We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenient” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Town Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
London Town Hotel
Ranked #506 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Dryden, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

We stayed a week and had no major complaints. Convenient location to Underground,clean rooms,good breakfast and helpful staff. Minor disappointment with no face towels.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    76
    191
    91
    18
    14
See reviews for
94
102
83
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

I travelled alone and stayed for a week in a single room at the ground floor, and felt that the room size albeit being on the smaller side was sufficient. Most importantly, the sheets and bed were clean, toilet was clean with the daily housekeeping. A safety deposit box, television with many English channels, hair drier, little packets of soap and shampoo and towels were also provided.

On my first day, the room was a little musky, but it was quickly cleared upon leaving the toilet door open to ventilate the entire room. The breakfast I felt was also sufficient to start the day; this coming from my first experience in a hotel without a full buffet breakfast common to chain hotels.

The neighbourhood where the hotel is located also felt safe with other hotels literally nearby and a Best Western just next door to this hotel. To top it off, the tube station is only a 3 minute walk away, and there's also a Marks and Spencer and a Cooperative supermarket (for discounted groceries) where you can get bottled water, fresh fruits and packets of crisps to snack on, a Burger King, KFC, Boots and restaurants along the way to the tube station.

Would definitely recommend this hotel! :)

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floor or away from the doors. Problem does not lie in traffic (there was ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huiqi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

What I like about staying in British hotels is the great cooked English breakfast, tea making facilities in the room and a bath tub.This hotel had none. Tiny rooms, tiny, cold bathrooms and toast for breakfast! Insulation between rooms was terrible. The only good thing was its location near the tube station.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Dear Lis S,
All hotels in London are not the same. They all offer different types of breakfast and services as would be detailed on their individual websites.
At the London Town Hotel we do not advertise anywhere that we offer a cooked English breakfast. Our continental breakfast menu is clearly stated on our website which consists of:
Muesli Cereal, Cornflakes, Weetabix, Seasonal Fresh Fruit, Yoghurt, Cheese, Boiled Eggs, Hot Toast , Tea, Coffee, Hot Chocolate, Juices and Condiments.
We do not advertise anywhere that our rooms have tea and coffee making facilities. We offer free tea and coffee in the hotel lounge.
We do not advertise anywhere that our rooms have a bathtub. All rooms have a shower and toilet.
Room sizes in London are generally smaller then other parts of the world.
It is best to check the hotel's website before booking to avoid disappointment.
Kind regards,
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2012

I stayed here with a friend after finishing a tour around Europe, and definitely enjoyed the convenience of the place! Was so close to everything, especially the tube which i became a master at in 2 days, and Earl's Court is a great place for anything you need, restaurants, pubs, laundromat, nail/massage salons etc. London town hotel were very accommodating when rang to upgrade and book an extra room the day I was due to arrive. The only problem was that during the weekdays breakfast was over by 9am so we either missed out because we wanted a sleep in, or had to rush for breakfast. It was simple, but the boiled eggs were yum! The staff were very friendly and always there no matter what hour we would roll in. I would definitely recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aroha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

We had a great experience at London Town hotel! Rooms were clean, service was great and the location was perfect for easy access to the tube---definitely would recommend!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 86BridgetR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

This hotel did all the important things well for the price. I paid 65 pounds for a single room. It was clean, quiet with a good continental breakfast and facilities (eg TV, newish bathroom). Its 3min walk from the Tube, which is itself about 30min from Heathrow and 15 min from central London by train. OK the room was a bit small and floors a bit creaky but hey this is central london so buildings tend to be oldish. Earles Court the suburb is fine with lots of well priced food options. I quite liked the 'Blackbird' pub on the corner.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to the London Town Hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

For a hotel in this location for the relatively low price, I didn't expect much. Indeed, the room was tiny, the breakfast meager (go to Bencho on Earl's Court Road), and the walls paper-thin. I was ok with all that. Wifi was working fine, and staff were very friendly.
Interestingly, the bathroom had no heating. Fun showering on a freezing January morning, especially as the water pressure was very low (and that was only on the 2nd floor). It also had a huge stain of black mould in the corner (no wonder as it's not heated...), and that is definitely not ok. We complained, and it got mostly cleaned away the next day; we were also offered a different room should we still not be happy. However, this should not happen and be cleaned before anybody complains.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thekittenexpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LondonTownHotel, Manager at London Town Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. When you pointed out the issue in the bathroom we did our best to resolve the situation for you. I apologise again that it was overlooked by housekeeping.
Kind Regards
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Amsterdam Hotel
Amsterdam Hotel
#514 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Earls Court
City Continental London Kensington
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#712 of 1,078 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#397 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
Earls Court
Best Western Boltons Hotel London Kensington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Town Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Town Hotel

Property: London Town Hotel
Address: 15 Penywern Road, London SW5 9TY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #506 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — London Town Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The London Town Hotel is situated in the tree lined Penywern Road, in the heart of Earls Court (in the Royal Borough of Kensington & Chelsea), minutes away from the Earls Court London Underground Station. The hotel is located close to the Olympia Exhibition Centre. With excellent transport links, the London Town Hotel is the ideal base for exploring & visiting London's tourist attractions, theatre shows, restaurants, shopping, or to do business. Our rooms provide a comfortable space to relax, work and sleep, making it the perfect place for your visit to London. They all have en suite facilities (shower & toilet), free WiFi, freeview digital TV, direct dial telephones, room safes, hairdryers and our rooms are non-smoking. Our spacious guest's lounge has complimentary tea & coffee making facilities, free WiFi connection and a public internet station. The lounge leads on to our terrace overlooking the garden. Our friendly, helpful staff look forward to welcoming you at the London Town Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Booking.com so you can book your London Town Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing