We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasing stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lancaster Gate Hotel
Ranked #442 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was our first visit to London. The rooms are small and cozy. This hotel is located opposite Hyde Park and is also walking distance from the Lancaster Gate Tube Station and Paddington Station. The hotel staff were always very helpful and showed high patience levels when it came to guiding us with the tube directions to the various tourist attractions. The famous "Oxford street" known for its shopping and restaurants is a few stations away. Although we faced some problem initially with the WIFI connection, the staff were very prompt is relocating us to another room for availing a stronger WIFI signal. Wonderful English breakfast with warm and fresh food. The staff were always carrying a smile and the service at the breakfast table was remarkable. We could also make payments and book our "Open bus tours" from the hotel itself. If we happen to go back to London again, hands down, we would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

965 - 971 of 2,228 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2013

Went to Lancaster Gate Hotel From July 7 till July 12, it was a success. For me it's the best Hotel for London. Not too expensive, has a good service and Breakfast(I will never forget those delicious bacon and sausages) and the most important thing is that the staff is very kind and friendly. When we wanted to get informed about tourism in London there was always somebody who was helping us especially a member of the staff called EWELINA who had been very helpful and nice ( If you read this sorry for disturbing you with my Harry Potter thing all week long hahaha)
In general, i give credit to this hotel that i find perfect for a trip to London specially that it's near the "Big Bus Tour" stop and the tube station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

This hotel was located across from Hyde Park, and several minutes from the Lancaster Gate Tube Station. You could walk to Kensington Palace, and Paddington Station for the train to Windsor, and we walked ( while, but doable) to Harrods and Portobello Market. The staff was incredible, and helped us with everything from cabs to tube directions to setting up tours. They were patient, helpful, sweet and caring, and even though the beds were a little hard, the staff makes the place shine. I would never hesitate to stay here again as a result of the location and the excellence of the staff. Besides, I was so tired at night from our daily excursions that I was asleep before I hit the pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcraftlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed for 1 night. Good size bedroom with comfy bed. Quieter than expected, although what I thought was the noise of air conditioning turned out to be the humming of the generator near our open window! However, did not cause problems with sleep! Perfectly acceptable cooked breakfast plus good croissants and we were lucky to have a fab table right by the open windows.
Great location in attractive street and with the added bonus of 2 mins and you cross the road and are in Hyde Park.
In terms of overall rating, I have limited experience of London hotels and we really did spend minimal time in the hotel, but I would say between average and very good is fairer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuralGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel last weekend. Was just ok im afraid paid £125 bb per night for 2 nights. Room very small and very noisy when opening the window which we had to as very hot weather. The noise was from a machine out back as no where near any traffic and air con in room equally as noisy. Hence no sleep and uncomfortable beds with flat pillows. There was only one lift working which was a nightmare at one time waiting 15 mins to get to room would have walked but on 5th floor. On the plus side good location in nice area but overalll disappointed as it was a treat for my daughter. Premier inn Victoria was far superior to this hotel :-(

Room Tip: Dont get room at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROME740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We stayed at the Lancaster Gate Hotel about a week ago for several days. I have only positive things to say about our experience there! We were there with our college daughter who had just completed studying in London. It is in a very nice location-practically across the street from Hyde Park in the Notting Hill area. It was fairly close to a Tube stop. It was a smaller hotel (not sure how many rooms), which we prefer over larger hotels. It had comfy feel with a nice, very responsive staff. We had called them after we made our reservation to add our daughter and get a 'triple room'. They were very accomodating and helpful throughout our visit. The room was lovely and bright and well-appointed. The breakfast that was provided as part of our stay was excellent and included hot and cold items.
We highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 2nd floor on the side. We did hear a lot of birds on the window sill. Overall, it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Arrived early. Unfortunately room wasn't ready.
Were able to leave luggage while we went to hyde park concert.
Arrived back at midnight. Room was reasonably spacious.
Agree with other reviews. Flat pillows. The beds were not very comfortable either. But overall enjoyed our stay. Breakfast was very nice.
Would use this hotel again

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Thistle Kensington Gardens
#307 of 1,077 in London
2,062 reviews
Commodore Hotel
#904 of 1,077 in London
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#459 of 1,077 in London
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Gate Hotel

Address: 66 Lancaster Gate, London W2 3NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $109 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lancaster Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lancaster Gate Hotel is located across from Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens and is a short stroll away from Portobello Market, The Albert Memorial, Albert Hall, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. The hotel has 196 rooms with modern amenities and special facilities for business travellers and families. Our Serpentine Restaurant & Bar offers international dining options as well as our popular breakfast buffet. We also provide 2 meeting rooms for small-scale business meetings, conferencing and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lancaster Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Inn London
Park Inn Hyde Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing