We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great place to stay in London” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arosfa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Arosfa Hotel
Ranked #108 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Great place to stay in London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012

After the airlines lost my luggage and my cell phone would not work, I was happy to find that Arosfa was everything as described in its website and in the TripAdvisor reviews. My room was clean and cosy, the breakfast buffet was yummy and healthy, and my hosts, Tessa and Attila were incredibly nice and helpful. Arosfa is centrally located by tube, bus, or train. If you are a walker, it is in walking distance of many sites. I stayed for six nights and I will return again when back in London.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,018
    504
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
435
400
314
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent one night at the hotel in a double room with twin beds, which was small, but adequate, and along with an authentic English breakfast, good for the price. I was disappointed that Tessa was not there, because we had exchanged emails before my stay and I was looking forward to meeting her. But Atilla and the rest of the staff were very accommodating. It was unusually warm for London in May, but Atilla was kind enough to give us an extra fan, (carried up to the top floor, no less!). Atilla was also a very gracious host to my guests; we all sat outside and enjoyed drinks to celebrate a family "reunion." I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room on the highest floor was too warm and stuffy; it might be that lower rooms are also warm and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

The Arosfa is well located within walking distance from the tube station. Our hosts Attila & Tessa, made us feel very welcome on our arrival and during our stay. The hotel was home from home, and we would recommend without hesitation the Arosfa experience. Looking forward to going back later in the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Tessa and Attilla were lovely hosts and extremely kind. In a wonderful location, quiet and near to the Tube stop, very centrally located in terms of connections with other lines. We stayed for two nights and were in the room at the top. It felt like home. Nice breakfast and lobby space.

Room Tip: The room at the top was very spacious, but you need to be prepared to walk about 4 flights of stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CEmer1927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

I stayed at the Arosfa for 2 nights in a single room and will be returning soon for 3 more nights. The hotel is wonderfully located, pleasantly decorated, the lounge area with 2 computers for guests is a welcome space and breakfast was good. But the best part of the experience is the staff, as helpful and friendly as it's possible to be.

The room I had was fitted with a shower/sink/toilet compartment which was not as comfortable to use as the usual ensuite kind. To give the hotel credit they do mention on the website the very small size of these units. I'd suggest that for a larger or older guest it might be wise to request a room with a full sized bathroom which I've done for my next visit.

I've had a difficult time locating a budget hotel in central London to which I'd care to return. But I feel now that I have and will happily stay at the Arosfa when I return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jyphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

Me and a friend arrived for a two night stay and were showed into the comfy looking lounge. our luggage was taken up stairs which was great as we were on the 3rd floor. We had booked a twin room and straight away we were told it was a small room.... granted yes it was small but it was cosy!! The bathroom did take awhile to get used to as it was small but it was very clean (slight ocd when it comes to bathrooms). The breakfast we had was fab couldnt fault it, felt full both days and real coffee makes all the difference- good touch!!
Tessa and Attila were the perfect hosts and would recommend their hotel to all and we will be staying there again when we visit!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
113 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

I booked a night at Arofsa because there were no other choices that night - I don't usually stay in these types of hotels but I must say I was pleasantly surprised – it’s no luxury hotel and service is minimal. My room was clean and the bed was acceptably comfortable . The bathroom was small but perfectly clean. The best part was the extreme friendliness of the man who welcomed me when I arrived at 11pm (after their normal closing time). I had to leave very early and they were kind enough to leave me a small breakfast tray in my room – even though I hadn’t asked for anything. In its category, Arofsa is a good choice for value-driven travelers in pricey London!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick of Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#136 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,123 reviews
Bloomsbury
Morton Hotel
Morton Hotel
#107 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#233 of 1,081 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#112 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,991 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#76 of 1,081 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,254 reviews
Bloomsbury
Regency House Hotel
Regency House Hotel
#562 of 1,081 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arosfa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arosfa Hotel

Property: Arosfa Hotel
Address: 83 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#44 Business Hotel in London
#91 Family Hotel in London
#132 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arosfa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arosfa Hotel is a refurbished 200-year old Georgian Town House in the heart of historic Bloomsbury district, the former home of the famous Pre-Raphaelite artist Sir John Everett Millais. The cool white garden squares and wide streets of Bloomsbury have been a pull to thinkers for centuries, and it sometimes seems like every second house has a blue plaque denoting that a great writer, scientist or philosopher once inhabited the building. It was in Bloomsbury that Karl Marx created communism, Virginia Woolf defined the twentieth century British novel, and Charles Darwin first conceived the theory of natural selection. The imposing bulk of the British Museum, home to seven millennia of human art and artefacts, dominates the area, and there are plenty of other academic institutions including Birkbeck College, the beautiful University of London Library, and RADA, London's grandest drama school. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Arosfa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arosfa Hotel London
Arosfa London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing