We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good position for shopping” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Ranked #598 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Lancashire
Level Contributor
139 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Good position for shopping”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

We stayed here for one night. The room was OK, the bathroom was clean and there was a window which opened which is always a nice thing in these over heated hotels. The hotel however is in an excellent area with a conveninet ncp car park just down the street, its just behind Debenhams on oxford street. The check in staff were rushed off their feet and got interrupted all the time - the concierge who should have been handling some of the problems kept wandering off. The breakfast was nothing special considering this is a reasonably classed hotel, the sausages were cheap and nasty. We stayed here on a business trip and would stay here again for it's convenience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shadowfaxlancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    410
    305
    121
    82
See reviews for
209
307
66
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

We stayed two nights at this hotel on a special offer. We had to pay for one night and then got the second free. We booked into a double room and asked the hotel to add a third bed for my four year old son, which they did after we reminded housekeeping.
The room itself was fairly compact, more so with the extra bed, but clean and all in working order. The bathroom was perfectly clean and everything worked. We appreciated the flat screen tv and a range of channels for us and my son.
All in all a good location, we could see the back of Debenhams on Oxford street and walk to Bond street tube in 10 minutes. We were` pleasently surprised for the price and would stay again if they ran similar offers (looking at the full price tariff then I would say it seemed a bit expensive for what the hotel was). But in general good location, perfectly acceptable hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloucesterTracyCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Stayed 1 night on business.

From the outside the hotel looked promising but inside it is dated (seems to be undergoing a refurb as many hallways smelt strongly of paint)

Check in set the tone - the person checking me in was constantly distracted - when another guest came down as their key card was not working despite being midway through checking me in she left me standing there as she went off to serve them! - she seemed to keep getting distracted by lots of other things and at no time did I feel I had her full attention. My colleague was being checked in (by another front desk clerk) at the same time but my check in took more than twice as long. Also despite confirming my loyalty card number she failed to enter it - I am now trying to get the pointed added retrospectively.

Location:
Good for tourists who wish to shop - located behind Debenhams, close to tube station.

Room:
I was assigned a room facing the road (my colleague was given a room towards the back & reported later her room was very quiet) As the location is set away from the main road (hotel is on a street behind Debenhams) I did not give it a second thought but would regret this later when I returned to the room to sleep.

Room was on 2nd floor
Colour palette of room was quite dark/dated decor
Cheap looking dark wood furniture (table, chair, bedside cabinet etc)
Window was single glazed and so provided no noise insulation (did not realise how bad this was till I tried to sleep - at night I could hear every car go by, peoples conversations on the street as they walked by etc) - I lost count of the number of times I woke up during the night.
Bathroom had bath & shower - No mini toiletries - just a large tube of Dove attached to the wall
Sheets - ave - low quality - added bonus was the hairs (not mine) I later discovered on one side of the bed :- (
Flatscreen TV - picture quality was so poor that on some channels it was barely watchable

My colleague had a room set back from the road - and whilst their room had a similarly dated decor, it was super quiet - so might be worth asking for a quiet room when checking in.

We had an early meeting so decided to skip breakfast so can't comment on that

Compared to the other Holiday Inn I usual stay at in London (Bloomsbury) this was quite poor, given the choice I will not return here.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, IHGCare at Holiday Inn Oxford Circus, responded to this review, 15 March 2012
Dear ljn_uk,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford Circus. I am so sorry to see you did not enjoy good night sleep because of the traffic noise. Our receptionists can be very busy but we certainly can find way to improve our check-in service. We’d like to obtain some additional detail regarding your experience so we have sent you a private message. We hope to have the honor of serving you again should your travels bring you back to London.

Sincerely,
Lin S.
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

uk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Just as we expect to find at a HI....Good service...Nice room....A pity the parking is extra but at least its only a few yards down the road....We will be staying again later in the year....9/10

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miamiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

Good location for shopping and going out, just behind Debenhams on Oxford Street. Clean hotel, looked like the room had been newly decorated and was clean and everything i needed for a one night stay. Stay pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcress79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

Stayed for five nights. Simple, clean rooms however walls are paper thin. The floor we stayed on was getting a Reno do all day there were jackhammers and similar noise as well as dirt, rubbish and lots of dust in the corridor - great for asthmatics. Breakfast was so overpriced and was generally edible with the exception of the eggs, hash browns, sausages and croissants. Waiting staff was polite. Above all, the receptionists were terrible - no customer service skills at all. Not helpful in the slightest and speak to each other and the customers with the rudest demeanor.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fififiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Stayed for one night for my birthday. When we arrived we found that we had been upgraded to a suite because of my birthday which was very nice. Large spacious room on the 6th floor. Clean, tidy, comfortable bed, no complaints. We didn't spend much time here really except to sleep. It's in a terrific location, 5 mins walk from Oxford Street. It's about halfway down Oxford Street behind Debenhams. Bond Street is the closest tube (5 mins walk). So if you are shopping or going to the theatre like we were it was spot on. There was a bar on the ground floor which was open when we returned from the theatre so we could have a nightcap. They did do breakfasts but they wanted £20 each which is just ridiculously expensive for what you get so we went out for breakfast instead. When we checked out they looked after our luggage for us so we could go shopping. I would stay again just for the position. It's a chain hotel in an ideal position and is ideal for sleeping in. If you want anything more from your hotel then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJF67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Berkshire
Marylebone
The Mandeville Hotel
The Mandeville Hotel
#215 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marylebone
Radisson Blu Edwardian Sussex Hotel
Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
Holiday Inn London Mayfair
#386 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Mayfair
Mermaid Suite Hotel
Mermaid Suite Hotel
#873 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford Circus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford Circus

Property: Holiday Inn Oxford Circus
Address: 57-59 Welbeck Street, London W1G 9BL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Marylebone
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #598 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Oxford Circus 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn London Oxford Circus hotel which is located in a quiet Edwardian terrace in Marylebone, just 2 minutes walk from London's famous Oxford Street. The Holiday Inn London-Oxford Circus is ideally suited for both business and pleasure travellers. Centrally situated, London's historic and famous attractions are all within walking or a short distance to the hotel. These are Theatreland, Harley Street, West End Shopping including Debenhams, Selfridges, Harrods and Bond Street; Hyde Park, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, Piccadilly Circus, Madame Tussauds Lords Cricket Ground, The British Museum, London Eye Nearest underground station is Bond Street on the Central and Jubilee lines, within 2 minutes walk from the hotel. Oxford Circus underground station on the Bakerloo and Victoria lines is just under 10 minutes walk.Please note that all rooms are for a maximum of 2 people. If interested in family rooms please make sure it says maximum 4 people. All rooms have air-conditioning. Internet access, WiFi, playstation games, voicemail and modem points.Hotel is in congestion charging zone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford Circus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Circus Hotel London
Oxford Circus Holiday Inn
London Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing