We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor service answers phone while being served - pricey, breakfast is pricey for what it is and no hair dryer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Ranked #508 of 1,063 Hotels in London
peterborough
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“poor service answers phone while being served - pricey, breakfast is pricey for what it is and no hair dryer”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I was lucky because i didnt pay for this hotel - my work did.
but i know its semi pricey here but then on the flip side your in the heart of london well near glouster road underground so its close to most things - has a nandos, tescos and a boots right near this hotel. which is handy
breakfast full english was £20 per day = pricey. u got one sausage, 2 bacon, small beans, egg how you like them, small mushrooms and a tomato - quite little for £20. u can also have with the cooked breakie the continental as well which was rolls,crossants,fruit,cereal, yogurts and fruit juice. the server did forget our toast on the last day and i had to re-ask for them. he didnt really apologise either which let it down slightly but accidents happen.
when arrival she started to serve us - the phone rang and she rudely answered it and left us waiting - think this is so rude. the phone can wait we was then and there - felt like because our company had paid all ready she couldnt be bothered to serve us. very rude and let it down from the start
our door cards didnt work on one occasion and she did again answer the phone while serving us again - so wasnt a one off. door cards get de-activated by being near a mobile or credit card which is annoying when you have to come back down to get it re-working.
i wouldnt personally choose to stay here again but they had alot of minitures but no hair dryer - even basic hotels manage this. especially as alot of business peoople stay there - i certainly didnt wana lug my own hair dryer around london. so that was a shame had to let it dry on its own.
do leave a paper outside the door most days but its inconsistent - i got one but my collegue didnt and then vice versa on another day.
they are re-decorating at the moment so floor 5 smells of paint. floor 2 was fine and didnt smell but least their trying to rectify the complaints about peeling wall paper.

best thing about it was the beds - super comfy

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estebonbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    162
    303
    139
    82
    43
See reviews for
113
259
55
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Searching for a reasonably priced overnight stop close to Westminster I came across Grange Strathmore as part of the Grange Hotels group which I had used before. Having booked a single room I was in two minds about whether to cancel or upgrade to a double having read some of the lesser encouraging reviews on this site. However as time was pressing I decided to leave the upgrade until after I had checked in if the room proved unsatisfactory. However, I was allocated a lovely twin room overlooking a garden square, which was very peaceful. The hotel has a strong tartan theme which is characterful and - to me - makes a welcome change from the usual white blandness of today's 'smart' boutiques. The staff were polite, the location a quiet-ish well-to-do street a few minutes from the tube station. Yes - a touch of faded country house but I enjoyed my stay here, will book again, will consider other Grange hotels when I need to stay in other parts of London, and when my family next feel like a weekend in town.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AugustaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This hotel is in tatters. The paint is peeling off the walls and it has dodgy old furniture, musty carpets and curtains. It's so dusty that it made a friend of mine with a dust allergy quite ill. The rooms are tiny.

Be prepared to be ripped off when it comes to the internet. They charge outrageous fees for access to their WiFi, notwithstanding that internet can be obtained very cheaply by hotel businesses these days.

I raised the concern with the manageress of the hotel in the first instance to give her the opportunity to make this right and was met with an incredibly rude, surly and impatient manner. She certainly does not meet any basic minimum standard in customer service.

I cannot imagine how this person treats her staff if this is how she treats her customers, and that can only make for unhappy staff and an even worse experience for guests visiting the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emeka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I loved my stay at the Strathmore! It is conveniently located a few blocks north from the Gloucester station and a few blocks southwest of Imperial college, Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, and Royal Albert Hall. The single room is not at all large, though I was 100% satisfied with the smaller space and it's amenities. A very large window allowed abundant, warm light to filter into my room, while the attractive, heavy curtains kept the room dark in the evening/night. Plenty of small furniture pieces were present to tuck away enough clothing for four days, and the closet was perfect for one person's four-night stay. The bathroom was small but met my needs quite well, though the sink was slow to drain. I also slept very well! Breakfast was abundant and good, as well, and the staff was ready to assist.
If you are looking for a good hotel close to the fabulous sites mentioned above, would like a nice breakfast served complimentary, and if you are happy to sacrifice a little of your EXTRA space for what you really need, then this hotel is IDEAL for you!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

+ Breakfast
+ Nice and calm borough
+ Staff
+ Underground station
+ Bathroom

- Time-worn/outdated (door, carpet, paint)
- Not much to see on walking distance (must take the tube)
- We had a small room

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2012

GOD ! It was really difficult to imagine that a room could be THIS small !! I booked 2 double rooms and honestly, they must have a truly professionally manipulative photographer but the rooms were cramped, tiny, suffocating and uncomfortable to say the least !!

I asked for a table fan in the room since it was the middle of summer and the windows dont open more than 3 inches... the guy turns up 45 mins later with a tiniest of fans.... sent back to get a bigger one and literally didnt have ANYWHERE in the room to put it !!!

APPALLING !!! IN EVERY ASPECT !!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE A ROOM here !!!! Find something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Effem83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I didn't think that a room that small could exist. Now I understand what a cabin room means (6x10). The bathroom was tiny, but well organized and clean. The bed was comfortable.

On a negative note, there was some work being done in the hotel. No one warned me and workers were going at in starting at 8 AM everyday, including weekends. Extremely loud noises were being made in the morning, at at night, I actually.. heard the neighbors. Not much sleep for me at this hotel..

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie-Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Queen's Gate Hotel
The Queen's Gate Hotel
#357 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
South Kensington
54 Boutique Hotel
54 Boutique Hotel
#443 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
South Kensington
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
Fraser Suites Queens Gate
#413 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Radisson Blu Edwardian Vanderbilt
South Kensington
Rydges Kensington London
Rydges Kensington London
#351 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
South Kensington
Best Western The Cromwell
Best Western The Cromwell
#599 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Strathmore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Strathmore Hotel

Property: Grange Strathmore Hotel
Address: 41 Queen's Gate Gardens, London SW7 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#321 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Strathmore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Strathmore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Strathmore London
Hotel Grange Strathmore

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing