We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,375)
Filter reviews
2,375 results
Traveller rating
430
1,170
563
151
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
1,170
563
151
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to hyde park bayswater road kensington gardens central line quiet street tube station minute walk heathrow express marble arch twin room rooms are small breakfast was included your luggage bus stop full english breakfast tea coffee west end
Filter
Updating list...
1,298 - 1,303 of 2,375 reviews
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We booked this hotel through travel republic and got a bargain. The Hotel looks gorgeous from the outside and its just as nice on the inside, the rooms are gorgeous and quite spacious for London. Its about a 20 minute walk to Marble Arch and Oxford Street or 3 minutes on a bus, all bus journeys are 2.30 irrelevant of distance........this could be to oxford street, Covent Garden or Kings cross. Its a fab base and the breakfast was gorgeous. Do no hesitate to book here because it really is one of the best for its price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopylouLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Laura thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and would happily return to the hotel.
Thank you again for your time and we look forward to hopefully having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

This hotel is located on a nice street and convenient to the Lancaster Gate tube station. Overall the hotel was just okay. The twin room was rather small and didn't have adequate storage. There was one closet with only 6 hangers and 2 dresser drawers which wasn't sufficient for 2 people. 6 more hangers would have been great. The bathroom was a nice size and we had plenty of hot water. There were ants in the room, but we chose not to complain because we didn't want chemicals sprayed in the room during our stay. We found the approximate $25 per day for Internet use to be excessive. However, close by was a Starbucks (free if you have your own laptop) and an internet cafe (1 GBP for 30 minutes, they have computers available for use). While the hotel says they have no control over the rates, there are other hotels in the area providing complimentary Wi-Fi. Most front desk staff were nice, but we found one gentleman to be rather unpleasant and unhelpful. The bar and restaurant were adequate, but they need to add more selections to the menu. Most likely I will choose another hotel for my next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the street. It had a nice view and there was little street noise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Gigi thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us was anything other than satisfactory and more importantly that you would not return to the hotel.
We are always trying to ensure that we fulfil customer expectation so I was surprised to read about the hangers as we most certainly could have supplied extra hangers had housekeeping been aware. With regards to the ants again had this of been brought to the attention of the front desk staff then an alternative room would without question have been given. Please note however that we have thoroughly checked this room and there is absolutley no presence of ants in the room and we have received no previous complaints.
With regards to internet you are quire right there are some hotels that do provide it complimentary and again this is down to service providers and contracts - unfortunately this is not somehting that we are able to offer from our current provider but I can sssure you that we will be definitely be looking to improve the current offering at the first possible opportuntiy.
Whilst I appreciate that you may have reservations about returning to the hotel I am confident that we would be able to improve your stay and hope that you will keep the Lancaster Gate Hotel in mind for any future trips.
Gigi once again thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We booked to stay for a one night visit in April.
Whilst there was nothing I could criticise too much, everything in general seemed of a very average standard for the room rate (£100+)
The room itself was clean and in good condition, but was very small. The bathroom was tiny and difficult to get into and close the door. Air conditioning left the room too hot or too cold. Room was also very difficult to find with a confusing maze of corridors and different levels. I appreciate this issue to the nature of the building but it was still very confusing.
Staff in general were friendly and attentive though.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dylan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Dylan thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after you recent stay.
I was disappointed to read that whilst the hotel was satisafctory you were disappointed with the size of your room/bathroom. Due to not being a purpose built hotel our room sizes do vary but if this is brought to the attention of the front desk staff then we will endeavour to offer an alternative room when available.
The climate control is available for both heat and a/c and apologies if you were not advised on arrival how to operate the panel for both.
I hope that we wold be able to have the opportuntiy of being able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on a future visit to London so that we may endeavour to make your stay a more pleasurable one.
Dylan thank you once again for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We stayed 10 nights in a 5th floor twin room. As requested, it was quiet (aside from the creaky floors overhead). The room was very clean and the beds comfortable with extra pillows and blankets available in the closet. The breakfast was more than adequate... a good selection of fruit juices, cereal, breads, croissants, cold meat, cheese, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, and a carafe of good coffee (or pot of tea) to get the day started! Staff was very helpful and efficient. Our only complaint would be that the shower water temperature was tricky to control (adjusting the tap even by a tiny amount could result in very cold or scalding hot water).

The location was excellent: only minutes from Central or Circle tube stations, and right on Hyde Park.

We would not recommend using the internet available in the lobby; at 30p/minute you are much better off popping around the corner to the little coffee shop on Leinster Terrace where you can get 30 minutes for £1.

Overall a very good value and we would gladly stay again on future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank venicegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent trip.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be satisfactory and well located for your visit.
I was happy to see that you would return to the hotel and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel in the future. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We followed our travel agents' advice and stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was situated far away from the elevator and we had to carry our own luggage up 2-3 little flights of stairs before we came to our room! As we were on holiday for 2 weeks, we had a fair amount of luggage with us and we were not impressed with this set-up! Oh, and if you get up after 7am, prepare to have a luke-warm shower.

The location is good though.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with alot of luggage, ask for a room as close to the elevator as possible!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPiCEYDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews