We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sad but not tragic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Trafalgar Hotel
Ranked #354 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Sad but not tragic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This hotel is trying to be cool but it just can't pull it off. The decor doesn't quite make it and is still. Soul-less chain. The service was embarrassing at times, especially in the lobby restaurant. The roof top bar is staffed with young male that have no idea how to cater to tourists. The linens in the hotel are old and worn out. We used points to stay for free but paid Slight charge to upgrade...Probably worth it. Doubt I'd come back. The area is kind of gross (like Time Sq in NYC.)

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billyphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,121
    858
    392
    143
    87
See reviews for
505
1,085
152
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We had the BEST experience at this hotel. It was our 35th Anniversary and they went out of their way with rose petals, chocolate strawberries and all kinds of special touches ready for us in our lovely, large room with great amenities. Daniela at the front desk is amazing, fun, sweet and attentive to every detail. The location is right on Trafalgar Square, so it was a quick walk to Buckingham Palace, The Parliament Bldgs, Westminster Cathedral, and the British Museum. The breakfast on the weekend was also quite elegant and delicious, everything you could want. On our last night there we tried their roof top bar/restaurant that had eye popping views and a wonderful ambiance to enjoy. This really is the place to visit on your next trip to London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much!
Glad to learn that our teams made your 35th Wedding Anniversary celebration special.
We work effortlessly to have every single guest who chooses to stay with us as satisfied as possible, and give us great pleasure to make special occasion even more special. Your compliments have been forwarded to our teams. Once again, thank you!
Hope to see back at the hotel in the near future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed at the Trafalgar for a night when we were planning to see Les Miserables, a great location for the West End.

The lobby and all common areas are ultra-modern and very funky, I was really impressed upon arrival. The Czech girl who checked us in was so bright, fun and friendly it was an absolute pleasure to arrive.

The rooms are massive, and a good mix of classic old style 5 star hotel with a modern twist. Ours had a great view directly over Trafalgar Square, which was great.

Didn't use the bar, but it was large and looked very cool, and I had wanted to try one of their speciality cocktails, but ran out of time. Didn't try breakfast as needed the sleep in the next day!

Was really just a place to sleep, but seemed like a fantastic hotel and I'd certainly stay here next time I needed to be in the West End.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at The Trafalgar Hotel with Trip Advisor readers.

Your comments are greatly appreciated, we thrive to deliver a great experience to all our guests, and I am glad that from the moment you check in at the hotel our teams made you feel welcome, and that you greatly enjoy the time spend with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foster City, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

What a fantastic find for a central London hotel! The location simply can not be beat. You literally walk to every major attraction in London and the train station options are many (as are the taxis if needed). While not as large as many hotels, the little luxuries abound inside the hotel and the rooms are large and luxurious (as are the beds). Unlike many UK hotels, this one works great for Americans used to larger spaces, nice toiletries, and extra clean facilities - everywhere. The breakfast buffet was delicious (included in our rate) and the staff were extremely helpful in every way. At night you can walk around safely or take in the beautifully lit Trafalgar Square across the road. Just a wonderful stay for our week's base in London and can not recommend highly enough. The only point I'd make is that there two elevators have been outfitted with disco lights and music, a little strange but well worth a smile (no matter how tired you are from sightseeing)! Book here and you won't be sorry!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you! I am delighted to learn about your stay with us.
Our location is definitely a plus, and I am glad that you enjoyed the atmosphere at the hotel, and also our rooms.
Looking forward to having you back at the hotel in the near future!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We visited London for a birthday trip to the theatre. The ajoining rooms were ready when we arrived (early) and we were offered an upgrade which was also great.

The location of this hotel is amazing, right out the from door into Trafalgar square. the rooms are very large and modern. It was my daughters birthday and when we arrived back at the room after dinner there was a baloon and chocolates in the room as a suprise for her. The check in team were friendly and efficient, the breakfast (included) was also very good. but verypricy if you had to pay.

Room Tip: We had great interconnecting rooms requested in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

I highly recommend this hotel for its staff and location. We had a great stay and the staff just went above and beyond to welcome and pamper us during our time in London. I was highly impressed, which is a lot considering how picky I am. From Carlo, one of the bellman, to the concierge, to the several front desk and restaurant employees I dealt with, they were just absolutely charming. Wonderful service overall and a sure way to get me back. Location is a plus as you can do a lot by just walking, in addition to easy access to 2 metro lines within walking distance. I found the area to be really safe and we were out until late at night, dining at covent garden or the Picadilly area. We walked back to the hotel without a problem. Also, as a bit of hotel info we were upgraded to a street facing room but never heard any outside noise. We enjoyed breakfast at the hotel every single day and we weren't disappointed. We loved London but I'm certain a lot of it resides on how much we loved this hotel and the service their staff provided us.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to a street facing room but heard no outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trvlrOrlando_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

The Trafalgar Hotel, part of the Hilton family, is a contemporary designed hotel directly across from Trafalgar Sq. It is within walking distance of most of the the theaters showing the most popular plays and musicals in London (but not for someone with walking difficulties). The exterior has the typical neo-classical London appearance, but the interior is all flashy and modern. There is a bar at the entrance that seemed to have every hip young person in London drinking at it when we arrived. All of the people and loud music made for a rather chaotic check in experience. Thankfully the room was quiet. The room had a dais at one end, where there was a lounge chair and TV. Like most London hotels, there was no closet or dresser for clothing, but instead a wardrobe, that didn't quite equal the space I am used to in the US. The bathroom was well fit out, with a large shower, but unfortunately was very noisy in the bedroom when the toilet was flushed or water run. All the plumbing was in the wall next to the bed.

The cost was reasonable compared to other hotels in the area because Hilton was offering a discount when I booked the room.

There was a bar on the roof that gave a beautiful view of London. It was a bit chilly so they had heaters going. The bar bill was extremely high for 2 drinks and crisps ($60-70). You are paying for the ambiance. There were no other people above 50 years old who we saw in this hotel during the 5 days we were there. It aims to appeal to a young, wealthy demographic

There are lots of breakfast option just around the corner from the hotel

Room Tip: I would guess that you want to put a floor between your room and the bars (2-4 floors). The bars ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceckert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarliSadzinski, Guest Relations Manager at The Trafalgar Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2012
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at The Trafalgar with Trip Advisors readers.

I am pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us, and that you found our location in the West End a plus, within short walking distance to the theatres and main attractions.

We will be delighted to have back sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
The Grand at Trafalgar Square
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Thistle Trafalgar Square, The Royal Trafalgar
Westminster
Club Quarters Hotel, Trafalgar Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
The Z Hotel Piccadilly
#177 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Soho
Radisson Blu Edwardian Hampshire Hotel
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
every hotel Piccadilly
every hotel Piccadilly
#88 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trafalgar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trafalgar Hotel

Property: The Trafalgar Hotel
Address: 2 Spring Gardens | Trafalgar Square, London SW1A 2TS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > St. James's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Family Hotel in London
#236 Business Hotel in London
#251 Luxury Hotel in London
#271 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Trafalgar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trafalgar is located on the world-famous Trafalgar Square, many of London's star attractions within walking distance, such as the London Eye, Big Ben and Theatreland. Modern and boutique, the hotel facilities include Vista Rooftop Bar, Rockwell Bar & Restaurant renowned for serving innovative cocktails with international cuisine. Vista Bar offers breathtaking views of the ever changing London skyline. There are 129 rooms, many with superb views of the square, all featuring DVD players, high-speed internet and aromatherapy toiletries. Guests also enjoy complimentary access to Vista rooftop bar (weather permitting). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Trafalgar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trafalgar Hotel London
Hilton International London
The Trafalgar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing