We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel, Great Location, Would stay here again!”
Review of The Cumberland

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Cumberland
Ranked #389 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, Great Location, Would stay here again!”
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed at this hotel 3 times, its great. Perfect location for shopping, breakfast is great, rooms are big and clean. Decent sized bathroom. Room has all the facilities needed for a great stay! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShanelleB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,934 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,796
    2,203
    1,119
    464
    352
See reviews for
990
1,879
375
1,541
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,067)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2012 via mobile

Right next to Marble Arch tube on the Central line, and on the end of shopping Mecca Oxford st, the grand old Cumberland Hotel stands. Apparently Jimmy Hendrix spent his last night on Earth here; he could of done a lot worse.

The entrance foyer is really modern, and the staff were attentive and helpful. There was some mistake with our booking, which I believe was with the travel agent not the hotel. We went and had some dinner while they sorted it out. The wash up was we were upgraded from what was a tiny standard room, to an apartment. This was great, although I'm glad we didn't have to pay for it as it was pretty expensive, then again this is central London. I noticed a few airline pilots stay here so it must be ok.

The room had a pretty funky color scheme, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty standard but ok. I'd recommend this place if you can appreciate the location

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Court888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for one night before a meeting. It's a very large hotel, but the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. I got a deal on their own website, and got an executive double room, which is a very good size, for a good price. Having subsequently checked the usual prices, it was a very good deal indeed! It's pricey, but you pay for the location and the convenience. I'm not planning to go there for a leisure trip, but it was fine for a business meeting.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork Ireland.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in the Cumberland for 2 night as my husband was doing the London Marathon...
we were concerned that the hotel was almost too central from a noise point of view but were pleasently surprised. We had a 6 floor room, (which was in an adjacent building easily accessible through an underground corridor from the main hotel.) and the windows were tripple glazed, so we had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed. Only negative point about the room is it was TINY... as in the bed is shoved up against the wall, and the bathroom is two steps from the bed. Then other areas are excessively large ie lobby, corridors to restaurant, bar etc. Bad planning perhaps.

Staff were generally plesant and helpful. I was allowed a late check out with no extra charge.

Overall we had a very plesant stay, and will return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in April. The booking was made through their special services as we had a rebate for the conference. I double checked this upon arrival just to find there was no such mention in their system.
The room was decent, mostly good except for a sloooow TV, the lack of a real bathroom door (just a glass door which didn't cover the entire door frame) and no toilet brush(?). Staying in the same room as your coworker does mean you get to know them more intimately but there are limits to what you want to share. Beds where comfortable and the in-room safe came in handy (fits a 13" laptop). Wifi was not included in the price and sadly did not work very often once purchased. To be fair this was probably partly due to the amount fo people trying to use it but it is still beyond me how this could be an issue 2012. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast bufé was plentiful. All in all in all a very mixed experience with some definite highs and lows.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevators. You can hear them chime all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed there for a conference. Unfortunately, my room was not in the main hotel building but the guest house just down the street. The two buildings are connected by an underground tunnel. Breakfast was very good - huge selection. Best thing: Marble Arch tube station just around the corner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Pretty much the title sums it up. Not the best hotel, but good value for London in a great location. But the service was awful. I forgot a bracelet in the room and cannot get anyone to return my calls or emails. It's been over a month so I guess I need to give up all hope of getting my bracelet. It had sentimental value (and was expensive) and the fact that no one even had the decency of getting back is shabby. When I first arrived after a 16 hour flight, I was told the the computer system was down and they were unable to check anyone in. They said that as though they expected me to go away and come back. Hello, it's a hotel, do you see the suitcases I am lugging?! I had to ask to speak to a Manager and get somewhat adamant to get them to locate my reservation and get me a room. Rooms matter, but people matter more and the people that work at this hotel are disappointing. Not sure I would stay here again...

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
Amba Hotel Marble Arch
#75 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,487 reviews
Marylebone
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel London - Marble Arch
Marylebone
The Leonard Hotel
The Leonard Hotel
#315 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
London Marriott Hotel Park Lane
Marylebone
The Montcalm London Marble Arch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cumberland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cumberland

Property: The Cumberland
Address: Great Cumberland Place, London W1H 7DL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#248 Family Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#292 Romantic Hotel in London
#342 Business Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cumberland 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1019
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cumberland Hotel is one of London's most famous and finest four star hotels. Opposite Marble Arch, it is perfectly located with superb service and facilities. Its inspiring lobby exhibits inspirational original works of modern art, perfectly complimenting its contemporary style. A great hotel in a perfect location in one of the world's great cities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Cumberland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland Hotel London
Cumberland London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing