We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (7,846)
Filter reviews
7,846 results
Traveller rating
3,323
2,828
972
440
283
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,323
2,828
972
440
283
Show reviews that mention
All reviews regents park great portland street dry martini classic room warren street superior room an upgrade oxford circus tube station mini bar london hotel west end rooms are small lounge concierge euston pubs
Filter
Updating list...
3,251 - 3,256 of 7,846 reviews
Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

Having read the reviews of the classic rooms I wasn't looking forward to staying here... Wondered if we had made a mistake by booking, but I was pleasantly surprised! First of all the room was of an impressive size - I realise this differs from room to room, but we got a great room on the 4th floor that was just well, a good sized room. Staff were friendly and courteous on arrival as they were all through our stay. There was a lovely bathroom with lots of black onyx and some very good free toiletries such as shaving and toothbrush kits etc. good thoughtful stuff if you are travelling light! We had a huge bed that you could have lost a battalion in and a massive telly to relax in front when our feet got tired. Niggles ? Well the fridge locked our drinks and snacks in several times. As semi- locals we are not going to pay mini bar prices when there is a 24/7 Tesco express across the street! But we didn't realise the fridge is electronically controlled. When we knocked stuff over in the fridge with our biccies and pop this showed up on our bill! But the lovely staff were willing to take our word that we hadn't consumed any of the mini bar stock ( we hadn't). Other than that nothing! Some pieces of furniture needed a bit of a French polish due to scuffing, but that's due to guests not the hotel. The location incidentally is fantastic - walking distance of Oxford and Regent St, two pubs nearby and loads of food options. The hotel breakfast seemed a lot steep at £15 for a tight Yorkshireman but you can have a good sit down English breakfast for half that at the Turkish restaurant near the tube. Highly recommended and the staff are grand! There's also a Pret a Mange and a Starbucks nearby with local foody places not far. Also recommended is The Albany a very trendy pub, with decent prices, much nicer and cheaper than the scruffy " ye olde pubb" Green Man nearby. At both pubs the staff incidentally were lovely. I don't know what's happened to London lately. People have been polite, there's no litter blowing about the streets, and no one barged into me without apologising. But back to the hotel - the tube location is as I say excellent. Poke your head above ground and the hotel is unmissable infront of you. Overall we loved this hotel, a good motto might be "the cheapest and the best", because you will struggle to find better value in London on a very nice and safe area, aside from one or two beggars outside Tesco.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilHayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your great feedback, especially we truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff that we consider our most valuable asset.
Please allow us to recommend our Longfords Bar where you could enjoy a cosy classic atmosphere and the best cocktails. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Meliá White House on many future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Stayed over here for 4 days on business. Very nice hotel, except for the lower-end rooms which are minutely small. the distance from the foot end of my bed to the wall was to small to wheel a suitcase through! They do however have larger rooms, but these were sold out - prob for a reason. Very nice breakfast and friendly staff.

Room Tip: Don't take the cheapest room!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dirk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

A decent hotel for its market, recently refurbished and well-appointed. I asked for a quiet, non-smoking room and the reception staff went to the trouble of making sure i was given a room on the top floor which was appreciated; also full marks for not insisting on taking my credit card on arrival - a huge win versus the competition. The room was small but adequate, and clean enough. Good fitness centre. All the staff i met were friendly and professional.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avonside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Well-located for transport hubs, this very comfortable hotel (luxurious?) is ideally placed for the tourist and the business visitor. Although the reception/foyer is rather cavernous, the hotel is warm and friendly – the check-in staff proved especially efficient as I arrived in the midst of a group of 10-15 people.
My double-room was large enough and well-equipped, although the large TV screen could have been a little ‘intimidating’. As usual with central London hotels, the noise of the traffic was to be heard clearly in my 6th floor room.
The bed was comfortable, the room clear and the water hot.
Breakfast was adequate – lots of it, but whilst the cereal and dried fruit choice was extensive and delicious, the hot food was plentiful, but some of the dishes looked rather ‘too cooked’ and dry (although it was only 15 minutes after they began serving breakfast). The coffee was best avoided.
Apart from breakfast, I didn't eat in the hotel as there are lots of possibilities - to suit all tastes and pockets - within easy walking distance. Try the Queen's Head and Artichoke (a pub with class) which is to be found behind the hotel and has a first floor dining room - very tasty food.
Overall, the White House is not a cheap option and whilst the accommodation was good, the food was disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joys59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Hotel is around the courner from the incredible regents park and located next to several tube stops and bus lines. We really enjoyed this area which is near many of the "western" london attractions. Make sure to take one of the rental bikes (station is located behind hotel) and explore Regents park!

Room Tip: You can upgrade to the Jr Suite for about 60 pounds
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonfhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

First of all thank you for your great feed back, we are glad to see that you had a pleasant stay at the melia White House. We are willing to welcome you back on many future occasions.
Please find the best available rates in Melia.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews