We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,376)
Filter reviews
2,376 results
Traveller rating
430
1,170
564
151
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
1,170
564
151
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews close to hyde park bayswater road kensington gardens central line quiet street tube station minute walk heathrow express marble arch twin room rooms are small breakfast was included your luggage bus stop full english breakfast tea coffee west end
Filter
Updating list...
1,056 - 1,061 of 2,376 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Having acquired tickets to the event in Hyde Park, featuring Elton John, who unfortunately had to cancel thru illness, my partner and I decided to take a weekend in London, 12-13 july 2013, picking this hotel due to its closeness to Hyde Park, in fact it is closest to Kensington Gardens which after a brisk walk merges into Hyde Park.
The hotel was fairly priced for central London, close to Lancaster gate tube station, keep in mind, this tubestation uses lifts not escalators to get from platform to the surface.
The hotel was clean, and our room was on the ground floor. The room being on the small size but perfectly acceptable for such a short stay...however the view from our room was that of the rear of the hotel, and other rooms windows. It proved very quiet, no noise from the main Bayswater road, few streets away..The air con worked overtime, due to the freak weather we had, and kept the room wonderfully cool..
The restaurant served breakfast, and on the whole the selection was very good, my only gripe being a hotel of this size, needed more tables, first morning we had to eat in the lobby area near to the bar, the tables of which were so small it necessitated me putting the tea and coffee pots on the floor.. also you will no doubt eat cheek by jowl with other guests, the tables being a few inches apart ! The staff were more than helpful and always smiling.
Would I stay again, most definetly ! But its not the best hotel I ve stayed in London.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chatster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We recently stayed here late June. A pretty average hotel overall. The first room that they put us in was ridiculously small - even for London standards. We could not even fit our 2 normal sized suitcases in it. We complained about this & got a better room - at least we could bring both suitcases in to the room. Breakfast was average. There aren't even any tea or coffee making facilities in the room.
On check out, they tried to charge us for the use of the internet as well as a bill generated in the bar. All of this took quite some time to sort out. It's disappointing because the hotel is in such a good location, but it's an average experience overall. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was our first visit to London. The rooms are small and cozy. This hotel is located opposite Hyde Park and is also walking distance from the Lancaster Gate Tube Station and Paddington Station. The hotel staff were always very helpful and showed high patience levels when it came to guiding us with the tube directions to the various tourist attractions. The famous "Oxford street" known for its shopping and restaurants is a few stations away. Although we faced some problem initially with the WIFI connection, the staff were very prompt is relocating us to another room for availing a stronger WIFI signal. Wonderful English breakfast with warm and fresh food. The staff were always carrying a smile and the service at the breakfast table was remarkable. We could also make payments and book our "Open bus tours" from the hotel itself. If we happen to go back to London again, hands down, we would stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Went to Lancaster Gate Hotel From July 7 till July 12, it was a success. For me it's the best Hotel for London. Not too expensive, has a good service and Breakfast(I will never forget those delicious bacon and sausages) and the most important thing is that the staff is very kind and friendly. When we wanted to get informed about tourism in London there was always somebody who was helping us especially a member of the staff called EWELINA who had been very helpful and nice ( If you read this sorry for disturbing you with my Harry Potter thing all week long hahaha)
In general, i give credit to this hotel that i find perfect for a trip to London specially that it's near the "Big Bus Tour" stop and the tube station.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicolas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This hotel was located across from Hyde Park, and several minutes from the Lancaster Gate Tube Station. You could walk to Kensington Palace, and Paddington Station for the train to Windsor, and we walked ( while, but doable) to Harrods and Portobello Market. The staff was incredible, and helped us with everything from cabs to tube directions to setting up tours. They were patient, helpful, sweet and caring, and even though the beds were a little hard, the staff makes the place shine. I would never hesitate to stay here again as a result of the location and the excellence of the staff. Besides, I was so tired at night from our daily excursions that I was asleep before I hit the pillow.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dcraftlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews