We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grange Strathmore Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$222
US$185
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$142
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$309
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$216
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$178
US$158
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (812)
Filter reviews
812 results
Traveller rating
188
336
156
86
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
188
336
156
86
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe royal albert hallcontinental breakfastgloucester roadthe natural history museumimperial collegequeens gatetube stationthere is no air conditioninglovely hotellounge barfamily roomshort walktwin roomfifth floorroom wasn't readyhyde parkexcellent location
Filter
Updating list...
550 - 555 of 812 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Searching for a reasonably priced overnight stop close to Westminster I came across Grange Strathmore as part of the Grange Hotels group which I had used before. Having booked a single room I was in two minds about whether to cancel or upgrade to a double having read some of the lesser encouraging reviews on this site. However as time was pressing I decided to leave the upgrade until after I had checked in if the room proved unsatisfactory. However, I was allocated a lovely twin room overlooking a garden square, which was very peaceful. The hotel has a strong tartan theme which is characterful and - to me - makes a welcome change from the usual white blandness of today's 'smart' boutiques. The staff were polite, the location a quiet-ish well-to-do street a few minutes from the tube station. Yes - a touch of faded country house but I enjoyed my stay here, will book again, will consider other Grange hotels when I need to stay in other parts of London, and when my family next feel like a weekend in town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AugustaRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2012

This hotel is in tatters. The paint is peeling off the walls and it has dodgy old furniture, musty carpets and curtains. It's so dusty that it made a friend of mine with a dust allergy quite ill. The rooms are tiny.

Be prepared to be ripped off when it comes to the internet. They charge outrageous fees for access to their WiFi, notwithstanding that internet can be obtained very cheaply by hotel businesses these days.

I raised the concern with the manageress of the hotel in the first instance to give her the opportunity to make this right and was met with an incredibly rude, surly and impatient manner. She certainly does not meet any basic minimum standard in customer service.

I cannot imagine how this person treats her staff if this is how she treats her customers, and that can only make for unhappy staff and an even worse experience for guests visiting the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Emeka K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2012

I loved my stay at the Strathmore! It is conveniently located a few blocks north from the Gloucester station and a few blocks southwest of Imperial college, Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens, and Royal Albert Hall. The single room is not at all large, though I was 100% satisfied with the smaller space and it's amenities. A very large window allowed abundant, warm light to filter into my room, while the attractive, heavy curtains kept the room dark in the evening/night. Plenty of small furniture pieces were present to tuck away enough clothing for four days, and the closet was perfect for one person's four-night stay. The bathroom was small but met my needs quite well, though the sink was slow to drain. I also slept very well! Breakfast was abundant and good, as well, and the staff was ready to assist.
If you are looking for a good hotel close to the fabulous sites mentioned above, would like a nice breakfast served complimentary, and if you are happy to sacrifice a little of your EXTRA space for what you really need, then this hotel is IDEAL for you!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2012

+ Breakfast
+ Nice and calm borough
+ Staff
+ Underground station
+ Bathroom

- Time-worn/outdated (door, carpet, paint)
- Not much to see on walking distance (must take the tube)
- We had a small room

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2012

GOD ! It was really difficult to imagine that a room could be THIS small !! I booked 2 double rooms and honestly, they must have a truly professionally manipulative photographer but the rooms were cramped, tiny, suffocating and uncomfortable to say the least !!

I asked for a table fan in the room since it was the middle of summer and the windows dont open more than 3 inches... the guy turns up 45 mins later with a tiniest of fans.... sent back to get a bigger one and literally didnt have ANYWHERE in the room to put it !!!

APPALLING !!! IN EVERY ASPECT !!!!

Room Tip: DO NOT CHOOSE A ROOM here !!!! Find something else.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews