We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, modern room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Thistle Kensington Gardens
Ranked #293 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, modern room in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid-May. Our room was on the 4th floor, which I initially felt was too close to the busy street below, but I soon got used to the street noise. The location of this hotel was fantastic! The underground stops were very close and we were able to get anywhere we needed to go fairly quickly. We even walked through the park to Royal Albert Hall and the V&A. Overall we had a nice stay at Thistle Kensington and we will definitely stay again on our next trip to London.

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PookDog78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 8 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am glad you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us, and I look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    796
    243
    48
    23
See reviews for
410
765
67
266
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens on Friday 25th May. This was our 2nd stay at the Hotel this year and we were made very welcome. Our room on the 4th floor was very pleasant, clean and spacious and overlooked the Park. I have no hesitation in recommending it. Breakfast was excellent and on such a lovely Saturday morning the Park is only steps away.

Room Tip: I think it best to request a room at the front, but floor 4 and above gets you the better vista and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ivydon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your recommendation and Room Tip.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed here in January when away for work. I booked a double room which was small but had everything I needed, such as Iron/Ironing board, hot drink facilities, TV etc. As I have seen mentioned before, I was on the top floor, and the water pressure wasn't great for the shower. There is parking on site, although it costs £24 per day, which is expensive, but nothing out of the ordinary for London in my experience.

The breakfast, (also expensive the same as other London hotels) was great with lots of hot and cold variety. The staff were also friendly and helpful when I needed something delivering to the hotel. The hotel also feels very secure - you cannot operate the lifts unless you have a room key card.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwampDonkeyGJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. All of our park facing rooms are bigger and can be requested ahead of check-in or on arrival. These rooms are Deluxe and Executive room types and as well as being spacious, they offer great views across Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens. Thanks again for your detailed review. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012 via mobile

This place represents excellent value when you can get the room rates right.
Excellent location, 2 minutes from Queensway, with a lot of rooms overlooking Kensington Gardens. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard, without being over the top.
However, first impressions can be worrying when approaching the hotel, as it is built above a petrol station and Waitrose supermarket. Once you're in though, you'd never know it.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank TimJCallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens and for your positive feedback. You will find future best rates on our website thistle.com. I look forward to welcoming you back..


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Two things....the breakfast food was cold and the bed linen sheet did not reach the bottom of the bed which was very odd.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. I am genuinely sorry to hear about the issues you encountered. As you will see from previous reviews, this is out of character for the hotel. I hope I get the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel where I am sure your experience will be a positive one.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed at the Thistle Kensington Gardens on our honeymoon April 2012. For first time travellers to London - with no experience travelling whatsover - the thistle is a great starting point. The hotel is in the best location - not only did the hop on hop off bus stop out the front of the hotel - we could walk through kensignton gardens to buckingham palace and to central London - basically we could walk everywhere. We also caught the tube numerous times - the Queensway station is 2 minutes down the road AND the street it's on has great tourist shops and a proper shopping centre if you need it. There is a pub and a few eateries nearby too. My husband got sick for a night so I ate the hotels room service which was nice too. Very handy having a service station underneath the hotel for little treats and bits and pieces too. Just a great stop in London. Staff were always friendly and the concierge officers gave us the best advice on what tours to do - how to get around etc. Can't fault it.

Room Tip: If you are Australian - it is handy to tell the hotel that. The front desk staff upgraded us to a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. Our location is great if you are new to London and want to get 'out and about' to see the sights. I am delighted our location suited you and we were able to support the enjoyment of your honeymoon. Many thanks again for your positive detailed post, and for your recommendation to your fellow Australians.


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshireu.k.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Nice hotel. Nice location.
Nice breakfast. Very pleasant staff.
However, what was classe a de-luxe twin was a very generous description.
Water in bath/shower only tepid until we complained and suddenly it worked. Room safe did not work.
Bathroom needs updating.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seniorcitizen57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thistlehotels, General Manager at Thistle Kensington Gardens, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review Thistle Kensington Gardens. All of our bathrooms have now been fully refurbished. I am sorry the room safe did not work and you experienced issues with the hot water, however I am glad this was quickly resolved. Thank you again for posting a review and I look forward to welcoming you back soon


Billy Hughes | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
Thistle Hyde Park
#359 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Notting Hill
DoubleTree by Hilton - London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Hilton London Hyde Park
Hilton London Hyde Park
#393 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#203 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Kensington Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Kensington Gardens

Property: Thistle Kensington Gardens
Address: 104 Bayswater Road, London W2 3HL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Business Hotel in London
#189 Family Hotel in London
#210 Romantic Hotel in London
#214 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Thistle Kensington Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished modern hotel located on Bayswater Road with the tranquility of Hyde Park and Kensington Gardens opposite, and within walking distance to Paddington, Oxford Street, Kensington, Notting Hill and Edgware Road, the hotel is ideally placed for business or leisure. Good transport links ensure that the city and theatres are also within very easy reach. All Deluxe and Executive bedrooms are located at the front of the hotel and have amazing views over Kensington Gardens and are available at a supplement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Thistle Kensington Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Kensington Gardens London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing