We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic high-end hotel for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental London Park Lane
Ranked #168 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Classic high-end hotel for London”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel is excellent for both business or leisure.

I have stayed here numerous times. On business, they are very efficient and the amenities here, especially the Club Inter-continental, are invaluable. The staff are very professional and cosmopolitan, but with a human touch.

This hotel is very fair to priority club point redeemers as well.

The rooms are largely consistent except for the views which alternate between views of Hyde Park or Park Lane.

I would say this is one of the best Inter-continental properties.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillionsRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,484
    662
    196
    72
    60
See reviews for
444
951
165
522
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (424)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

The Intercontinental London Park Lane is a modern, updated hotel located between 2 parks (Green and Hyde Parks) and within walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Piccadilly Circus/SOHO areas. We arrived by train at Victoria Station from London Gatwick Airport. We walked 15 minutes from the station to the hotel; it was easy to navigate from our iPhone GPS and took you by a small park on the way. It would have been just as easy to catch a cab, since many were already waiting outside the station. If you wanted to use the tube there was the Green Park station (blue line) entrance just left of the hotel entrance. We were able to walk to Oxford Street, the cathedral and Big Ben, Covent Garden area, then easy to take the tube (Grey Line to Blue line just a few stops) back to the hotel Green Park station. Easy to walk and navigate the city from this location.

*Room Description - We had an early morning arrival of 7am and even though a room was not readily available at this hour, the staff worked to have our room ready by 11:30am and we were able to rest after the long flight / jet lag. The room was average in size and well appointed with king size bed and view of the park. Bed was comfy with 4 large pillows for us to share. Had an issue with the TV and maintenance switched it out in less than 30 minutes. Bathroom was marble and tile, also had large tub and shower combo with rain or hose type showerheads. Hotel offered plug adaptor for my straightening iron, Wi-Fi at additional charge, coffee/tea maker in room, small refrigerator/mini-bar and large umbrella for the rainy London weather. Concierge was very helpful in making reservations for our fancy dinner, plus gave us tips on areas to stroll (Covent Garden) and museums to visit (British History Museum).

*Area - located in a well-heeled area of London. Several pubs are within walking distance; we liked Shepherd’s Tavern as it was authentic and close! Hyde Park is across from the hotel and you can rent bikes and ride along The Serpentine, which is a lake that runs through the park. One perk is that the bikes are free for the first 30 minutes and have rental stations located throughout the city for you to return the bikes. Oxford Street is at the end of Hyde Park, when walking/biking it from the hotel; this street is reminiscent of Times Square and fun to walk and window shop with large named department stores. Many cafes and pubs are located in this area and we were able to eat traditional London fare as well as authentic Asian/Thai cuisine. Bond Street is a nice street to walk with higher-end designer boutiques and shops.

We would definitely recommend this hotel and area to our friends and family!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet room, away from the elevator with exterior views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacobs-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Lovely hotel but it did not leave me with a 5 star experience. Check in was very slow as there was a queue - with no where to sit as the two chairs were already occupied! Service at reception however was excellent and I was given a room upgarde. The view from the room was great -the palace, the wheel, Big Ben and Green Park. The facilities in the room were as expected with a lovely comfortable bed. Some instructions in the bathroom would have been nice - it took a while to work out how to regulate the water temperature. The Elemis toiletries are a nice touch.
Turn down service was completed without fuss however the tming could have been better - most people are getting ready to go out for the evening at 6.30pm on a Saturday night and I was just about to step in the bath.
Do not bother with the cooked breakfast. The food was luke warm, the hash browns were cold and inedible, the chef did not poach the eggs for long enough, I did not expect a standard buffet style for hot food in a 5 star hotel. The continental breakfast choice is excellent. Service is attentive although maybe a little too eager - my cereal bowl was removed as soon as I put my spoon down, I was only pausing to take a sip of tea.
The staff are very polite and helpful although the door service is hit and miss. Parking will cost you £50 overnight.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tromso, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

I would definitely choose this hotel again. The location is great, close to Buckingham Palace, Hyde Park, Harrods at one side and the shopping districts of Mayfair, Soho, Piccadilly Circus and Oxford Street on the other side. Our standard room was newly refurbished and really top class. I have never had such a comfortable room, but I rarely lives at 5-stars hotels. The price is high, but if you find an offer you could afford do not doubt as the quality of the room and service is top.
One negative thing? Just outside the hotel is nothing interesting, you have to walk a few minutes to find restaurants, shops or parks. We bought the London travel card and mostly used the tube from Hyde Park Corner, just two minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ogd71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a lovely place! Definitely one of the better London spa experiences from the very welcome in their pleasant waiting area where you're immediately offered a drink and some dried fruit to nibble on to our lovely couple's massage in one of their VIP massage rooms. The treatment room was great, rather spacious, the massage enjoyable and there was even a little basket of essentials for your shower afterwards which included things like deodorants and hair scrunchies. We were not rushed and have received a full hour of massage and were given plenty of time to shower, change, etc. Full marks!

Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

This hotel is classy. The staff are always friendly. Check in was busy when we arrived but a member of staff came to talk to us telling us it would only take a minute. Our room was large for |a London hotel. The reception was full of fresh flowers in lovely displays which smelt great. We had cocktails but did not eat at the hotel. My friend staying in another room rang down to reception to adivse them that the shower was not working properly and they sent maintenance straight up within minutes to sort it out.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janekd39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Attended a day long conference (awards ceremony) at this hotel and I felt 'special' when walking into doors that are opened for you by a doorman. The welcome continued into the reception area and then onwards to the table where we were seated. The rooom is big, the table presentation very good. And the awards ceremony went without a hitch! Had a salmon starter (to be fair my friend ate mine) and then a 'beef cheek' for main. Pudding was bakewell tart. The food was well cooked and presented and the waiting team was very good. I felt very lucky to be at the hotel but this is a review, so I would say that I thought the food was 'so so'. However, that might be harsh when you think that they were serving 500 people all at once. In fact it probably is when I compare it to the overall great feeling of 'being wanted' that I experienced and took home with me!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moorbius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Mayfair
COMO Metropolitan London
COMO Metropolitan London
#51 of 1,069 in London
1,104 reviews
Mayfair
Four Seasons Hotel London at Park Lane
Mayfair
The Athenaeum Hotel & Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mayfair
London Hilton on Park Lane
London Hilton on Park Lane
#336 of 1,069 in London
3,163 reviews
Mayfair
Sheraton Grand London Park Lane
Mayfair
The Dorchester
The Dorchester
#43 of 1,069 in London
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental London Park Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental London Park Lane

Property: InterContinental London Park Lane
Address: 1 Hamilton Place | Park Lane, London W1J 7QY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Mayfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Spa Hotel in London
#76 Romantic Hotel in London
#98 Family Hotel in London
#100 Business Hotel in London
#133 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental London Park Lane 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the site of a royal residence, InterContinental London Park Lane is now the epitome of modern elegance. Located between Mayfair and Knightsbridge in view of Buckingham Palace, the hotel is not far from the Tower of London, Big Ben and Trafalgar Square. Also worth seeing is the Victoria and Albert Museum, Madame Tussauds and The National Portrait Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental London Park Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing