We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First choice in this area of London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Ranked #123 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Johnstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“First choice in this area of London”
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Always try to stay in this Crowne Plaza when in London even if it means as not as central to meetings etc as i would like to be. The hotel is ideally situated for restuarants,tube etc and in my opinion is so much better than the Holiday Inn across the road. The suites are great with the downstairs lounge and sleeping area upstairs giving it more of an small apartment feel.
I have always found the staff to be excellent adn willing to assist,the rooms to be immaculate and spacious regardlessof suite or standard.
Walking distance to Harrods and many other key locations in london and easily accessible for the tube.

Room Tip: if you can afford it or get a deal go for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PMACCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear PAMACCA
Thank you for leaving feedback on our hotel, I am so pleased that we are your first choice in this part of London. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
On your next visit you will be pleased to find that we have wi-fi in all our bedrooms as well as public areas.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,211
    896
    205
    38
    23
See reviews for
1,002
635
112
293
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (483)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

For three nights at the end of March and beginning of April 2012, my wife and I and two teenage children stayed at this hotel in London. It presents a pleasant curb appearance and has a very nice lobby and desk area. The location is tremendous and is the reason to stay at this hotel. It is very convenient by London standards, being across the street from an underground station, a shopping centre and numerous shops. It is also near several major attractions and very centrally located.

At least one on-line travel service rates it at 4 stars. That is high. The Palace in San Francisco is 4 stars. This hotel is, in my view, in no way comparable to The Palace. In my opinion, this hotel should not be rated at 4 stars. The room we had was, in my view, ordinary. I did not, however, see other rooms, so base my opinion only upon our room. Our room was a very ordinary American style hotel room with 2 double beds, 1 sitting chair, one small table, a desk and a chair among other things. The 4 of us were quite cramped. The sitting chair was not comfortable. It had a back at weird angles. The desk chair was good, however. There was very limited clothes storage with few drawers and a small closet with limited hangers. As a result, we mostly lived out of our wheelie bags for three days.

The hotel did not have a pool, sauna, or steam room that I was made aware of. The room had a beautiful TV, with lots of pay for view opportunities, but we had to work to find our way through to the regular TV channels. The room had a mini bar refrigerator with a system on it that could detect any motion of an item with the idea apparently that you would be charged for any item that was moved. It also had a place for a few personal items, but when I told them we didn’t want any mini-bar items they remotely locked it, stranding our cheese and crackers. After a phone call we got this straightened out.

Full English breakfast is available at the hotel for 12 to 17 pounds sterling, I was told. There are lots of other options available nearby, however, with a Garfunkles chain restaurant directly across the street offering 2 full English breakfasts for 11 pounds sterling. We ate at Garfunkles all three mornings and enjoyed the breakfast much. The food was reasonably good and the service quick. There is also a Waitrose market across the street, a patisserie, a coffee shop, and other shops.

The location of this hotel is great. It may be a great fit for a business traveler on a short trip, but is probably not a good fit for some families.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CletusMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Cletusminneapolis
Thank you for your review of our hotel.
I am sorry that you found the room too cramped for 4 of you - I'm not sure of the ages of your children, but it may have been better to book two rooms in order to be able to spread out; we do have a number of interconnecting rooms so that you could be sure your children are close to you and can easily move between the two rooms.
I can't comment on how we compare with the Palace Hotel in San Francisco as I don't know that hotel, although they do have a much lower trip advisor rating than we do. I can see from it's website that it is a very traditional , grand hotel with 553 rooms and 23 meeting rooms. We are quite different at Crowne Plaza Kensington, apart from being much smaller ( 162 rooms), our hotel is stylishly modern in design and has a much more intimate, boutique feel to it. Whilst we don't have a swimming pool, we do have a gym and a sauna - all our facilities are listed in the guest directory in each room.
It is probably personal preferences, but if you prefer a larger more traditional hotel, you ought to try the Crowne Plaza St James on your next visit to London, althoug hwe would be delighted if you would give us another opportunity.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We thought it may be a bit stuffy for our nearly 4 year old but staff were really friendly and helpful and rooms really clean and nicely designed. Very handy for the museums and only 10 mins to regents park.

We had the club room and the beer and wine and juice was nice but the canapes were not that great and only continental breafast midweek. Byt this really only brought the hotel down from 100 to 99!

overall, an oasis close to the posh parts of london and staff who are helpful and friendy. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davebof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Davebof
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our staff so welcoming .
I'm sorry that the complimentary canapes in the club lounge did not live up to your expectaions, I will review these with our Chef to ensure they are more substantial and that they reflect our new Asian restaurant, Umami.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villanova, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 April 2012

My family of four stayed at this hotel during the first week of April 2012. Upon arrival we were warmly greeted and were delighted to be told that we had been upgraded to club level for our stay. Our room was clean and comfortable. The water pressure in the bathroom was good. The blackout curtains close easily and block any light. We left the hotel for one night and returned for 3 more nights. When we returned, not only did we continue to enjoy the club status, but we were given a larger room with two double beds and a comfortable lounge area. It made the second half of our stay very enjoyable.
The location is perfect, close to the Gloucester Road tube, lots of shops and restaurants close by, as well as museums and Harrods. Still, it is a quiet area so it's peaceful to return there at the end of a long day of sightseeing.
I also want to mention how much we enjoyed our breakfasts in the club lounge. Giorgio took wonderful care of us. He made sure we had any breakfast item we needed and helped us arrange our daily plans. Giorgio is a keeper. The Crowne Plaza is lucky to have him. We wanted to take him home.
I highly recommend the Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank echobean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear echobean
Thank you for your review of our hotel, we are all so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have shared your kind comments with Giorgio who is looking forward to seeing you in the club lounge again very soon. (we are upgrading the club lounge and all the furnisture is being replaced the week begining 23 April)
Best regards
Lawder Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

The Crowne Plaza Kensington has a modern and clean lobby when you enter, and I was greeted by friendly reception staff.

The room was done to a nice standard although was quite cramped overall (as you expect in London). The only issue this caused was having to move the bed when accessing the mini bar and amenities tray!

The bar/restaurant was closed when we visited so the Club bar was being used instead. This was a glass fronted room with large TV; unfortunately the bar had already been well-used by other guests and the floor was filthy with food people had dropped and staff had not had time to clean up.

As well as the great location just a couple of minutes from the tube station, the staff were friendly and attentive. I would be happy to return.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnny_c-l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear johnny_c-l
Thank you for leaving feedback on your stay with us.
I am sorry that when you stayed in December 2011, our restaurant and bar were closed for refurbishment. Our ground floor upgrade is now complete and we have a barnd new and enlarged bar and lounge overlooking our 1 acre garden, a stylish new Asian restaurant called Umami and a brighter larger reception lobby. I do hope you will return to see all the improvements we have made.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Great location, very helpful staff and spacious clean room. I have just returned from a 4 night stay my family, six year old daughter, partner and I had a great stay. My only criticism would be on one night there was a group of noisy young drinkers in the bar using bad language, not the hotels fault but perhaps a quiet word from a member of staff would have been in order. This didn't spoil another wise very good stay.

Helpful?
Thank dgbrighton72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear dgbrighton 72
Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Sorry that the language of some other guests spoiled the atmosphere in the bar. We will of course keep an eye on this and I have briefed our bar team on how to tactfully deal with such situations in the future.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow upon Humber
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with wife and kids. It's very well situated, close to natural history museum and stones throw away from the Gloucester road tube station.
Family room was very good, it had two double beds and a nice view out the back, but wasn't too cramped.
Took the deal on breakfast at 12.50 each, as the kids ate free, so pretty good value overall, as the buffet breakfast was excellent.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GenManager_CPKen, General Manager at Crowne Plaza London Kensington, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Dear Mike B
Thank you for leaving a review of our hotel. I am pleased that you found the room comfortabale, (they are larger than average rooms for London hotels).
I hope you will be back again very soon.
Best regards
Lawder Smith
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,702 reviews
South Kensington
The Bailey's Hotel London
The Bailey's Hotel London
#139 of 1,068 in London
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
The Park City Grand Plaza Kensington Hotel
Earls Court
K+K Hotel George
K+K Hotel George
#210 of 1,068 in London
3,197 reviews
South Kensington
The Kensington
The Kensington
#36 of 1,068 in London
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London Kensington

Property: Crowne Plaza London Kensington
Address: 100 Cromwell Road | Kensington, London SW7 4ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#107 Luxury Hotel in London
#122 Business Hotel in London
#135 Family Hotel in London
#166 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a contemporary designed boutique hotel just a stone's throw away from Gloucester Road tube station with direct connectivity from Heathrow Airport (via the Piccadilly line) and from Victoria train station (via the District or Circle line). Harrods, Hyde Park, Natural History Museum, Royal Albert Hall and Science Museum, Earls Court and Olympia Exhibition Centres are few of London's top tourist attractions that are in close proximity to the hotel. Crowne Plaza London Kensington is a perfect hub for shopaholics as Knightsbridge, Sloane Square and the West End are all easily accessible. Retreat and recharge in one of the 162 spacious bedrooms featuring new beds, linen and other facilities such as highspeed broadband internet access and 32 inch flat screen televisions to meet the requirements of a savvy traveller. Of all of Kensington's bars, The Bar seems to be a favourite hang out for locals that end up dining at the Umami restaurant. Crowne Plaza London Kensington boasts over 250 square metres of event spaces that all have natural daylight. The boardroom and garden room overlook the hotels private landscaped garden; a rare sight in a central London hotel. The hotel also has a state of the art fitness suite with the most up to date training equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Kensington Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing