We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Good hotel for a short break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Ranked #476 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a short break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 for a family break with my 9 year old. Was a bit apprehensive before we went as thought hotel was going to be a bit far out, but it was only a 10 minute stroll to the nearest tube station which made it easy to visit all areas of the capital.

Rooms were clean and well equipped, beds were comfortable and the shower was excellent.

Breakfast was good, although the restaurant a bit small for the size of the hotel. Fortunately staff dealt with clearing tables quickly and you didn't have to wait too long.

Swimming pool in the hotel was good however bit dissapointing that you have to pay extra to use it - same with internet access.

Staff were friendly and keen to help.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turpintopdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,524 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    1,066
    675
    237
    116
See reviews for
907
506
94
538
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a short break during the Easter holidays. After I had booked my husband checked on the map, and we thought it was too far out. How wrong! The hotel website said the axi fare from kings cross to hotel was approx £7 it cost us £5. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Coventry garden , Leicester square etc so not too bad for getting around on foot. On our 1st afternoon we asked the concierge for directions - he was SO helpful!
After a long day of seeing lobdons sights and going o the theatre to see a show we returned to our room and I can honestly say I had the best 2 nights keep I have had in a longtime! We awoke refreshed and after a very filling full English breakfast we set out to tread the streets of London again! I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for two nights in executive room, comfy bed clean room really good shower. Full English breakfast was excellent. Hotel around 10min walk from Kings Cross which is OK in good weather, wouldnt like to do it in the wet. Pleasant staff, overall a good place to stay. Only bad point was TV was not very clear and kept flickering but was not in London to wath television.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Highgrove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zelzate
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Long queues in the morning because of insufficient area to seat all customers.
Unfriendly personnel (especially the stressed personnel in the restaurant).
Expensive inadequate parking area (15 places!)
Cleaning staff not English speaking (Polish, ...)
Not worth a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazeem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 June 2012
Dear Nazeem V,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We hope you liked the location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory and apologize for the poor service received from our staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

midlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

Stayed here for 1 night and found it to be perfectly acceptable in most departments, not outsanding but you get what you pay for which was a clean and spacious room which was a bit dated decor wise and the TV was also from the last century but we booked the room to sleep in not live in so it was unimportant.
The room was a very generous size, especially for London and was dual aspect which gave a good view towards the City. The hotel location was a good central point for most attractions and was well situated for public service transport as it was surrounded by tube stations,

We didn't have breakfast at the hotel and I'm glad we didn't as we saw the queue for it on the way out so it probably is good/ good value as they queue was very long but seem to be moving reasonably quickly.

You can get cheaper hotels but don't overlook this one as it does seem good value for money for the area and location.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ExcaliberMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

I stayed there for a business, so I didn't care about the price. Our company paid 130GBP for the twin room, which is was way too much for what you get. Neither breakfast nor internet included in the rate! You can do so much better in other hotels around. Rooms are not worth 4*, old, worn out, not so clean as you expect of hotel of this category, A/C was too noisy all night long. On the other hand room facing the post yard was quiet.

Moreover, subway is quite long walk away as well as tourist attraction.

Definitely not be mine choice Nr. 1 next time...

Room Tip: room facing the post yard was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear loobo,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. We are sorry your room accommodations fell below your expectations. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
668 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I stayed here on busines last night .The rooms were ok but I could not get internet access unless I went down to reception and paid for it .I had given my credit card on arrival but they refused to take any monies off that. The girl on reception was rude and said" if you dont come down hen tough" .

I am a Platium member and they did not give a stuff . The take it or leave it attitude grated on me as I am loyal to this chain.

Breakfat was cold and when we took it back we were told you will have to wait for us to re heat it again! I told them they needed to do fressh. Everyone was complaning about the cold breakfast sadly few of the staff cared or said sorry .

I wont be back

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Droopydrawrs52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 30 May 2012
Dear Droopydrawrs52,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us. We are deeply sorry we fell below your expectations. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. We’d like to obtain some additional details regarding your experience, so we have sent you a private message.

We look forward to hearing back from you soon.

Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#114 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Ibis London Euston St Pancras
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#248 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#350 of 1,081 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury

Property: Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury
Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#313 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 405
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross/Bloomsbury is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Holiday Inn London Kings Cross has 405 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Charings bar is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or just your favourite drink. Rasa, our Indian Restaurant, serves authentic Kerala dishes, all are freshly prepared with the finest ingredients using traditional recipes. Carriages Brasserie is open throughout the day providing a range of refreshments from teas and coffees to full meals from a continental style menu.Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. E-mail and Internet services are chargeable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing