We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best hotel in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Ranked #410 of 1,075 Hotels in London
Reviewed 11 May 2012

I stopped with my two children,room was okay but smelt musty,food at the restaurant looked like the chef knew how but his application was not brilliant,example salmon was overcooked and the crumble was without err crumble,breakfast buffet is BEST AVOIDED.
The pool/jacuzzi/sauna were the best bit of our stay but you have to pay to use which I thought was unusual.
I read the website and it does state children under ten eat free....put plain and simple my two never ate once for free at this hotel

I shall try elsewhere in the future,oh and also had to wait as they had no details of mine although I had booked.a day earlier which was nice.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigeyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 June 2012

Dear Bigeyd,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We're sorry you were not fully satisfied with the service you received from the restaurant staff. We were disappointed to read that when you visited the restaurant you did not find it to your tastes, we will review for possible modifications as to better accommodate our guests in the future.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Thank you for again for your feedback, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,081)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,138 - 2,144 of 3,083 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2012

The Holiday Inn is what you'd expect. Nothing fancy, stardard decor, good service and a convenient location. The rooms are the same as you would get anywhere: clean, simple, big bed (a bit springy) and tea & coffee making facilities. The tv is a bit naff but we barely used that anyway.

So in the whole the hotel was good. There are some really nice restaurants just around the corner. We went to the 'cinnamon tree' which was a great little indian curry house. Best curry i've ever had!! And brilliant service.

The one problem I had with the hotel was the thin walls. We could hear every whisper from the two neighbouring rooms. The ones to the left woke at 6am... and therefore we did too. Not ideal if you fancy a lie in or are away for a romantic weekend!!

I would come back here again if i was staying in the area. It's convenient and has all the facilities you'll need for a short stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theirvins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed twice - going to and from Ireland. They were wonderful and let us check in 2 hours early (despite claiming that our travel agent had booked three rooms for two people!?! and asking that we contact her to sort it out!?!) Staff were ok but at times their English was not great.

First trip we were on the second floor and on the second trip we were on the 7th floor and we noticed massive differences between these rooms. We had a nonsmoking room on the second floor but you could still smell the stale cigarette smell. There was no fridge, no room service menu in our room (we didn't even realise they did room service until our return visit). It was clean and did the job after a day of travelling.

Then on the return, on the 7th floor we were equipped with menus, a fridge with complimentary orange juice and water, complimentary biscuits to go with the kettle, and bathroom supplies too. This was a total non-smoking floor and you could tell the difference. Not sure if this was an 'upgrade' but its more what I would expect from a four star hotel!

Breakfast queues were long - but they did move along quickly.

Room Tip: If I stayed again I would be booking a 7th floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnniiL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 for a family break with my 9 year old. Was a bit apprehensive before we went as thought hotel was going to be a bit far out, but it was only a 10 minute stroll to the nearest tube station which made it easy to visit all areas of the capital.

Rooms were clean and well equipped, beds were comfortable and the shower was excellent.

Breakfast was good, although the restaurant a bit small for the size of the hotel. Fortunately staff dealt with clearing tables quickly and you didn't have to wait too long.

Swimming pool in the hotel was good however bit dissapointing that you have to pay extra to use it - same with internet access.

Staff were friendly and keen to help.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ailean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed here for a short break during the Easter holidays. After I had booked my husband checked on the map, and we thought it was too far out. How wrong! The hotel website said the axi fare from kings cross to hotel was approx £7 it cost us £5. The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from Coventry garden , Leicester square etc so not too bad for getting around on foot. On our 1st afternoon we asked the concierge for directions - he was SO helpful!
After a long day of seeing lobdons sights and going o the theatre to see a show we returned to our room and I can honestly say I had the best 2 nights keep I have had in a longtime! We awoke refreshed and after a very filling full English breakfast we set out to tread the streets of London again! I would definitely return here!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heather a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Stayed for two nights in executive room, comfy bed clean room really good shower. Full English breakfast was excellent. Hotel around 10min walk from Kings Cross which is OK in good weather, wouldnt like to do it in the wet. Pleasant staff, overall a good place to stay. Only bad point was TV was not very clear and kept flickering but was not in London to wath television.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Highgrove30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

Long queues in the morning because of insufficient area to seat all customers.
Unfriendly personnel (especially the stressed personnel in the restaurant).
Expensive inadequate parking area (15 places!)
Cleaning staff not English speaking (Polish, ...)
Not worth a 4 star rating.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazeem V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2012

Dear Nazeem V,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review. We hope you liked the location of our hotel. We are deeply sorry you found our hotel less than satisfactory and apologize for the poor service received from our staff. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask.


Sincerely,
Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Crowne Plaza London The City
Bloomsbury
Holiday Inn London Bloomsbury
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Pullman London St Pancras Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross

Address: 1 King's Cross Road, London WC1X 9HX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Clerkenwell , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in London
#283 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $161 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross 4*
Number of rooms: 429
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross is a central London hotel situated between the City of London and London's West End. Kings Cross, Farringdon and Russell Square underground stations are all within easy walking distance. The New Eurostar terminal at St Pancras is within 15 mins walk. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross provides easy access to key tourist attractions such as Oxford Street, Covent Garden, The British Museum, St Pauls Cathedral and Sadlers Wells Theatre. The Crowne Plaza London Kings Cross has 429 air conditioned bedrooms with high speed internet access all with one queen or two double sized beds. Two exciting restaurants to choose from, Belgo serves traditional Belgian mussels, steaks, burgers, rotisserie chicken and selection of 62 Belgian beers, or Bloom Kitchen and Bar has an artisan food menu and specialises in gin cocktails. Meeting rooms can accommodate up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn London - Kings Cross / Bloomsbury Hotel London
London Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing