We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in a great area of the city”
Review of Melia White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia White House
Ranked #296 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 December 2017

This was my 4th visit to this particular hotel. Great location, wonderful staff and amazing breakfast.
However I was disappointed with the size of our room as the lack of space meant that bed was shorter than standard size and my feet stuck out the end even though my head was right up against the headboard.

Room Tip: Beds are too short and room was very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank pamelamZ6526XE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear pamelamZ6526XE,

Thank you so much for sharing your observations with us.

We are glad to know this was your 4th visit to Melia White House and we would love the 5th to be very soon! We are happy to read you like our location and find our staff and breakfast to impress you the most.

However, we are very sorry that you felt let down by the room size and that you did not feel comfortable in the bed. Please be informed that we offer several room categories from a classic room to an Executive or Junior Suite, which feature different sizes. You can find all room types on our website. For future reservations, do not hesitate to contact us should you have any enquiry or require additional information about the rooms.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you back and provide you with a memorable experience this time.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (7,230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 7,230 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017

I have stayed in the Melia White House several times on business and have always found it to be an excellent hotel, combining the facilities of a large hotel with the welcoming atmosphere of a smaller establishment. Also extremely convenient for a pre-breakfast run in Regents Park.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank derekl987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2017

Dear derekl987,

Thank you so much for your very kind review.

We are delighted to read that you have visited us several times during your business trips and have always had an excellent experience. We are very glad to know that you feel comfortable in our hotel due to its welcoming atmosphere and our facilities.

Having one the city's lungs just around the corner is definitely something we feel proud of. It is a beautiful place for a day out with family or friends and also, as you mention, for a run in the morning to start your day fresh and renewed. We would like to take this opportunity to inform you that we offer complimentary fitness classes every week for our guests. Should you wish to receive further details, please contact our Guest Experience team.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2017

We arrived at the hotel passed midnight - the 24/7 service is a huge plus for us. The service was always kind and patient. the room is not huge but perfect for two people with luggage, it looks just like the pictures, the beds are super comfy and the pillows were amazing:) the whole hotel has an expensive feel to it but at a very reasonable price. The hotel is located in a lovely neighborhood and we felt very safe to go and walk around at night. there are 2 tube stations just a minute walk from the hotel which make it so easy to move around the city, oxford street and all it's shops are a nice 20 minutes walk away. I would definitely stay there again. Thank you Melia staff for making our trip perfect

Room Tip: If street noise bother you, choose a room at a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank חמדה ו
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear חמדה ו,

Thank you so much for your kind comments.

We are delighted to read that you felt absolutely comfortable during your stay and loved our bed and pillows. We indeed have a 24hrs reception and customer service to suit the needs of all our guests. Likewise, we are very glad that you liked our location and found it very convenient for your plans in the city. As you mention, we are very close to key areas such as Oxford Street and Camden Town at just walking distance.

Once again, thank you very much for choosing us and for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We would love to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

Stayed here regular for business few years back but some changes didn't suit us as family. Buffet dinner with limited choice and room décor a little tired. On a plus side staff were excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Sleep quailty only affected by interconnecting doors avoid these rooms when checking in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
Thank chrishA2500DN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear chrishA2500DN,

Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us regularly during your business trips.

We are delighted to read that you find our staff to be very professional and helpful. We consider our team to be one of our strongest points, they feel passion for service and for creating memorable moments for our guests. However, we are very sorry that you did not feel satisfied during your most recent stay especially due to the room decor and the dinner buffet. We would like to invite you to contact us privately and know more in details why you felt let down by the buffet dinner and felt it has a limited choice. Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve.

We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back and create a perfect experience for you and your family.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2017

The hotel has a modern yet cosy feel to it. During our stay the staff were friendly and efficient.. they dealt with a complaint about our room efficiently and with out any fuss. The hotel and our room was spotlessly clean. We had breakfast during our stay which was excellent... so much choice and freshly prepared. Would definitely stay at the hotel again. The hotel is situated near to two tube stations and Regent's Park is a short distance away. Thank you to all the staff for what was a wonderful stay...

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Meliá Hotels International
1  Thank Slazenger-kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2017

Dear Slazenger-kid,

Thank you so much for your wonderful stay.

We are delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and felt very cosy here. We are very glad that you felt very satisfied with the way our staff dealt with the issue you encountered and found our location very convenient for your plans.

We are particularly happy to know that you enjoyed your breakfast experience so much. Our buffet breakfast is indeed one of the stars of the hotel as it features a wide range of fresh options such as cereals, smoothies, pancakes, the famous English breakfast, freshly baked pastries, cured meats, live cooking, and a gluten-free section, amongst others. It is definitely the best way to start your morning!

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017 via mobile

The Melia is in a terrific spot near the Regents Park with great, easy access to trains and buses. Two block walk and there are pubs and restaurants, grocery and convenience stores. One of our favourite places to stay which we do often. Join their points program on check in and if you book through their website, they offer you £ that can be spent on in house dining. They have several options.
Nearby are some great restaurants and pubs. Parking around the area is not easy for long term.

The hotel is filled with art and sometimes the installation really catches your eye...see the suitcase gorilla photos.

Rooms are clean and easy. Look for the second set of towels in the closet. They seem to dress all the rooms for one guest which always makes me furious when we book as two!

If you pull out your bedside table, you will usually find a plug YOU can use to charge. Like most hotels, all the plugs are being used by the hotel. The desk plugs offer American and European wattage which is very very kind. Fridge does not allow you to put in your leftovers so eat up!

Staff is helpful. Wonderful greeting from John at the Front Door always makes our stay pleasant! Thank you dear John!!!

Breakfast is fun as usually there is a big group or sport team to watch. Omelette maker on hand if you want to try something new! They have added fresh squeezed juices, lots of fruit, gluten free and now some Asian dishes. See photos.

Clean. Easy. Safe. Great location.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

Dear Stylelust,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us and found our location to impress you the most. We are very glad as well that you found our Meliá Rewards program to be interesting and worth it. With it you can take advantage of our exclusive private offers and redeem them in several of our services. You continue to earn points with your purchases and new bookings.

Concerning your comments about our art installation in the lobby, yes indeed we love to surprise our guests with new initiatives and we love art (on your next visit, don´t miss the chance to visit our in-house gallery Le Dame).

We are particularly glad to know that you felt perfectly treated by our staff, especially by John, who will feel very happy to know you were so satisfied with it.

We would love to welcome you back and provide you once again with our best service.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Excellent location, Terrific restaurants within and nearby great variety of food , Best cocktail bar, rooms very nice bathroom a little small, staff were very helpful. In a very pleasant are with a beautiful park adjacent.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank PJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melia W, Guest Relations Manager at Melia White House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2017

Dear PJ P,

Thank you very much for your kind comments.

It is a pleasure for us to know that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and found our location to impress you the most. We are delighted to read that you felt comfortable in your room and enjoyed the Dry Martini experience. Our bar offers a delightful variety of cocktails created by our talented mixologists and a brand new food selection, featuring the Scottish salmon by H.Forman & Son, famous by its protective status.

We look forward to welcoming you back and continue to surprise you with all we have to offer.

Kindest regards,
Guest Experience team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Level at Melia White House
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clapham / Battersea 
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
The Lodge Hotel, Putney
#289 of 1,076 in London
1,382 reviews
Regent's Park / Kings Cross
The Wesley Hotel & Conference Venue
South Kensington
NH London Kensington
NH London Kensington
#261 of 1,076 in London
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia White House

Address: Albany Street, London NW1 3UP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Regent's Park / Kings Cross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Romantic Hotel in London
#215 Business Hotel in London
#215 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $179 - $416 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia White House 4*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melia White House hotel was built in 1936 and was originally launched as The White House luxury apartments. The hotel’s building still preserves its architectural value as a prime example of art décor style in late 1930s. After a recent refurbishment, guests can now have a more pleasant and unique experience when sating in London. This 4-star deluxe hotel includes 581 rooms, 112 apartments, 9 meeting rooms, 2 restaurants and a bar including a terrace, fitness centre and an executive lounge. The hotel’s unique location, award winning food offering and true passion for service will make of your stay in London a pleasant and unique experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia White Hotel
Sol Melia London
Melia White House London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing