We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Cumberland
Nearby Hotels
US$143
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$199
US$187
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$221
US$215
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$137
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$272
US$160
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$172
US$159
galahotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Grand London Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$94
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$217
US$205
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (6,458)
Filter reviews
6,458 results
Traveller rating
1,946
2,367
1,215
521
409
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,946
2,367
1,215
521
409
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarble archoxford streethyde parkexecutive roomexcellent locationpret a mangerlarge hotelbusy hoteltube stationironing boardcentral linewest endconciergefoyerselfridgesdoormantheatre
Filter
Updating list...
4,198 - 4,203 of 6,458 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2012

Right next to Marble Arch tube on the Central line, and on the end of shopping Mecca Oxford st, the grand old Cumberland Hotel stands. Apparently Jimmy Hendrix spent his last night on Earth here; he could of done a lot worse.

The entrance foyer is really modern, and the staff were attentive and helpful. There was some mistake with our booking, which I believe was with the travel agent not the hotel. We went and had some dinner while they sorted it out. The wash up was we were upgraded from what was a tiny standard room, to an apartment. This was great, although I'm glad we didn't have to pay for it as it was pretty expensive, then again this is central London. I noticed a few airline pilots stay here so it must be ok.

The room had a pretty funky color scheme, and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was pretty standard but ok. I'd recommend this place if you can appreciate the location

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Court888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed here for one night before a meeting. It's a very large hotel, but the staff are friendly and the rooms are comfortable and quiet. I got a deal on their own website, and got an executive double room, which is a very good size, for a good price. Having subsequently checked the usual prices, it was a very good deal indeed! It's pricey, but you pay for the location and the convenience. I'm not planning to go there for a leisure trip, but it was fine for a business meeting.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Stayed in the Cumberland for 2 night as my husband was doing the London Marathon...
we were concerned that the hotel was almost too central from a noise point of view but were pleasently surprised. We had a 6 floor room, (which was in an adjacent building easily accessible through an underground corridor from the main hotel.) and the windows were tripple glazed, so we had a great nights sleep in a comfy bed. Only negative point about the room is it was TINY... as in the bed is shoved up against the wall, and the bathroom is two steps from the bed. Then other areas are excessively large ie lobby, corridors to restaurant, bar etc. Bad planning perhaps.

Staff were generally plesant and helpful. I was allowed a late check out with no extra charge.

Overall we had a very plesant stay, and will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cind05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here for a conference in April. The booking was made through their special services as we had a rebate for the conference. I double checked this upon arrival just to find there was no such mention in their system.
The room was decent, mostly good except for a sloooow TV, the lack of a real bathroom door (just a glass door which didn't cover the entire door frame) and no toilet brush(?). Staying in the same room as your coworker does mean you get to know them more intimately but there are limits to what you want to share. Beds where comfortable and the in-room safe came in handy (fits a 13" laptop). Wifi was not included in the price and sadly did not work very often once purchased. To be fair this was probably partly due to the amount fo people trying to use it but it is still beyond me how this could be an issue 2012. Staff was very friendly and the breakfast bufé was plentiful. All in all in all a very mixed experience with some definite highs and lows.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the elevators. You can hear them chime all night.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelinkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed there for a conference. Unfortunately, my room was not in the main hotel building but the guest house just down the street. The two buildings are connected by an underground tunnel. Breakfast was very good - huge selection. Best thing: Marble Arch tube station just around the corner.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main building.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews