We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (155)
Filter reviews
155 results
Traveller rating
9
27
39
35
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
27
39
35
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdouble bed and a single bedfree continental breakfastshower gelfamily roommin walktube station
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 155 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

This is a £25 a night Hotel !
Complete dump dirty smelly and should not be called a hotel !
Sorry but would rather sleep in the car don’t be fooled by the pictures and reviews
God only knows who the permanent residents are staying here
Like I said be warned pay a little extra and stay somewhere safe and comfortable!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Val73stu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDHIR N, Manager at National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

We are all saddened by your review of the National Hotel. We have recently gone through a full refurbishment and yet still offer quality rooms with shared facilities to ensuite to suit all budgets.
I don’t understand why you would think a night at the National Hotel would only be worth £25, we are centrally located in Muswell Hill, London.
All we can ask is future guest see past this bad review and checkout our other recent reviews stating we are a clean, comfortable budget hotel located close to Alexandra Palace.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 29, 2017

Enjoyed a one night stay at this hotel in a good location in Muswell Hill close to shops and bus routes. The room was clean with comfortable bedding, the bath and shower were good with plenty of hot water and the staff were pleasant. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bri712017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDHIR N, Front Office Manager at National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2018

Thank you for the kind review and staying at the National Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 23, 2017 via mobile

A short but bracing walk to the Ally Pally. We stayed for two nights and the staff could not have been more accommodating. The hotel is old fashioned but, my goodness the heating works well. Have never been so warm. Good basic continental breakfast. Very comfy and convenient. Will be back next year

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDHIR N, Manager at National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you for the kind review and staying at the National Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Ideal if you have a car and staying here as they have a car park at the back of the hotel and 4 spaces at the front for larger cars. Friendly staff check in was quick. We were a couple of floors up so if poor mobility check floor as no lifts. Room was cheap so basic but clean - had a shower and tea/ coffee facilities shared toilet down the corridor. I think some rooms have toilet so check when booking. Breakfast was served 8-9:30 we were continental good range to choose from - help your self type - 4 cereals to choose, fruit , fruit juices, croissants, toast range of breads, yoghurts. Close to the Alexander Palace if coming to London for an event.

Stayed: October 2017
Thank Melanie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RANDHIR N, Manager at National Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2017

Thank you for the review. We have a number of room types from basic rooms with shared bathrooms to ensuite. Our website shows the different types of rooms availability and best available rates.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Room was clean and tidy. Booked via booking.com. Has parking. Close to Alexandra Palace (15 min walk or £6/7 in a taxi). Shower was on a hot water pump. Plenty of power but not a lot of hot water. Room came with soap, shower gel sachet and towels. Plenty of room but very warm in the room and no air. No lifts in the building but nice simple dining room for breakfast, which was decent. Staff were pleasant. Can't really complain other then the shower. It was one night and did the job. Bit pricy but I'd stay again.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma-Rachael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded September 8, 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at our hotel.

At the National hotel we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and I do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this.

We take all complaints and comments extremely seriously, and endeavour to rectify any issues in order to provide our customers with complete satisfaction.

We shall review the hot water situation in your room and apologise for the inconvenience caused.

Thank you in taking the time to review the hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews