We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fielding Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Fielding Hotel
Ranked #160 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2012

The hotel has very small, yet incredibly nice rooms. The staff is very nice as well. It is a 5 minute walk to Covent Garden and there are lots of good restaurants nearby. Since the place is very small, there is no breakfast, but that's not the end of the world if you're a smart traveller.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardomello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    236
    46
    18
    17
See reviews for
97
256
94
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We recently stayed for 3 nights. It was just what you want...the staff were friendly and well informed of what was going on in the area and the room was lovely! Nice big bed, flat screen TV plus an extra area with a desk so lots of space. Bathroom was clean and well equipped. The hotel is in such a great area you can go out of the door and walk in any direction and find something great. Much nicer and more personal than a soul-less chain hotel - we'd definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tabor, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I was dissapointed by the hotel staff. They confirmed me reservation for 160 pounds per night, but in the end of our stay we have been charged for 208 pounds per night, without any explanation. We were hurry to chatch our plane, so I have paid the bill. Later I tried contact the hotel staff by email and ask them for explanation, but without any response. Our overall positive impression of the hotel has been spoiled by this issue.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

The position of this hotel is excellent and whether this means you can overlook their overall shortcomings is debatable.
Yes for central London the price is good, but the rooms are not great and the shortcomings suggest it is overpriced.
I wonder looking at other reviews whether I stayed at the same hotel!!!
My stay was blighted from the first moment entering the room, as upon my bedside table was a half drunk bottle of Coke!!
Then on entering the shower cibicle I find half empty/used shampoo bottles in their! Not acceptable. I reported this at reception and they suggested they would take note, but nothing else.
After this introduction to the room you start to pick fault. The room I had was not big, in fact it was cramped. The decor was tacky, and badly finished and furniture tatty. The electrics looked old with surface wires etc.
The bathroom was shabby also.
the bedding was old and not what i would expect in a hotel such as this, sheets and blankets!
So whilst the position is perfect and it looks nioce from the outside, the overall experience left me very dissapointed indeed.
It is a shame such hotels can charge such a premium for sush a poor room that would cost a fraction of this price in the provences.

Room Tip: Find out if there are different levels of refurbished rooms, I think only part of the Hotel must be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank pjrsaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Since my review is late posting (disregard the date of visit), I should not speak regarding the decor since it seems they've had some renovations since. For my visit I was "upgraded" to the top floor but I think it was an on the spot decision seeing that I was an able bodied person to hoof it up and down the narrow stairs.

This was a leave your key at reception type of place and there was no coming or going without their watchful eye. The assistance with things to do was always available and they even let me down to the basement to use their iron.

The area, as you already know, is very central. Key for me included the nearby Metro stop.

If they have indeed renovated the rooms, I would consider giving them another look.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamachi_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
132 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

For the location and the degree of comfort offered, the price can't be beaten. The lack of breakfast isn't really a concern (unless you're used to being served in bed, maybe) as there are a plethora (!) of places within a couple of hundred yards (traditional English at the friendly Wings cafe on Drury Lane or Patisserie Valerie on Long Acre, not to mention all the Cafe Neros and St*****ks) . Arriving by taxi will require you to walk only 70 or so yards with your luggage from Bow Street.
The staff is friendly and helpful. I had a single room (Room 1) on the ground floor. If mobility is a problem for you and as the Hotel has no lift and fairly narrow stairs, you would be wise to specify upon booking that you want a single or double on the ground floor (there are no triples here I was advised). The room is tastefully decorated, with the usual flatscreen tv, desk, coffee making facilities, lovely soft carpet (which you notice when you're not used to it...), heavy curtains...
If I had one (small) gripe (about this room) it would be the bed, which is fitted exactly into the space between the external wall and the wall behind the bathroom. As I am 6'2" (186cm), my feet and head were flush up against the walls: not really a problem as I don't always sleep fully extended, but you can't help being reminded of it occasionally during the night.. Anyone 2" shorter probably wouldn't notice it.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel. Great for theatre, opera, shopping, restaurants. And finally, as it's located on a pedestrian street, it's very quiet (for London).

Room Tip: Specify ground floor room to avoid heaving heavy cases up/down stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anglital
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

The location of this hotel is perfect on a residential street in Covent Garden, ideal for exploring London. The hotel does not offer a bar or breakfast but with so many options seconds from the front door, this not an issue.
I stayed in room 42 in the basement and opening the door was a lovely surprise, well decorated room with a deep bath. Then in the bathroom a fabulous monsoon shower.
Friends were in twin rooms on other floors, not quite as fabulous as my room, they were however well presented and clean.
Reception were friendly and I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a central location in London.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Covent Garden
The Hospital Club
The Hospital Club
#199 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Covent Garden
Radisson Blu Edwardian Mercer Street Hotel
Covent Garden
Kingsway Hall Hotel
Kingsway Hall Hotel
#236 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
St Martins Lane London Hotel
Covent Garden
One Aldwych
One Aldwych
#38 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#13 of 1,087 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fielding Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fielding Hotel

Property: The Fielding Hotel
Address: 4 Broad Court | Bow Street, London WC2B 5QZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Covent Garden
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#138 Romantic Hotel in London
#144 Business Hotel in London
#163 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fielding Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your The Fielding Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fielding Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing