3 of 5 light fixtures were nonoperational. The other two had single 40-watt bulbs. Generally it's pretty shabby as well. I mentioned to the concierge and he said "oh, they put you in a cabin room."

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aritenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Never stayed in such sub standard room. Many years ago when I was a student and short of money, I stayed in a £6 per night room only offering in the back streets of Blackpool - It was better than this place!

I was allocated a room in the basement, next to what I think was the boiler room. Extractor fan in the bathroom did not work, toilet was so close to the wall I had no choice but to sit on it sideways, rips in the wall paper, exposed piping running over the floor, room stupidly small, need I go on - room was not fit for purpose - impossible to sleep as room was too hot because of location.

Public areas are shocking - worn out carpet and shabby wall paper, lift barely big enough for one.

Complained to reception, they did not want to know.

Plenty of hotels on nearby Cromwell Road which are so much better and in the same price range.

Totally Disgraceful.

Room Tip: Stay Somewhere Else
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

I spent 2 night at the strathmore hotel in the smallest room i have ever seen8ft by 7 ft the shower was so small you could not turn around and it was not cheap, i felt like harry potter living under the stairs
you have been warned

Room Tip: dont book a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank craig s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
280 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Hotel is in good location. Reasonable price for London. Continental breakfast is nothing special, need to pay extra for eggs. Bought one breakfast for 18 GBP, very expensive for the quality.
Hotel does not haver WiFi, only cable internet that did not work for half a day, then turned on- a bit of incovenience. Staff is very friendly and helpful. I came early in the morning , and they worked with me to make room available ASAP before the check-in time-thanks for that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sonostrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#459 of 1,067 in London
628 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#623 of 1,067 in London
1,268 reviews
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#364 of 1,067 in London
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#417 of 1,067 in London
542 reviews
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#361 of 1,067 in London
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#314 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing