We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$224
US$187
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$113
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$309
US$149
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$234
US$214
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$183
US$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$245
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (2,144)
Filter reviews
2,145 results
Traveller rating
869
909
281
58
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
869
909
281
58
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshyde parkqueensway tube stationpark viewcentral linealbert hallconvenience storenotting hillbus stopfirst floorminute walkstandard roomjunior suitemarble archstayed for two nightsexcellent locationexcellent breakfastweekend break
Filter
Updating list...
1,616 - 1,621 of 2,145 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

This place represents excellent value when you can get the room rates right.
Excellent location, 2 minutes from Queensway, with a lot of rooms overlooking Kensington Gardens. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard, without being over the top.
However, first impressions can be worrying when approaching the hotel, as it is built above a petrol station and Waitrose supermarket. Once you're in though, you'd never know it.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank TimJCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your positive feedback. You will find future best rates on our website thistle.com. I look forward to welcoming you back..


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Two things....the breakfast food was cold and the bed linen sheet did not reach the bottom of the bed which was very odd.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am genuinely sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. As you will see from previous reviews, this is out of character for the hotel. I hope I get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel where I am sure your experience will be a positive one.


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens on our honeymoon April 2012. For first time travellers to London - with no experience travelling whatsover - the thistle is a great starting point. The hotel is in the best location - not only did the hop on hop off bus stop out the front of the hotel - we could walk through kensignton gardens to buckingham palace and to central London - basically we could walk everywhere. We also caught the tube numerous times - the Queensway station is 2 minutes down the road AND the street it's on has great tourist shops and a proper shopping centre if you need it. There is a pub and a few eateries nearby too. My husband got sick for a night so I ate the hotels room service which was nice too. Very handy having a service station underneath the hotel for little treats and bits and pieces too. Just a great stop in London. Staff were always friendly and the concierge officers gave us the best advice on what tours to do - how to get around etc. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: If you are Australian - it is handy to tell the hotel that. The front desk staff upgraded us to a larger room based on the fact we were Australian and used to bigger hotel rooms.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Our location is great if you are new to London and want to get 'out and about' to see the sights. I am delighted our location suited you and we were able to support the enjoyment of your honeymoon. Many thanks again for your positive detailed post, and for your recommendation to your fellow Australians.


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Nice hotel. Nice location.
Nice breakfast. Very pleasant staff.
However, what was classe a de-luxe twin was a very generous description.
Water in bath/shower only tepid until we complained and suddenly it worked. Room safe did not work.
Bathroom needs updating.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorcitizen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. All of our bathrooms have now been fully refurbished. I am sorry the room safe did not work and you experienced issues with the hot water, however I am glad this was quickly resolved. Thank you again for posting a review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2012

We stayed at the hotel as part of a theatre trip for my mums birthday. We were very impressed with the hotel from the moment we stepped through the door. The staff could not do enough to help you and everywhere was spotless. Our room was very clean and had an amazing view over looking the park. Bathroom again was very clean and had a huge shower. Breakfast was very good considering they were very busy everything was kept topped up and hot, again all the staff at breakfast had a smile on their faces and nothing was too much trouble. Definately try the omlette for breakfast was absolutley delicious! Will definately be returning and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the park on the 8th floor - was a lovely view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flaffm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your recommendation. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you got to experience one of our park view rooms. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon.


Billy Hughes | General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews