We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful hosts, terrific place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of John and Norma's Homestay B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Ranked #8 of 561 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts, terrific place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

John and Norma are charming hosts and go above and beyond what you might expect of B&B hosts. (To give just one example, John met us at the metro when we arrived.) The rooms were wonderful (light and airy with comfortable linens), and breakfast was delicious. The B&B is in a lovely neighborhood and is a short walk from good restaurants. John recommended his favorites, and we were very pleased with the ones we tried. The B&B is close to a bus stop which will take you right to the metro- so getting into the City proper was simple. We had a very relaxing time with John and Norma, and would recommend their B&B to anyone!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Court H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    201
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
88
63
13
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

John & Norma's was a perfect place for us to stay whist we visited north London. It is a cliche but they really did provide a home from home for our family & with 3 young children, that is not to be underestimated! The breakfasts were delicious & plentiful, the rooms spotless & comfortable & the welcome friendly & genuine. We would wholeheartedly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarawood77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We had a fantastic stay with John and Norma. The B&B is located in a very quiet, residential area, but it is really easy to get into the centre of London, by bus and tube. The bedroom and bathroom are both spacious and very clean and there is plenty of choice for breakfast. John and Norma are lovely hosts and even picked us up from the tube station when we arrived. We would definitely recommend staying here and would certainly return if back in London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank gv17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Just got back from a week's stay at this fantastic property in Muswell Hill. We rented both rooms, each of which was clean, spacious, comfortable, and equipped with a flat-screen TV and generous closet and shelf space. The bathroom was large, clean, and equipped with instant and infinite hot water (tankless). Breakfasts were hearty and offered a variety of fresh fruit, pastries, tea/coffee, and eggs to order. A highlight of this property was having a dining area to ourselves, and one kept furnished with tea, biscuits, and a fridge at all hours. The property is a five-minute bus ride to the Bounds Green tube station, and within walking distance of two great pubs (Maid of Muswell and O'Neill's), a late-night Chinese carry-out shop, and a convenience store. There are also grocery stores (M&S, Sainsbury's), a fish and chip shop, and ATMs within a five- to ten-minute walk. John and Norma were very friendly and always quick to assist with sightseeing tips and maps. I would strongly recommend using the Oyster Cards you can find in the rooms, as they allow for almost a half-price fare compared to cash prices for the tube and bus.This is a great property for families, couples, or anyone wanting to come home and relax at the end of a sightseeing day in London. We were so impressed we told John and Norma to keep our deposit and book a reservation for a return in the fall. Need I say more?

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ELPPsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raciborz, Poland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

I spent 4 lovely nights at John and Norma's homestay B&B.What can I say? The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was excellend! I wish they had lunchs and dinners as well! All in all, the place is clean, beautiful... Just perfect! The price is quite reasonable so I'm sure I'll come back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand lake o the Cherokees
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

Best place to stay in London! This was one of the least expensive places to stay, and by far the most comfortable. If you want to feel like you're at home away from home, book a room here today. John and Norma are extremely friendly and thoughtful. The location is north of central London, but a short tube ride from central London and close to the tube station. Look no further, there's no reason to stay anywhere else. We'll be back!!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Explr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Our review title says it all really. What an absolutely fantastic short break staying with John and Norma.

We knew we were onto a good thing when John offered to pick us up from Highgate tube...how many other hoteliers or B&B owners would even consider that as a courtesy? Handshakes shared and smiles all round, we journeyed the short drive to their gorgeous house where we were greeted by Norma and offered a welcoming cup of tea and shown to our room.

We entered the (very large) bedroom and honestly?...Wow. Lovely wooden flooring, so, so comfy bed (so comfy we enquired as to where we could buy one on our return to Lancaster!), flat screen tv with digibox, gorgeously decorated with enough built in cupboard space to fill 20 times more than we could, PLUS lots of hangers too.

Next door to our bedroom was the lovely large bathroom, spotlessly clean like the bedroom, with cast iron bath, shower, sink and loo. You can always tell how good somewhere is by the cleanliness of the bathroom...and the make of the loo roll. Let's just say it was 'strong and very, very long'.

Once we unpacked, we went to have a brew with our hosts and were shown the breakfast room. Beautifully appointed and homely. Over a jolly decent cup of tea (definitely not 27p for 80 teabags from Morrison's) we had an enjoyable natter with John and Norma who gave us plenty of info on the 'what's, where's, who's and why's' of the area and they offered us the use of their Oyster cards.

We then said our farewells and ventured out on our first day out in London.

We returned, exhausted about midnight, fell into bed and slept like babies until morning time.

When we came downstairs for breakfast and entered the breakfast room we couldn't believe the amount of gorgeous looking food on the table. There was melon, strawberries, bananas, grapes, yoghurts, six types of cheese, various crackers, fresh warm bread rolls and croissants, orange juice, pineapple juice, a big pot of tea, various jams, marmalades and spreads, cereals, baby plum tomatoes and cucumber.

Now this is where things happened that will stay with us forever and just goes to show what marvellous hosts John and Norma are...we had casually mentioned on arrival during our natter that we liked scrambled eggs with spring onion and fresh smoked salmon, so imagine our surprise when exactly that was served to us on top of the feast already laid out before us? We ate like kings and were so full that even after a day and night walking all over London we didn't eat again until nearly midnight!!!

After our second night of restfull sleep we came down to breakfast again to be greeted to more of the feast plus the added lovely touch of some illuminated hearts and a handmade heart with 'Happy Anniversary' on made by Norma. How fantastic?

Unfortunately our stay with this lovely couple was short and sweet. They have a truly gorgeous house, a positive attitude to life, the universe and everything and we cannot wait to repay them a visit in the not too distant future.

Once in a while you meet people that you instantly know are going to be part of your life...we KNOW that whenever we visit London in the future, John and Norma's Homestay B&B will be number one on our 'places to stay' list.

Daz and Mel Thompson
Lancaster
Lancashire
dazcthompson@hotmail.co.uk

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Daz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
White Lodge Hotel
#439 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Premier Inn London Archway
#82 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#2 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Georgian House
Georgian House
#11 of 561 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
The Drayton Court Hotel
#7 of 561 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to John and Norma's Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about John and Norma's Homestay B&B

Property: John and Norma's Homestay B&B
Address: 74 Coniston Road, London N10 2BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 561 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a new B&B in the vibrant Muswell Hill area of North London. Our nearest tube stations are Highgate and Bounds Green. We have a stylish double room and a single/twin room, both with LCD televisions and Wi-Fi. You can book the double room on its own with exclusive use of the bathroom, or book both rooms and share the bathroom. Perfect for a family of 3-4 or a group of 3-4 adults. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
John And Norma`s Homestay Hotel London
John And Norma`s Homestay Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing