We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, fantastic service, unbeatable location”
Review of The Bloomsbury

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Bloomsbury
Ranked #54 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, fantastic service, unbeatable location”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights during a recent trip to London for our anniversary. We stayed here based on the reviews and were not disappointed. The hotel is lovely, the service is impeccable, and the location is hard to beat. One perk is that the hotel is within easy walking distance to everything in the West End, yet is whisper quiet at night. There was no noise whatsoever. Fantastic! I also love a hotel that has some character and style. The Bloomsbury is a throwback to another era, one that predates all of the corporate hotel chains that predominate today. It felt refined yet homey.

We had a deluxe room, which was still on the small side, but perfectly fine for our needs. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the nightly turndown service was a nice touch. (A robe and slippers were also included.) The room featured lots of small touches and little amenities that made it more pleasant. These included a full-sized iron and ironing board, a decent-sized in-room safe (my 15" laptop did not fit), a large closet, an iPod dock with speakers, and so on. The room featured a small desk and an armchair. The lighting system was terrific, as you could control most elements of it from the bed. There was a flat screen TV that we did not use. Two bottles of water were provided daily. Dry cleaning service was available, another nice touch, although we did not use it.

The bath was particularly nice, with white marble everywhere, a full-sized tub, and nice soaps and lotions.

Cleaning service was provided daily with no problems. My wife used the workout room, which she described as small but perfectly adequate for this type of setup. The breakfast buffet was not included in the price of the room, so we skipped it. This seems like something that should come included in the price of a "deluxe" room, but it wasn't a big deal.

My lone complaint is that the internet service, while free, was very slow and often somewhat useless. I wish European hotels would figure out that in this day and age, working high-speed internet is essential, not a bonus. At these prices, I expect to have working, high-speed internet. I'm willing to pay extra, even, but this is really something this and other hotels should look into. It's akin to not having hot water or plumbing that functions. That's a minor complaint, however, and overall our stay was incredibly pleasant. Thanks to the Bloomsbury staff for making our trip to London memorable! We will return for sure.

Room Tip: Our room was in the rear of the hotel and was dead silent at night with no street noise. Recommended...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Passim123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 22 June 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review following your recent stay here. We are delighted to have made your anniversary weekend so special and so pleased that you enjoyed every aspect of the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,212
    742
    169
    45
    16
See reviews for
432
1,555
165
555
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

I spent 2 nights in this hotel, whch is located in a silent street just a few steps away from Tottenham cour road, and 5 minutes away from Covent Garden and the British Museum. The hotel was newly renovated and it shows; the lobby is gorgeous and staff kind and helpful. Rooms are nicely furbished, in a modern and sober taste, with more than sufficient storage room (which is not so common!). Bath was not huge but perfect, room was decently sized (mine was number 610) and pretty silent - fantastic bedding and free wifi, which is a plus.
I also enjoyed the breakfast, quick and efficient, with a smiling staff and great toast (all warm food/drinks on request). Good value for money and lovely atmosphere in a pretty convenient spot in London - strongly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 20 June 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review after you recent visit to the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel to be so well located and the rooms nicely furnished. I have passed on your comments to the staff and we all look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2012

We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate our 10th anniversary! The staff in the hotel were outstanding, the door staff greeted us from our taxi carried our bags for us and were very helpful through out our stay, Our room was spacious and very comfortable, the breakfast was lovely and had alot of choice, we will definitely be staying here again and would recommended to family and friends, thank you to all the staff at the hotel for making our weekend so enjoyable!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. I am delighted that we were able to make your anniversary weekend so special and that the staff were outstanding. We look fowrard to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent,England
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I won a stay in this fab hotel last year and I realised the week before it expired and yet the hotel very kindly extended the voucher.
When you walk in you are greeted by beautiful lobby area, candles burning, lovely sofas.
The receptionist was very welcoming and helpful,
The room was beautiful, very modern , clean and beautifully appointed. Lovely bathroom with walk in shower and a bath tub.
We had drinks in the bar downstairs where they make a mean cocktail !,,
Breakfast in the morning was absolutely delicious
I have travelled extensively with my job, staying in hotels at least 4x per month so I have a very high bench Mark and I can honestly say I would recommend this hotel to anyone because the standard was so high.
I am going on a girly weekend to Dublin soon and I have booked The Westbury because it's the Doyle Collection company who own the Bloomsbury. I am hoping it is going to be just as fabulous !!!!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakeyloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review of the hotel and we are delighted that you had such a positive experience with us here at the hotel. It is always fabulous hear when we met and exceed guest expectations and I am sure that you will have an amazing time in Dublin at our sister hotel The Westbury. We all look forward to welcoming you back next time you come to London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fowey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights for our 15th Wedding anniversary!
The staff on the door are fantastic... Whenever we needed a taxi they would run up the road and not come back without one!
Our room was a good size and bed extremely comfortable. Bathroom was awful... Every time we had a shower water went everywhere! Curtains around shower were useless! Also bedroom so hot... Window wouldn't open enough.
Also had a wakeup call at 8.30am on last morning??? Not requested by us! I think they wanted us to check out promptly!
Good location....

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Thank you for writing such an honest review of your recent stay. I am so sorry that you were woken up on your final morning and please rest assured that it is definitely not the case that we want our guests to depart promptly! I was however delighted that you found the Concierge team to be so fantastic and the room so comfortable. Again please accept my apologises for the water in the bathroom and I would like to confirm that we do act on all comments made and are putting in additional seals to try and prevent this in the future. I look forward to welcoming you back next you are in London and hopefully showing you that we have addressed all the issues you raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Good 4 star hotel within 10 min walk of all restaurants (famous ones are The Ivy and J Sheekey) and theatres around Covent Garden area. Only 100 yards from Tottenham Court Road Tube Station and 10 mins walk from Leicester Square tube station. Very professional experienced staff and smart modern room.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RMT-Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the rooms and for posting such a positive review on the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Stayed here for two nights on a room only basis for the queens jubilee and my partners birthday. I had emailed the hotel ahead to inform them in was his birthday and had an email straight back from Michelle that they had added complimentary continental breakfast to our booking for both days!! On arrival was greeted by the concierge who were very welcoming, after a bit of confusion about payment at the reception we was shown to our room, big enough with beautiful decor and a very comfy bed!! The breakfast was buffet style with more than enough choice to satisfy everyone's needs. On the morning of my partners birthday we was greeted with a champagne breakfast complimentary of the hotel which should of cost £31 each!! This was beautiful and a wonderful gesture from them. The cleaners came to your room twice a day and changed towels both times if requested which was a lovely touch, nice to come back to the room with the curtains drawn and the dressing gowns on the bed ready for us!! Would definitely stay again and would recommend to everyone thinking of staying here!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hcherry86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beccy G, Management at The Bloomsbury, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
Thank you for posting such a lovely review on the hotel and we are delighted that we could make your partner's birthday so special. It is always fabulous to hear when we meet the expectations of your guests and we all look forward to welcoming you back next time you are in London.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#66 of 1,067 in London
1,497 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,067 in London
2,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Radisson Blu Edwardian Bloomsbury Street
Marylebone
The Marylebone
The Marylebone
#59 of 1,067 in London
3,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bloomsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bloomsbury

Property: The Bloomsbury
Address: 16 - 22 Great Russell Street, London WC1B 3NN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in London
#39 Family Hotel in London
#41 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Business Hotel in London
#53 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bloomsbury 4*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bloomsbury provides tradition through the design of revered architect Sir Edwin Lutyens, and is nestled in the heart of bustling Bloomsbury, itself steeped in literary and architectural history. The hotel is moments from London highlights The British Museum, Oxford Street, Theatreland, Soho and Covent Garden. The 153 contemporary guest rooms and suites are bright, spacious and located over 8 floors overlooking the neighbouring streets and rooftops or onto the quiet central courtyard. Our generous corner suites offer residential style living spaces and are equipped with every convenience for the perfect stay including Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi, marble ensuite bathrooms with Victorian roll top baths and heated floors, flat-screen TVs and luxurious Aromatherapy Associates bathroom products. Bloomsbury Club Bar & Dining Room offers delicious, locally sourced cuisine. Relax with a drink on Dalloway Terrace or savour the quintessential Bloomsbury Afternoon Tea in Dalloway lounge and feel a brief respite from the pulse of 21st century London just outside the door. Dalloway Terrace Breakfast: 7am-10.30am Monday-Friday Breakfast: 7am-11.00am Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu: 10.30am-10.30pm Monday-Friday Brunch 11.00am-4.00pm Saturday-Sunday All Day Dining Menu 4pm-10.30pm Saturday-Sunday ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Bloomsbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bloomsbury Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing