We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience.”
Review of Alhambra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alhambra Hotel
Ranked #251 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Lyon, France
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good experience.”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions. Every time we are impressed by the clean bright rooms, not very large, but manageable. The staff are pleasant, the breakfast excellent and sets you up for the day. Finally, this hotel is so close to St. Pancras and Kings Cross stations that catching an early train does not present any difficulty. We would not consider going anywhere else.

Room Tip: All the rooms look as if they have just been newly furnished and decorated, tv and tea and coffee su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anciens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,000 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    906
    232
    58
    27
See reviews for
490
705
226
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed here in a triple room with family in May '11. Nice cosy place. Excellent breakfast. Location great. Close to tube station and St. Pancras. Very convenient for all travellers intending to catch the Eurostar to Paris. Room size decent considering European standards. Only drawback - No elevator, you have to lug your own baggage upstairs through a really narrow and steep staircase.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prodasg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A friendly, family run hotel ideally situated for Kings Cross etc. Makes a change from the vast, impersonal establishments elsewhere in London.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Great location. Warm and welcoming. Friendly ,helpful staff. Very clean and comfortable rooms, maybe on the small side for some but perfectly adequate even for longer stays.Last but not least a very good breakfast to send you on your way. Would not hesitate to recommend this hotel as price is also good for such a central location. Hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val9188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Pros of this hotel:
- very near to ST Pancras Intl station if you want to catch the eurostar to Paris.
- very near to the Kings Cross subway station. This station is also an interchange which makes it easy to get to different places.
- cleanest looking hotel along argyle street.
- hotel is very clean
- good breakfast
- friendly staff
- amenities around it: 24 hrs mart, BK, MCD, other restaurants

Cons:
- rooms are very small... Can be claustrophobic. And I am only med build.
- if you are staying on a higher floor, it's quite a bit of lugging your luggage up rather narrow staircase. Passages are narrow too.

Overall, I would come back again if using the eurostar is part of my travel plans.

Rooms near the shower and toilet may be noisy. 27 is a good choice - between toilet and shower.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vthc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braunschweig, Niedersachsen, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

It was my 2nd stay at Kings Cross but a new and much better hotel!! The staff was very friendly and helpful. We felt welcome. We had a twin room with bathroom facilities ensuite. The size of the room was ok for us (we knew that the rooms in London are smaller than usual), because it is for resting and seeping only. It was very clean. We had a wardrobe, a small cupboard next to the bed, TV, free W Lan, 2 mirrors and a cupboard with a water kettle, cupps, tea and coffee. That was perfect! The bathroom was very clean, with a big window, shower, washbasin and toilet. We got one towel each. If we would have liked, we could have it changed every day. The room was cleaned every day. The hotel was quiet, the windows really good to keep the noise off. But you are in a big city and so there is some noise, like ambulances. But it doesn't matter. The breakfast was good and much. We had the choice between continental and English breakfast. Good coffee! The reception was opened 24 hours. We could ask a lot and you can buy postcards there and get bus and underground maps for free. If you like the staff organizes a taxi shuttle to stations and airports. When we arrived the staff helped us to get the suitcases in the 2nd floor!!There was also a PC to go in the Internet for free. The location of the hotel is excellent. 2 minutes or 30 metres to Kings Cross/St Pancras Station. You can get everywhere rom there by bus, train or tube. In the sourrounding area, there are several shops, cafes and restaurants. In Argyle Street theres a nice pub too. I would go there again and again!!!!

Room Tip: We were ath the 2nd floor and that was perfect. It was on the steet side, so you can hear some noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

Very friendly staff, clean, confortable but small room, very well situated close to King's Cross-St.Pancras, good breakfast, a good value, we will be back !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#257 of 1,069 in London
1,750 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#393 of 1,069 in London
1,915 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#132 of 1,069 in London
2,451 reviews
Bloomsbury
Premier Inn London St Pancras Hotel
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross St Pancras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alhambra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alhambra Hotel

Property: Alhambra Hotel
Address: 17-19 Argyle Street | Kings Cross, London WC1H 8EJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #251 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alhambra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity.ca, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alhambra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing