We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs tolerated, not welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton
Ranked #194 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 2 July 2011

We chose this site because it stated that dogs were welcome, and we always take our dog along on our trips, both for his enjoyment and security for the caravan. However, upon arrival, we were told that he needed to stay on lead for the whole visit, and couldn't even be let off to go to the toilet. Before being told this, I let him off for a couple of seconds and someone bellowed at me from the other side of the park - "dogs on lead!!" in a rather sarcastic, patronising voice. The following day, we left him as we always do in the awning, safely secured, with water while we popped out. When we returned, our awning was wide open and our dog had been moved. Before we could even get the key in the door, another little policeman came rushing over and gave us a lecture, which included the fact that our dog could not even be left in our own caravan while we were out, and if we did leave him they'd call the RSPCA. Our dog had been moved simply because they thought they had a right to relocate him outside of the awning. Our dog was stressed by this and very upset - as were we. No one, at any point, had mentioned this 'site policy'. We asked if there had been complaints or he'd been barking, and they replied no, he'd been fine - it just wasn't allowed. It seems a bit stupid to allow dogs to a site where people go to visit central London via buses and tubes, and expect them to take the dog along. We wouldn't return. Our advice is to avoid if you have pets - or you don't enjoy being lectured by the constant stream of nagging staff passing by and beaking through your windows.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank TeamZTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

This been our 2nd time camping in London, it was great. You can go straight into London via the bus route outside campsite, then onto the tube with a all-day ticket (which can be brought from the office). In the evening if you want to go and watch a film, its right next door to the campsite. The campsite is very clean and safe for your children. Close enough for central London but far enough for you to forget you are in the city. I've now been to both camp sites and loved them both. So much better than any of the cheap hotels in the center of London. They have so much information on what to do within the London and surrounding areas and are very helpful in informing you of any questions you may have for any attractions. There is also a leisure centre within walking distance of campsite, if you fancy working out etc. Very good valve for your money and the children will love the experience of camping and going out round London, so much better that going to seaside camping, with nothing else but slot machines to keep you busy in the day time etc.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ittleflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Lovely site. Beautiful flat grassy ground for caravans with hardstanding. The tent field is very lumpy and bumpy... Nice facilities, clean toilets/showers with a combi-lock (the number is on the door...!) there is adequate washing-up and laundry facilities. Bus to Edmonton Green (and then onto London via overground) is 100 yds away. Seems to be very popular with European campers who all seem to be able to keep their children under control. BLISS.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kjsrhr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

I booked my tent onto this campsite for two nights in order to kill two birds with one stone! My partner had never been to London before, but wanted to go away camping - so this was the perfect solution to my problem!!
The site itself was ideal!! The toilet and shower blocks were very clean, and the rest of the site very tidy.
Having previously lived in east London, I opted not to take the bus routes (which stops right outside the camp) into the city, but instead drive into Walthamstow to connect with the underground. Driving from the campsite to Selbourne Walk shopping centre in Walthamstow takes around 15 minutes (Selbourne road - for satnav'ers). The shopping centre has ample parking which is well lit and has CCTV. For a days parking it cost me £5.
Selbourne Walk is directly opposite Walthamstow Central underground station, which is on the Victoria Line (zone 3) which goes to Oxford Circus or Kings X to connect with other lines.
So, all in all, this site is perfectly located, with very friendly staff, and good facilities!
I'm already planning a return visit!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank antpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Good campsite for the price. It cost us £23.90 per night for camper+electric hookup. Depsite being pretty close to London the setting feels quite rural - next to a pretty decent looking golf course, with lake etc. Plenty of space for playing ball games etc.

Decent amenities, which were well kept and clean- shower block, laundry, washing up area, etc. Didn't have a wireless internet connection which would have been helpful to logon and sort the finer details of our London day trips but we got by without so no major big deal.

Really good links into London - firstly via the 'W8' bus which runs every 8 minutes (2-3 mins. walk from site), then change onto overground station at Edmonton Green to connect to Underground Station at Seven Sisters (Vicotoria Line). All in all an average of just under an hour into Oxford Circus (or other stations of similar distance). The journey in was fine (our kids enjoyed the variety of tranport modes) and it was great not driving. No delays at all. Cost for us - 2 adults plus 2 kids under 11 (kids under 11 go free with an adult) was £54.50 for 4 days (this covered travel zones 1-4) for overground or underground train and/or London bus. Tickets are sold at the campsite - very convenient.

Also there is a cinema and Deep Pan Pizza restaurant on the Leisure complex - literally 2 minutes walk from the campsite, so that was another good bonus.

So, all in all if you're after a decent campsite not far out of London to do the 'sightseeing thing' we would definitely recommend this one as a great option.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BeTheDifference
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank KarKie2711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cindouille51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VisitLeeValley, Manager at Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Travelodge London Edmonton
#563 of 1,075 in London
283 reviews
RestUp London
#477 of 908 in London
531 reviews
Notting Hill
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
Gallery Hyde Park Hostel
#530 of 908 in London
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queen Elizabeth Chelsea
#295 of 908 in London
166 reviews
Via Lewisham
#419 of 908 in London
34 reviews
Greenwich
St Christopher's Inn Greenwich
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton

Address: Meridian Way | Edmonton, London N9 0AR, England (Formerly Lee Valley Leisure Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 908 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $30 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful site that puts you in equally easy reach of both central London and the many attractions of Lee Valley Regional Park… Oxford Street, Buckingham Palace, the London Eye - from Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park you can be taking in all the iconic sights of London in less than an hour.Or you can be deep into the 1,000 acre River Lee Country Park or Epping Forest in a matter of minutes. There are also horse riding and ice centre nearby. The overall complex includes an 18-hole golf course, Odeon cinema and an athletics centre – in other words, you won’t be stuck for things to do!You’ll also find the site has excellent facilities, such as heated toilet blocks, free showers, a shop where you can buy travel cards and a fun adventure playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Lee Valley Camping and Caravan Park, Edmonton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee Valley Leisure Centre Camping And Caravan Park
Lee Valley Leisure Centre Camping & Caravan Park Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing