We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Filthy And Loud” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Ranked #141 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Filthy And Loud”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

This was the least clean hostel we've stayed in during our travel. the entrance to the rooms smelled from puke, it was very loud during the night, and the toilets were never clean.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Swertyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    100
    85
    38
    24
See reviews for
9
26
98
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2011

not a bad hostel, we stayed in a private twin shared bathroom the room was great, had everything we needed and nice and clean. 3 of the 4 bathrooms were closed for an unknown reason and the one remaining left a little to be desired, also really annoying having to push the time saver button every 15 seconds when youre trying to wash your hair.

The bar downstairs was cool, good cheap meals and drinks but the staff were less than impressed to be serving us. The staff at reception were little help when we asked for advice on where to go and how to get there. Just a quick walk from the london bridge underground but really on the wrong side of the river for the main sights and nightlife.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiebackpacker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

I stayed here as I needed last minute accommodation in London that would not cost the earth and as I was travelling without the other half, I thought "What the Hell?"

It is an average hostel located on Borough High Street, which makes it convenient for Borough Market and London Bridge Station.

There were plenty amenities, however I would recommend that a mop and bucket is left in each bathroom so the next user can wash out their own shower if they wish, as there was a LOT of hair in the showers by the time I got to them at 8.00am which I had to remove with baby wipes before I could get in the (cold) shower.

The bar downstairs is open until 2am, which is handy if you fancy a nightcap before bed and if you are staying in room 21 as I was, I recommend you have a few drinks as it is not easy to sleep next to a main route into The City with the window open otherwise. In short, avoid room 21 if you can.

Certainly value for money and if desperation for accommodation forced me to stay again, I would.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank outonthelanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

My friend and I stayed at St Christopher's in a private room. The beds were comfortable & the building itself has great character, with a cool pub downstairs. Breakfast was included in the price, & they provided a good range of food. St Christopher's also has free hi speed wi-fi which is important to most people who are traveling. The down side was the showers & the atmosphere. Some staff were friendly, but there was a general coldness about the majority of them which made me feel uncomfortable.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2009

I stayed in the Orient Espresso for 4 weeks which I was really nervous about before I arrived. At first I was quite shocked at how basic the hostel was but it was cleaned every day and the rooms had fans and were nicely decorated. I met lots of people and never felt scared or unsafe as a sole female traveller staying in the mixed dorms. I didn't think the staff were too helpful but they can speak many languages which helps those from abroad. I found it hard to look nice while staying in the hostel as I was working every weekday - everything was tricky. It was better when i moved to the girls -only dormitory because it felt cleaner and lighter. I could get changed in my room rather than the shower and the rooms were on the top floor away from the traffic noise. It was very hot in the rooms as another reviewer wrote but it was fine. Overall it really could have been a hell of a lot worse for 100 quid a week!
If you are visiting London on a budget and you don't mind sharing a room with others then it is an absolute bargain. Remember your ear plugs (or get some free ones at the hostel) because then you won't wake up when others arrive at the room in the middle of the night!
If you are a couple - PLEASE don't sleep in the same bed - it just makes everyone feel uncomfortable!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimeemuirhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2009

I stayed at St. Christopher's for a weekend trip with a friend. It is definitely a budget hostel for those looking to enjoy London, meet people, and who aren't opposed to having to having some fun. We're college students so budget was the biggest factor in our choice, so for the prices in London, St. Christoper's isn't bad. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms and showers were also clean. The staff and service aren't especially efficient, but they will help you if there's something you need. The pub downstairs can get rowdy and loud, but the front desk supplies ear plugs. The location isn't incredible, but there are plenty of small, cheap places to grab a bite in the local area, and the hostel is right between two tube stops so getting anywhere is pretty easy. Lockers are provided, but you must bring your own lock. Computers with internet are available also. Breakfast is minimal but sufficient.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WhereisCasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

This was a great Hostel and good value. It was a lot of fun and a great location. I stayed there with a friend in a shared room. The rooms were very clean. The showers and bathrooms were clean. There were enough showers to accomadate everyone. The pub downstairs had a nice mix of guests as well as locals. The staff was as friendly as I expect a staff at a hostel to be. If you are young, want to experience London and meet a lot of great people, stay here.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Southwark
Ibis Styles London Southwark Rose
Southwark
Premier Inn London Southwark (Borough Market) Hotel
Southwark
St Christopher's Village London Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southwark
St Christopher's Oasis at the Orient
Southwark
Allstay Hop Art House
Allstay Hop Art House
#171 of 791 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge

Property: St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge
Address: Southwark 121 Borough High Street, London SE1 1NP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Southwark
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #141 of 791 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally an Inn for weary horse drawn coach travellers, this St Christopher's Inn offers a traditional taste of English life and easy access to the attractions of the South Bank. You can enjoy fish n' chips with a pint of ale at the pub downstairs and be at the Tate Modern 15-minutes later. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your St. Christopher's Inn Hostel - London Bridge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Christopher`s Inn - London Bridge Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing