We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed thoughts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental London Park Lane
Ranked #133 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Mixed thoughts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely hotel but it did not leave me with a 5 star experience. Check in was very slow as there was a queue - with no where to sit as the two chairs were already occupied! Service at reception however was excellent and I was given a room upgarde. The view from the room was great -the palace, the wheel, Big Ben and Green Park. The facilities in the room were as expected with a lovely comfortable bed. Some instructions in the bathroom would have been nice - it took a while to work out how to regulate the water temperature. The Elemis toiletries are a nice touch.
Turn down service was completed without fuss however the tming could have been better - most people are getting ready to go out for the evening at 6.30pm on a Saturday night and I was just about to step in the bath.
Do not bother with the cooked breakfast. The food was luke warm, the hash browns were cold and inedible, the chef did not poach the eggs for long enough, I did not expect a standard buffet style for hot food in a 5 star hotel. The continental breakfast choice is excellent. Service is attentive although maybe a little too eager - my cereal bowl was removed as soon as I put my spoon down, I was only pausing to take a sip of tea.
The staff are very polite and helpful although the door service is hit and miss. Parking will cost you £50 overnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,418
    643
    179
    64
    56
See reviews for
416
905
160
503
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (411)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would definitely choose this hotel again. The location is great, close to Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Harrods at one side and the shopping districts of Mayfair, Soho, Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Street on the other side. Our standard room was newly refurbished and really top class. I have never had such a comfortable room, but I rarely lives at 5-stars hotels. The price is high, but if you find an offer you could afford do not doubt as the quality of the room and service is top.
One negative thing? Just outside the hotel is nothing interesting, you have to walk a few minutes to find restaurants, shops or parks. We bought the London travel card and mostly used the tube from Hyde Park Corner, just two minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a lovely place! Definitely one of the better London spa experiences from the very welcome in their pleasant waiting area where you're immediately offered a drink and some dried fruit to nibble on to our lovely couple's massage in one of their VIP massage rooms. The treatment room was great, rather spacious, the massage enjoyable and there was even a little basket of essentials for your shower afterwards which included things like deodorants and hair scrunchies. We were not rushed and have received a full hour of massage and were given plenty of time to shower, change, etc. Full marks!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is classy. The staff are always friendly. Check in was busy when we arrived but a member of staff came to talk to us telling us it would only take a minute. Our room was large for |a London hotel. The reception was full of fresh flowers in lovely displays which smelt great. We had cocktails but did not eat at the hotel. My friend staying in another room rang down to reception to adivse them that the shower was not working properly and they sent maintenance straight up within minutes to sort it out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Attended a day long conference (awards ceremony) at this hotel and I felt 'special' when walking into doors that are opened for you by a doorman. The welcome continued into the reception area and then onwards to the table where we were seated. The rooom is big, the table presentation very good. And the awards ceremony went without a hitch! Had a salmon starter (to be fair my friend ate mine) and then a 'beef cheek' for main. Pudding was bakewell tart. The food was well cooked and presented and the waiting team was very good. I felt very lucky to be at the hotel but this is a review, so I would say that I thought the food was 'so so'. However, that might be harsh when you think that they were serving 500 people all at once. In fact it probably is when I compare it to the overall great feeling of 'being wanted' that I experienced and took home with me!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorbius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pikeville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel was a good experience. We were mostly gone day and most of the night doing the various activities that London has to offer. The hotel didnt really "wow" us like most 5 star places do. It was a standard hotel but it was very spacious for what is typically offered in the UK. Walking distance is close to the "tube" and is close to Shepherds Market which offers many restaurants. Overall a great hotel in a safe location but didnt have a "wow" factor.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aundrea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Have stayed here on a couple of occasions when I visit London on business. I have received faultless service every time! With so many hotels across Europe boasting 5 stars when they blatantly aren't, it is nice to actually get it!

I will keep this short but service is excellent, turn down service was completed without request, excellent room facilities (Bang & Olufsen TV etc.) and everything completed to a very high standard.

I would of course recommend, especially if you can nab a deal on various travel sites.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank byjingo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#58 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,071 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#323 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,989 reviews
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#37 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Property: InterContinental London Park Lane
Address: 1 Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
#114 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing