We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kensington House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$272
US$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$172
US$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$217
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (399)
Filter reviews
399 results
Traveller rating
114
168
81
23
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
114
168
81
23
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsceiling fanthe royal albert hallcontinental breakfasthyde parkhigh streetelemis toiletriesquiet side streetironing board and ironrooms are smallsingle roomattending a concertthe hotel websitestay there againshort walkstaff was very friendly and helpfultube stationjunior suite
Filter
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 399 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This was my third stay at the K-House and I just think it is a great, little hotel. I was traveling with my husband and our daughter/son-in-law and we booked 2 standard rooms. The rooms are small, but are clean and have comfy beds and decent bathrooms. The breakfast is great and the fact that it is included helps contribute to the overall value. (you do pay extra for any hot/prepared items like eggs/meat etc., but the continental is free and includes several breads, cereals, juice, cured meats/cheese....). As mentioned in other reviews, the lift is quite small, but we just sent all the bags with one person and the rest of us used the stairs.

There is currently construction going on right across the street (i suspect London is scrambling to prepare for the Olympics) - so there was noise pretty early in the morning. This was not true the other times I stayed, so once it is complete I would imagine things will become far more peaceful.

The location is great - 2 underground stations w/in a 10 minute walk and lots of shopping/dining opportunities close by.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ktraveler_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

I stayed in a single room here for a couple of nights, and was really happy with my stay. Yes, it's not the flashest hotel in town, but considering the price you pay, and the location - it's a winnner. Positives are... very friendly and obliging staff, walking distance to a couple of tubes stations, over the road from Hyde Park in a lovely upmarket London street, and at the end of High Street Ken. Also, free wi-fi, nice continental breakfast (or cooked breakfast for a reasonable price) and free welcome drink. My room was very clean, and looked like it had recently been refurbished, as it was in a far better state than most other more expensive hotels I've stayed in in London. The staff were very obliging with free (very) late checkout, as my flight from Heathrow was not until the evening. If you're looking for a very spacious room, lots of hotel facilities (or require a large hotel reception to make you happy like the author of the previous comment!) etc. then this might not be the place for you, but if you are in London to be out and about enjoying what the city has to offer, and want a clean, friendly base to come back to in a great location, then I'd recommend Kensington House Hotel.

Room Tip: Lower floors are better if you don't like stairs. There is a lift, but it's easier to just get some exercise and use the stairs!
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mango212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Stayed in this hotel for one night only, which was more than enough. I have stayed in many 3/4/5 star hotels throughout the world and especially in London. This hotel was not deserving of even a 3*. The only thing to recommend this hotel would be the location near to Kensington Gardens. The hotel is opposite a very large building site which starts work at around 7.45am with heavy lorries moving in and out of the site all day long. The reception is in a pokey little room, although we were checked in very promptly. Went up to the 4th floor by lift which says it could accomodate 4 persons but I would not like to try this out.
The room itself was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, it was very dated but not as bad as the bathroom which was a very unpleasant environment to spend any time in.
The breakfast was OK when it finally arrived although we were left sitting there for about 10 minutes before my friend went to ask if we could have some coffee and hot food.
Fortunately we did not spend a lot of time in the room, we moved the next night to the Jumeriah Carlton Tower which was beyond comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ypadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

A few suggestions before you book your hotel in London. Make sure the hotel you are considering is easy to access from the airport or railway station that you will be arriving into. Secondly, how easy will it be to get to the main tourist sights from this hotel.

We found the Kensington House Hotel to suit our needs admirably. ( Be careful when looking thru' hotels as there are many hotels with very similar sounding names ... make sure you are looking at the correct one ! )

We were flying into Heathrow and used the Piccadilly Line ( NOT the Heathrow Express ). OK , it takes about 40 mins to get to Gloucester Road tube station but you don't have to worry about making any changes. Cost is on £5 per head. The hotel is only 6/7 mins walk away.

The hotel is located in lovely part of Kensington. Your neighbours will be the most affluent of London residents ( house prices start around the £2m mark !! ) and numerous foreign embassies can be seen in the adjoining streets. Kensington Palace and Gardens are literally across the road from the hotel. ( we were lucky enough to have good weather on our visit and enjoyed beautiful walks every morning thru' the gardens which will take you all the way to the Diana Memorial garden and all the way to Knightsbridge if you so wish )

What really impressed us was how friendly the staff in the hotel were. From receptionists to the staff in the b/fast room to the congenial manager Antonio, each was just so helpful.
For example, we really do not like using the underground and intended using taxis to get around. However, Antonio explained how easy it was to use the numerous buses which run along Kensington . ( these worked out so well that we did not need to spend the money on an Open Top Bus tour ). We really had the full services of a local tourist guide on the premises.

Hotel is very clean and comfortable. The lift is tiny and only takes two people. We never used it as thankfully we are both fit enough to be able to use the stairs to our 2nd floor room.

B/fast room is nice and bright and the Continental b/fast is excellent. As stated above, staff are very friendly. All the principal International newspapers are provided.

Royal Albert Hall, Natural History Museum, Victoria & Albert Museum are all about a 15 min walk from the hotel.

For getting around, we purchased Oyster Cards which allowed us to use all the buses and the Underground. ( we both used approx £25 of credit on our 4 day trip )

One final point. If you intend to spend a lot of time in your bedroom, this hotel may not be for you as there is extensive rebuilding going on nearby. However, if like most tourists, you intend getting up around 8.30am and heading out for the a day's sightseeiing after b/fast, the building work will not be a problem. We hardly noticed it. All work has to cease by 5pm to comply with building regulations.

So many fab. restaurants around the area. Will pass on our views to anyone who needs a bit of advice on the ones we found to be worth a visit.

All the best .

Eamon & Ruth

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TheGannetIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

Even though we had some problems with the Internet, the lock and the hot water in our room; the staff was really friendly and tried to help us.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M29G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews