We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Belgrave(London)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$101
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$161
US$148
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Book now, pay at stay
US$210
US$175
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rhodes Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$95/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$128/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$289
US$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
The Nadler Kensington(London)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$126/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$208
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$433
US$267
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,847)
Filter reviews
2,847 results
Traveller rating
326
1,098
904
333
186
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
326
1,098
904
333
186
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrussell squareimperial hotelsbritish museumjacques wine bareuston stationfull english breakfastrooms are basicbudget hotelkings crossbuffet stylecovent gardenbreakfast staffsister hotelexcellent locationtea and coffeest pancrascentral london
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 2,847 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2018

Tavistock was a very nice hotel for a first timer, lovely outside view, good clean bedrooms, nice breakfast, although, i would have liked a smile from the waiters now and then, they all looked miserable. The bathtub was a really a nice surprise for me, the bath filled up in a matter of minutes which allowed me to have a nice relaxing bathtime. They also have free wi-fi. One thing I recommend though is to try and get a room away from the kitchen, we were placed above it and all night we use to smell Indian food.

Room Tip: Do not get a room above the kitchen if you don't like the smell of Indian food.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Christakis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments regarding your stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, found your room comfortable, our free Wi-Fi server adequate and you appreciated the view from your room. Equally, we are sorry to hear that our breakfast team came across as dismissive, we will be providing extra training for all staff concerned to ensure our standards are maintained.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to our Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

We stayed for 4 nights when we had only booked for 2 Because of travel disruption we decided that it was more convenient to stay the two more nights where we were because we liked the hotel and it was convenient to do the extras from this base
We were advised to book on line even though we were in the hotel !,
I would certainly come to this hotel again as everything was totally unpretentious and that includes the staff.

Room Tip: The higher the room the less noise from traffic
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 9ray9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments regarding your stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your stay and you appreciated our central location, in the heart of Bloomsbury.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for one night. Nice clean room, it was quite warm and we couldn’t find anywhere to turn heating down, once windows opened it was bearable. Breakfast nice, very friendly staff. Great central location. Will definitely return.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank nicola c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English breakfast, our staff were extra courteous and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. We are also delighted that you appreciated our great central location, located in the heart of Bloomsbury. Equally, our housekeeping office is open from 7am to 9pm and would have been able to assist with adjusting the thermostat in the room, so we apologise if you were unaware of this at the time.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 9, 2018

We stayed at the Tavistock as part of a package deal and this was our fifth time there. The location is perfect as you are within walking distance of several underground lines,the British museum and other sights as well as lots of places to eat. We know that the Tavistock is a no frills hotel and the rooms feel rather small and cramped (perhaps because we are now used to staying in more upmarket hotels) but the room was warm and the shower was powerful and hot and we asked for a rubber mat for the bath and it was provided straight away. The continental breakfast is not great but adequate and the breakfast room was not warm enough but it was exceptionally cold weather. The staff are helpful and wifi is now available in all rooms. The instructions to access the wifi didn't work but the IT support available by phone sorted out any problems. Gavin and Mark at the porters desk were particularly helpful getting a staple out of my shoe which required some effort and a variety of tools. That was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor away from the bowling alley
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mandmto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for sharing your kind comments on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are pleased to note that overall you enjoyed your stay, found our shower pressure powerful and you appreciated the complimentary Wi-Fi in the room. We will be sure to pass your kind comments regarding our IT Department and especially our concierge staff, onto our team. Our hotel is often praised for its central location, located in the heart of Bloomsbury, a five minute walk to Russell Square Station and perfect for visiting many of London's tourist attractions.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

We arrived at 1, and were happy to receive an early checkin. The Tavistock is in a great location for exploring the city - easy walking distance from many wonderful places. Our room was spacious and well equipped, dated but very comfortable and spotless with excellent linens and towels. We were welcomed with such friendly smiles and greetings to an abundant breakfast - with both cold and hot items. We would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ImperialLondonHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Tavistock Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2018

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your glowing review on Trip Advisor regarding your stay at our Tavistock Hotel. We are so pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, our English and continental breakfast, found your room comfortable, spacious and well equipped and you appreciated the cleanliness of our rooms. Our hotel is often praised for its central location, so we are delighted you found ours great, within walking distance to many of London's wonderful tourist attractions. We will be sure to pass your kind comments regarding our extra attentive and courteous staff onto our team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our Tavistock Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Christianna Andrews
Guest Liaison Officer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews