We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very good service with friendly staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton London Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton London Kensington
Ranked #466 of 1,080 Hotels in London
Haddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good service with friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We'd read some of the reviews before going & were a bit worried. However, we found the hotel to be very good. We stayed for 3 nights. The rooms were nice & clean. The breakfast was excellent & the staff attentive. We'd adjoining rooms which worked out well for our family of 5. The hotel is a 5 min walk from Shepherds Bush underground or 10 mins from Holland Park (which is a nice area to visit).

Room Tip: Avoid the main road side & near lifts. Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_and_K_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Hilton London Kensington. We appreciate that you took your time to give us feedback from your stay. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Thank you,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,752 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    850
    1,514
    894
    317
    177
See reviews for
555
1,315
297
949
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (543)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We tend to stay at Hilton Kensington 2-3 times a year as it is convenient for shopping and tube stations (5 minutes walk from Westfield Shopping Centre and tube). Our last stay was 4-6 February. Rooms I find tend to be fairly small especially the bathroom. Always tend to request a separate bath and shower in the bathroom as these are a little larger. Only niggle we find, is that the reservation staff do not look at 'special requests' on booking and we always have to bring these to their attention upon checking-in. Breakfast is ok. I would say probably middle of the road as far as Hilton Hotels are concerned. Previously we have had room service breakfast however after our last stay (end of 2011), we will not be doing this again as each day each breakfast was incorrect and then we had to wait a futher hour for new breakfasts. We are Hilton Honors members and have been for a number of years however this is not acknowledged at this hotel as it is in others. But overall, we probably use it again as it is cheap and convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineAndShowers17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I have informed the Food and Beverage Manager of the mistakes made during your room service orders and she was disappointed to hear your experience was not up to our usual standards. She will be working with her team to ensure this does not happen again. For future stays please email any requests you may have to our reservations department at reservations.kensington@hilton.com.

Thank you for your continued loyalty,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed in the Hilton for a lovely weekend break during mid-term. We had a lovely stay here and would definitely recommend this hotel. The rooms were very reasonably priced for London. On arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and check in was very fast and efficient.

We went up to our room (which was upgraded to an executive room free of charge!) and were thrilled to see some delicious muffins, a bottle of wine and towels in the shape of loveheart swans on our bed. It was a great treat for our engagement. On top of this, when we arrived back in that night the hotel had provided us with more muffins on a decorated plate and a bottle of prossecco. What a treat!!

Our room was perfect for the 3-night stay and we got a great nights sleep each night. The hotel is also located a short walk (5 mins) from the Shepherd's Bush tube station so it is a great location for visiting London. It is also just around the corner from Westfield Shopping Centre (what a mecca for food lovers and shoppers!) We only went there on Sunday morning (before our flight home) to realise that shops only open at 12 on Sundays!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DomT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that we were able to help make your engagement a relaxing and enjoyable experience.

Thank you,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

I've stayed at this hotel many times in the past and once again getting ready to stay there again next week. I do look around before booking. But my heart always returns to the Hilton London Kensington.

The hotel itself is located between two major tube stations (Shepherds Bush and Notting HIll Gate). I usually chose the Notting Hill gate..it's a bit further away (2 minutes or so longer), but the walk is beautiful and Notting Hill as a whole is amazing. However, the Shepherds Bush station is closer and just as nice.

I usually fly in on the red eye from the US (sometimes from the East; Singapore, Hong Kong, or Australia) so feeling tired and groggy after a long flight is never good, but the staff really pampers you with positive energy and makes you feel at ease. They understand this so they always do their best to accommodate me.

The hotel itself is awesome! Upon arrival you will see a beautifully decorated restaurant with stellar food and service. A few feet away you will find a small, yet fully stocked gift shop. So if you have the late night munchies you best stock up. Upon check in I am always greeted with a smile and nothing but professional service. The staff at this hotel are really top notch. During one stay there was some computer issues, but they were so helpful, polite, professional, and gave me assurance they would sort it out.

The sleeping rooms are small to American standards, yet spacious for British standards. I usually travel on my own (for business) so the rooms are plenty big for me, however I have traveled on many occasions for personal reasons and shared a room. Even with twin beds, there is plenty of room. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfy. The beds are always really clean and honestly, pretty comfortable. The bathrooms vary from room to room (slightly). They are small, but obviously get the job done.

All in all, I've been to London countless times and always return to this hotel. I truly feel at home here. The bellman, the concierge, the front desk staff, to the housekeepers....they all treat you like royalty. I can honestly say I never had a poor experience at this hotel.

Thanks Hilton Kensington! Looking forward to seeing you next week.

Room Tip: If you're taking the tube throughout London, go to the Notting Hill gate...the walk is beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spatziano747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review of our hotel. I have passed your comments on to the Food and Beverage Manager and the Front Office Manager and they were delighted to hear about your experiences with our hotel.

Thank you for your continued loyalty and we look forward to welcoming you back next week!

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Fantastic hotel and location. Room was compact and very clean, with a bath. Breakfast the following day was brilliant. Wide selection of hot food, great breakfast room. Not much cold buffet available for those looking for this e.g. cold hams, cold fish, Scandinavian style. But plenty fruit, cereals, bread and great service from the staff. Also a chef there to cook an omelette to your order in front of you. I found the reception staff excellent also. We had our bags looked after the day we checked out until we returned in the evening. Over all I thought this hotel was great. Room was not massive, but everything in the room and comfy and clean. Stayed in the Hilton Hyde Park last year, but preferred this Hilton Kensington, from the reception area, breakfast and room. Also the sauna and steam room looked excellent, pity I didn't have the time to enjoy it! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want a bath, ask at reception when you check in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CentralS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review. The staff in both the restaurant and reception work very hard to ensure our guests experiences are memorable. We hope to welcome you back to the Hilton London Kensington very soon!

Thank you,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

I always stay here when visiting London as it has very high standards, whilst not being overpriced as is common in London. It is also only a short walk from the Tube and local amenities. The staff are spot on. Even when very busy the reception service is excellent and always very polite. The lounge bar is stylish and welcoming. The rooms are spotless and well appointed. Totally recommended, a credit to the Hilton group.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercurial_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review of our hotel. I have passed you comments on to our Front Office Manager and he is very happy that you recognized the hard work of the receptionists. We hope to welcome your back very soon!

Thank you,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chardonne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

Typical Hilton Hotel. The location is good for the Olympia Exhibition Centre and for the new Westfield Mall. Breakfast and food at the bar are OK. The personnel are friendly and helpful. Rooms are rather small and the wardrobe is really funny; it's about 0,5m deep with ironing board, iron, etc already inside, so good luck trying to find space for clothes!

It is conveniently located for transport and to walk to Hyde Park or Kensington Gardens. I will return there on my next trip to London.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pswiss25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton-Kensington, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton London Kensington, responded to this review, 19 February 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. We appreciate your continued loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton London Kensington very soon!

Thank you,

Kensington Care Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Hilton London Olympia
#636 of 1,080 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
South Kensington
Park Grand London Kensington
South Kensington
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#458 of 1,080 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton London Kensington

Property: Hilton London Kensington
Address: 179-199 Holland Park Avenue, London W11 4UL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#307 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 601
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton London Kensington is located close to a lot of London event venues and some great shopping too. Only about a 7-minute walk from Holland Park underground station and one of the main central tube lines, Hilton London Kensington is surrounded by places to eat, drink, shop, and watch bands. There is always comedy or music at the Hammersmith Apollo - a simple walk away, or sporting events at Wembley stadium - a short train ride away. And with the modern, well-stocked Westfield shopping center located just across the road, when you stay at Hilton London Kensington you can shop all day. Whatever you chose to do in your spare time, the hotel itself is bright and airy. All the rooms have an LCD flat screen TV and a mini bar. If you don’t want a night in, relaxing in your comfortable room and don’t want to venture too far either; choose to dine in the romantic West Eleven restaurant after making the most of the 24-hour gym and the relaxing sauna and steam room. Staying at the Hilton London Kensington is about making the most out of your time in London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA and Expedia so you can book your Hilton London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton London Kensington Hotel London
London Hilton
Hilton Kensington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing