We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but a family room?????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
Ranked #133 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Very good for location, right next to the London Eye, Westminster and Threatre land. Checked in byt the DIY machine, given out keys, up to second floor we went. Not good, I travelled with my 3 children and we had a very small window, two beds and over looked the Neds Noodle bar, back down to check in again and sent to another room on the 5th floor, only to find a double and 2 single's that looked like coffins, back down again, sent this time to the 4th floor, another room with 2 beds, but better larger window, bigger room, with 3 children it was needed. Reception this time phoned the room to ask if it was ok, which was a nice touch. I did explain that I had to phone the hotel twice after I booked to tell them I was and adult travelling with A 13, 7 + 4 year old on my own, and could we have a family room, I don't however class two king size beds as family, my 13 and 7 year old didn't like the idea of sharing, but the 2 singles did look like small white coffins. Bathroom door very heavy and my 4 year old found it hard to open, had to prop it open with a chair, which then left us with only 1 chair in the room, not good for 4 people. Breakfast was ok, but manic, as soon as 10.30am came, it was being tidied away around you, one minute you are toasting some bread the next it was gone. Staff very friendly, however did find the DIY checkin very impersonnal. Could do better to describe family rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking Jubliee Gardens are lovely.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kneesey1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,392)
There are newer reviews for Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,784 - 5,790 of 7,392 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2011

The hotel is nice, comfortable and clean. The restaurant let's the hotel down. The service was very slow, we were seated on a table for 6 when there was only 2 of us. The food we ordered from the menu was not available. When the food arrived we asked for condiments which took ages to arrive and some were missing. Second drinks order never arrived. Waited ages for a dessert menu. Eventually left to pay and was told that there were a queue of 12 in front of us. We asked for the drinks to be taken of the bill and were told they were ready! Well we didnt see them...
We are here for another 3 days but will not be going back to the restaurant. Disappointing as the hotel overall is very good.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenfabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights. Location is good (for South bank), near to the tube & quiet at night.
Our room was clean and tidy although very hot and not air conditioned so we had to try and open the windows which had been painted over! The bathroom was not good, it smelt badly of urine. Luckily we didn't have to spend much time in our room. Breakfast was manic & we had to ask for plates, trays, cups, cutlery blah blah blah then had to wait for food, after dishing up your breakfast you get to the egss and there were none! So frustrating. The coffee machine was out of milk & then out of coffee beans. And to top it off the attitude of the staff was terrible!
When we checked out we were asked if we enjoyed our stay - when I started to explain why we hadn't the chap clearly switched off and was not interested, pointless him asking!!! Nothing was premier about this hotel and certainly not the price!! Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suzywooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Our room was on floor five: a sloping high ceiling, but wonderfully cool in the hot, hot heat of London. Very quiet, despite being in Westminster. Superb supportive beds. Excellent value and quality breakfasts. Staff very helpful, especially Anastasia. It was a breeze to get a taxi for our excursions, but tube access is excellent. Make note: study the map!! A short walk to Waterloo bridge and you are in the heart of theatre land. It really does pay to look at that map. Very handy for the London Duck which we loved. Compared to the Mayfair Holiday Inn where we also have stayed: this is the same quality of accommodation for a fraction of the cost.

Room Tip: Buy the breakfast in advance. It is worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Perfect location for central London, staff who can't do enough for you. Dinner is a little chaotic - but Ned's noodles and italian restaurant Locale across the road are perfect for families. Large rooms too for the area.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2011

If you want to be central to everything in London this is the place to stay.Just walk out of the door onto the banks of the Thames and see a spectacular view of the London skyline,London Eye,Big Ben and Houses of Parliament, within walking distance of most things including alot of theatres.A few minutes walk from 2 tube stations to access everything else.Cafes,restaurants and a few shops close by.Hotel restaurant is fine if you dont want to go out,prices in restaurant and bar very reasonable for central London.Staff friendly and helpful.Check in only disappointment as our room wasnt ready for well over an hour and we had a boat trip booked so had to leave our bags and go before we could check in.They said that family rooms take longer to get ready,if you are travelling with children you dont want to be siiting in recetion for a hour with them bored hungry and thirsty after a long trip.Suggestion to Premier Inn, if rooms arent ready offer staight away to put bags in left luggage and ring guests when room is ready or offer them a drink in bar.We had to keep checking if our room was ready via electronic check in!!Overall however couldnt ask for better place to explore London from.

Room Tip: take your own soap and shampoo theirs is rubbish
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill187064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2011

We needed a nice convenient hotel for me, my wife, and two young daughters for two nights after a week in Barcelona. London hotels are very expensive so I checked TripAdvisor and found this hotel which seemed reasonable. There are many reviews so I won't repeat them, other to say that even though the check in is automated, the personal touch and service is there. Everyone was friendly and accessible. My daughter was suffering from traveler's stomach bug from something she ate in Barcelona so Alex the restaurant manager (a tireless worker) fixed her some plain rice for me to take to the room. The hotel is clean and quiet and there was enough room with the two beds for the girls. Nice shower with lots of water pressure. The breakfast is really great and is a good deal, don't miss it. Love the expresso machine. Only negative was false fire alarms two days in a row, and a scheduled fire drill that occurred an hour after the second false alarm, well, better safe than sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
London Marriott Hotel County Hall
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel

Address: Belvedere Road | County Hall, London SE1 7PB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#72 Family Hotel in London
#86 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Business Hotel in London
Price Range: $169 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just minutes away from the London Eye, in sight of some of London's most famous landmarks and in the same building as the Shrek Adventure, Premier Inn London County Hall puts you at the heart of the city. - From this central spot, located in the historic County Hall building, you'll be able to see all sides of the capital. And most importantly, no matter what you discover during the day, our spacious rooms and extra-cosy beds will make sure you get a great night's sleep. Directions: Situated in the historic County Hall building, next to the London Eye, opposite the Houses of Parliament. Walking distance from West End and Theatreland. Please note this hotel does not have an onsite car park. However, we do have a partnership with Valet Inspired Parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London County Hall Hotel London
Premier Inn County Hall
County Hall London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing