We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lancaster Gate Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #440 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at the Lancaster Gate Hotel a total of 7 nights. First for 2 nights and then for another 5 nights when we returned from another City. We originally planned to stay at another hotel but liked the Lancaster so much that we cancelled the other reservation and stayed here.
Location is great...very close to Kensington and Hyde Park...close to Queensway and Bayswater Tube locations as well as very close to one of the Big Bus Tour Stops. There are many restaurants and pubs within walking distance. The room was very clean and comfortable with flat screen TV. Not a large room but felt very comfortable! The hotel is always kept immaculate...we always saw people cleaning throughout the day. Breakfast was Buffet style and was very acceptable. All the staff were very friendly and accomodating. We loved that the street the hotel was on was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle. We also loved that the park was so close and could stroll through and people watch. I would certainly recommend this hotel and would stay again if back in London!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner room and liked the location very much!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebandShel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,223)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,203 - 1,209 of 2,223 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We booked this hotel through travel republic and got a bargain. The Hotel looks gorgeous from the outside and its just as nice on the inside, the rooms are gorgeous and quite spacious for London. Its about a 20 minute walk to Marble Arch and Oxford Street or 3 minutes on a bus, all bus journeys are 2.30 irrelevant of distance........this could be to oxford street, Covent Garden or Kings cross. Its a fab base and the breakfast was gorgeous. Do no hesitate to book here because it really is one of the best for its price.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopylouLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Laura thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and would happily return to the hotel.
Thank you again for your time and we look forward to hopefully having the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on any future visits to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This hotel is located on a nice street and convenient to the Lancaster Gate tube station. Overall the hotel was just okay. The twin room was rather small and didn't have adequate storage. There was one closet with only 6 hangers and 2 dresser drawers which wasn't sufficient for 2 people. 6 more hangers would have been great. The bathroom was a nice size and we had plenty of hot water. There were ants in the room, but we chose not to complain because we didn't want chemicals sprayed in the room during our stay. We found the approximate $25 per day for Internet use to be excessive. However, close by was a Starbucks (free if you have your own laptop) and an internet cafe (1 GBP for 30 minutes, they have computers available for use). While the hotel says they have no control over the rates, there are other hotels in the area providing complimentary Wi-Fi. Most front desk staff were nice, but we found one gentleman to be rather unpleasant and unhelpful. The bar and restaurant were adequate, but they need to add more selections to the menu. Most likely I will choose another hotel for my next visit.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 3rd floor facing the street. It had a nice view and there was little street noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gigi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Gigi thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent stay.
I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us was anything other than satisfactory and more importantly that you would not return to the hotel.
We are always trying to ensure that we fulfil customer expectation so I was surprised to read about the hangers as we most certainly could have supplied extra hangers had housekeeping been aware. With regards to the ants again had this of been brought to the attention of the front desk staff then an alternative room would without question have been given. Please note however that we have thoroughly checked this room and there is absolutley no presence of ants in the room and we have received no previous complaints.
With regards to internet you are quire right there are some hotels that do provide it complimentary and again this is down to service providers and contracts - unfortunately this is not somehting that we are able to offer from our current provider but I can sssure you that we will be definitely be looking to improve the current offering at the first possible opportuntiy.
Whilst I appreciate that you may have reservations about returning to the hotel I am confident that we would be able to improve your stay and hope that you will keep the Lancaster Gate Hotel in mind for any future trips.
Gigi once again thank you for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We booked to stay for a one night visit in April.
Whilst there was nothing I could criticise too much, everything in general seemed of a very average standard for the room rate (£100+)
The room itself was clean and in good condition, but was very small. The bathroom was tiny and difficult to get into and close the door. Air conditioning left the room too hot or too cold. Room was also very difficult to find with a confusing maze of corridors and different levels. I appreciate this issue to the nature of the building but it was still very confusing.
Staff in general were friendly and attentive though.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank dylan27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Dylan thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after you recent stay.
I was disappointed to read that whilst the hotel was satisafctory you were disappointed with the size of your room/bathroom. Due to not being a purpose built hotel our room sizes do vary but if this is brought to the attention of the front desk staff then we will endeavour to offer an alternative room when available.
The climate control is available for both heat and a/c and apologies if you were not advised on arrival how to operate the panel for both.
I hope that we wold be able to have the opportuntiy of being able to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel on a future visit to London so that we may endeavour to make your stay a more pleasurable one.
Dylan thank you once again for your time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We stayed 10 nights in a 5th floor twin room. As requested, it was quiet (aside from the creaky floors overhead). The room was very clean and the beds comfortable with extra pillows and blankets available in the closet. The breakfast was more than adequate... a good selection of fruit juices, cereal, breads, croissants, cold meat, cheese, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, beans, grilled tomatoes, mushrooms, and a carafe of good coffee (or pot of tea) to get the day started! Staff was very helpful and efficient. Our only complaint would be that the shower water temperature was tricky to control (adjusting the tap even by a tiny amount could result in very cold or scalding hot water).

The location was excellent: only minutes from Central or Circle tube stations, and right on Hyde Park.

We would not recommend using the internet available in the lobby; at 30p/minute you are much better off popping around the corner to the little coffee shop on Leinster Terrace where you can get 30 minutes for £1.

Overall a very good value and we would gladly stay again on future visits.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank venicegrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paulamcm, Manager at Lancaster Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Lancaster Gate Hotel after your recent trip.
I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel to be satisfactory and well located for your visit.
I was happy to see that you would return to the hotel and sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Lancaster Gate Hotel in the future. Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

We followed our travel agents' advice and stayed here for 3 nights. Our room was situated far away from the elevator and we had to carry our own luggage up 2-3 little flights of stairs before we came to our room! As we were on holiday for 2 weeks, we had a fair amount of luggage with us and we were not impressed with this set-up! Oh, and if you get up after 7am, prepare to have a luke-warm shower.

The location is good though.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with alot of luggage, ask for a room as close to the elevator as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SPiCEYDurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

We stayed for 7 nights we were on the 3rd floor. The front desk was very helpful. The room was clean and had a good heater. It was only about a block from two underground stations. The area was good right by hyde park. The breakfast was good. The only complaints would be that on occasion when showering the water would get either really hot or very cold. But not a big deal it was easily adjustable.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aubrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#311 of 1,076 in London
2,059 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#900 of 1,076 in London
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#468 of 1,076 in London
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #440 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: $108 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing