We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good bargain in London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Ranked #477 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
129 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Good bargain in London”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

I like this hotel, even though my experience was less than perfect. For the price, it is a good deal. Rooms are modern and clean, Internet connectivity is great (though not free). Location is excellent as it is right next to Paddington, which allows easy access to the Heathrow Express.

My experience wasn't great as the hotel's fire alarm went off in the middle of the night and later that night the alarm clock in my room went off (must have been set by the previous guest). However, I complained to the night guard and the hotel's manager actually returned my call the next day to my US number, apologized and offered compensation (free dinner in a restaurant next to the hotel). I rejected the offer as I already had plans, but appreciate the willingness to compensate a client and commend the hotel manager for taking responsibility in this manner.

My only issue with the rooms is that they are small, but you can't have everything for this price so all in all I can really recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelfiend_30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Sir,
Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel. Without such feedback we would not be able to constantly improve both our hotel and service provided. You were unable to accept my offer of dinner on your last visit. But should you stay with us again in the future my offer will still be available..
We do hope to see you again soon and you will be able to take up the offer of dinner.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    609
    300
    100
    76
See reviews for
199
429
216
399
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

The room was very small. There wasn't much space to put my luggage and shopping bags. The desk was a bit pointless as I wasn't there to work, would of been nice to have a dressing table. There was no plug by the mirror and the tv wasn't working. But on the plus side the bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean. The location was excellent (just opposite paddington train station) as we were travelling by train.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your review on our hotel. we were pleased you found your bed comfy and you slept well. We do have a number of larger rooms available at the hotel and should you visit again can I recommend you try one of our king bedded room which are very spacious.
We do hope to see you again when visiting London.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

The best thing about this hotel is that it's clean and very convenient to Paddington for the Heathrow express and underground. The rooms are quite small, but efficient. I had problems that took some sorting out. I had a shower hose that was split and difficult to shower. After reporting it, was told it would be fixed which wasn't and had to change rooms on the second day. Also the hotel is noisy with street noise and people checking in at all hours slamming doors.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0chambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and we are pleased you found our hotel clean and convenient for your needs in London. Accept our apology regarding the broken shower hose. We were surprised you could hear any outside noise as all our windows are soundproof to ensure our guests enjoy a good nights sleep.
We do hope to see you again when visiting London.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

A very small hotel in an excellent position just outside Paddington Station. Nicely decorated and clean, rooms are a bit small and literally there is no room to swing a cat round. However, the fitted bedroom furniture made the most of the limited space and it worked quite well. Breakfast was taken at Garfunkels next door by voucher and entrance was by way of a private door from the hotel. There is no restaurant within the hotel but the surrounding area is alive with places to eat. I have to say that staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful and the location was perfect for my business needs. However, the cost versus the lack of faciliities makes this hotel not quite so good value for money. I paid around £140 for the night through the company booking agent which I thought was a bit steep for such a small place. Overall though, I quite liked this little hotel but I am sure I could find somewhere cheaper with more facilities if I was travelling privately.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyuk1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your recent review on our hotel and we are pleased that our location was excellent and our hotel was clean and nicely decorated. We do have some smaller rooms at the hotel due to it being over 100 years old. Should you book again with us I would like to recommend you try one of our king bedded rooms which are much larger.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

I did not stay there but my daughter was in London she had lost her jacket cards every thing got separate from her friends and did not know were she was went inside hotel to ask for help. And what happen next is what i would call a first class service Alex notice she was so stressed and did not now left from right that he walked her all the way to her hotel in bayswater. then after his kindness he called the hotel to make sure she was fine. i would like to thank mercure and the staff they have i know were i would be staying when i come to London. so again thank you alex for being so kind to my little girl

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yulia1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests mother,
It was our staff’s pleasure to assist your daughter in her hour of need. We are here to help all travellers in London and understand it can be a daunting city if not know. I have passed on your kind words to all of our staff involved and especially Alex. Who passes on his thanks.
We hope that should you or your daughter visit London soon you will stay with us as you are always welcome.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Higashikagura-cho, Japan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

I recently stayed with a friend for 2 nights. I do recommend booking an executive room as it will give you that extra space to make your stay more comfortable.

The room was spotlessly clean and a good supply of tea and biscuits as well as bottled water each day.

Carolina on the front desk was especially nice and made us feel very welcome indeed. Upon checkout she wished me a pleasant trip back to Japan (where I live).

As others have noted the location is really convenient as it is right next to Paddington station and so easy access to both the London Underground and National Rail. Plenty of shops, cafes, pubs etc within walking distance from the hotel.

It is my second time to stay here and I will certainly stay again the next time I am in London.

Room Tip: Pay extra for an executive room to give you that extra bit of space as the regular rooms are pretty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianinJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests,
We are pleased to read your second visit to our hotel was as good as the first and you found the hotel spotlessly clean and everything you needed.
I will pass on your kind words to Carolina our receptionist.
We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for your third stay.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucuresti, Bucuresti, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Hotel: small rooms but very confortable, employees always at your service, services fast and convenient.
To mention Carolina and Alex - extremlly helpfull and kind!! 5 stars employees!
location: close to transport or connections to all turistic points in London.

Room Tip: mention at the reception if you want / need something in particular and they will help!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicoleta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linforth, General Manager at Mercure London Paddington Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Guests,
Many thanks for your kind review on our hotel and we were please our staff were 5 stars.
We pride ourselves on our service and thank you again for these comments.
We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards
Malcolm Linforth-Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Mercure London Hyde Park Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Hilton London Paddington
Hilton London Paddington
#405 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
BEST WESTERN PLUS Delmere Hotel
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#399 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure London Paddington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure London Paddington Hotel

Property: Mercure London Paddington Hotel
Address: 144 Praed Street | Paddington, London W2 1HU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Paddington / Maida Vale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#316 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure London Paddington Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Paddington is perfectly situated for anyone visiting London for business or pleasure. Only being a few strides from the Heathrow Express at Paddington Station and 3 London Underground lines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure London Paddington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn London
Quality Crown Hotel Paddington
Quality Crown London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing