We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Theatre trip Rob Brydon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Windermere Hotel
Ranked #108 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Searched the web for hotels in London having never stayed before. Recent reviews rated The Windermere worth visiting. We had a deluxe double room which was excellent, beautifully decorated, clean, lovely bathroom. Friendly, helpful staff, could not have wished for anything more. Location great only few minutes walk from Victoria station. A wonderful find and will be returning should another visit to London arise.

Room Tip: Deluxe double spacious ground floor room. Little road noise but would not have changed the room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJBarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

470 - 476 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2011

My sister and I spent 7 nights at the Windermere Hotel from August - September 2011. We had a fantastic experience! The hotel was lovely, and our room was comfortable. The complimentary breakfast was plentiful and delicious; it was a great way to start the day, and gave us an early start. The staff was pleasant and helpful; they made us feel very welcome, and had great suggestions regarding nearby shopping and attractions. The location of the hotel was amazing! We were close to all of the main attractions, and to the Tube station as well. I have recommended The Windermere Hotel to all of my friends and family--I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

Whenever i write one of these reviews it seems I always go on about customer service, the attitude of the staff the way they treat you, and the Windermere certainly comes out top on that score. From the owner Sylvia who checked us in early and gave us complementary tea and coffee after our journey to Phil who tried to find us a nearby Sunday market to the chef who made sure we had our very nice evening meal in time to get to the theatre, they couldn't have done anymore for us. We had a superior room on the ground floor with a good big bed a nice well stocked bathroom and everywhere was spotlessly clean. A 10 minute walk from Victoria station good access to theatre land near to some of London's top sights and shops. We wil be back

Room Tip: take an upgraded room a little more expensive but worth it and ask for the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank graeme_barton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Comfy, Friendly, Relaxing
The food is amazing, freshly cooked and very tasty. A must when being in London.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GM11121990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

I recently stayed in this hotel for a two night stay and chose it due to it's close proximity to the conference centre I was attending. It's location is ideal for a shopping or business break given that it is only a five minute walk from the Victoria train/ coach stations. The staff are also quite friendly and helpful. In addition my room was spotless and had all the usual facilities. The only negative point I can make is regarding the room I stayed in - it was absolutely tiny.... I cannot stress how small it is, quite unbelievable even given the fact that room sizes in London tend to be on the smaller size and the rooms here are not cheap. I stayed in room LG1 which is in the basement, looks onto a shed and is next to the restaurant. The only reason why I wouldn't recommend the hotel is the room size issue. I can only say that if you are ever booking a room here that you specify that you don't want this room.

Room Tip: Room LG1 is tiny, lit is in the basement, looks out to a shed and is next to the restaurant, would s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank serena047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2011

We chose the hotel because of its proximity to Victoria station. It is located in a quiet,safe, upscale residential area, but is only a short walk to the station as well as to traditional pubs and grocery stores. Hospitality is a hallmark of the hotel. All the staff were helpful but Philip stands at the top for his willingness to give advice, print off maps for sightseeing options, and ensure that the room and our stay were to our satisfaction. The hearty English breakfast includes eggs made to order. Room prices are reasonable by London standards. Some of the rooms and bathrooms are small and the stairs are narrow (there is a new lift). I recommend this hotel for its location, hospitality, and amenities.

Room Tip: I recommend choosing a larger room from among the various options. The small ones are tiny indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have been all over france and the Uk and this is a hotel that you want to stay in. Service, accommodations, friendliness are all top notch. Engage the front staff for tours and what to see. They are extremely friendly. Perfect location, close to buses and tube. Extremely safe location. Please take some time to have dinner at this hotel. Food is outstanding and freshly prepared.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BGShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#114 of 1,076 in London
2,107 reviews
Pimlico
Artist Residence London
Artist Residence London
#107 of 1,076 in London
239 reviews
Pimlico
Eccleston Square Hotel
Eccleston Square Hotel
#183 of 1,076 in London
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#182 of 1,076 in London
1,411 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#30 of 1,076 in London
985 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windermere Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windermere Hotel

Address: 142-144 Warwick Way | Victoria, London SW1V 4JE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#97 Luxury Hotel in London
#163 Romantic Hotel in London
#170 Business Hotel in London
#176 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $226 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windermere Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Windermere is an award-winning boutique hotel, of enormous charm and character, where the atmosphere is relaxed, the welcome is friendly and the service is personal. Located at the heart of one of the world's finest cities, in a small residential corner of this bustling city, we are just a stone's throw from some of London's main attractions including Buckingham Palace, Parliament, Harrods and the River Thames. We are only 7 minutes walk from Victoria Station. Our envious location, charming style and friendly hospitality, attracts guests the world over. The Windermere is a family run business, with two generations of the Hambi family currently running The Windermere, alongside a highly competent and friendly team. * Free high speed Wi-Fi. * Elevator. * Air-Conditioning. * Excellent complimentary breakfast. * Wonderful brasserie open for dinner (AA Dinner Award 2015). We look forward to welcoming you to "Your Home Away From Home". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Windermere Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windermere Hotel London
Hotel Windermere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing