We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible hostel - Stay away!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Astor Museum Hostel
Ranked #83 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Reviewed 6 March 2012

This hostel is the WORST place I have ever seen in London. Even if the price and location are good, trust me, it will ruin your trip to London!
The whole place is disgusting = very dirty and unsafe.
- The bed rooms are very, very small. Carpets are dirty and the room has a strange smell. Pillows and blankets have a yellow colour and were also smelling horrible (I doubt they have ever been washed). Under the beds are lockers for your bags, however you just have to lift the bed (very easy) to steal things.
- Reception doesn't care about anything. They spend their time smoking outside instead of looking after the guests.
- There is no proper separated bathroom. So be prepared to brush your teeths in the corridor and to queue for the two showers and toilets.

I stayed there 2 nights and in the daytime someone broke off my padlock from my locker. Again, reception staff didn't care about anything!

I highly recommend you to stay away from this hostel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Celine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Astor Museum Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

131 - 137 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Facilities included. blood and feces on the bedroom floor, no curtains, 1 socket for 6 people, holes in walls. No sink in toilet. Horrendous experience, I refused to stay in and did not get refunded. Disgusting!!

Room Tip: None in this hole.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

For a start, Staff haven't a clue about anything and are messy/walk around in bare feet all day. Numerous dirty plates surrounded the reception area, annoux building was a huge let down - not to mention the toilet which had no sink and a makeshift door for a wall, which I'm pretty convinced that someone was on the other side of it the whole time I was in there. Poor and very unprofessional service, felt unsafe in the room itself, unclean floors, staff need to wear shoes for once, and actually give a toss if customers CLEARLY illustrate that they are unhappy with the conditions. Give this one a wide birth guys, seriously!

Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
5  Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

rude and unhelpful staff
dirty reception
what looked like poo and blood stains on the 'floor' which was basically cardboard nailed to the ground
one toilet for 3 floors to share which didn't have a sink
toilet not secured, one of the walls was a door that was loosely bolted leaving a 6cm gap leading to outside were there was men sitting listening
staff were extremely argumentive when confronted with issues and refused to give money back
DO NOT GIVE THIS PLACE YOUR MONEY!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annonymous185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

First i want to point out that i have been to many hostels. This one in particular is one of the worsts. The 1st thing to mention is that there are rats. You may think that i am joking, but i am not. There are signs saying not to leave food in the floor inside the rooms, but that doesn"t make any difference. I stayed there for a week and i saw 2, but i listened to others at night. Besides this, the staff is really annoying: young people that think they own the place, they put bad commercial dance music all day, they even take out your ipod while u are listening, and i could keep on writing on the bad habits of these guys.
There is no free wifi which i think is mandatory in a hostel. The only good thing was the full kitchen and the location. but there are plenty of places to book, so read my words: PICK ANOTHER HOSTEL

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ezek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2012

This is one of the 'acceptable' hostels I have been to in London. Normally, they are really crowded and cramped. This place is no exception, but much better than many other hostels. There are only two-bunk beds (and no three-four bunks, as in many a London hostel), the staff is all foreign and are very friendly and interesting to talk to. Close to British Museum and walking distance to Oxford Street (& many more attractions). Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thunderstorm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

I've stayed in the Astor Museum Inn twice in the past few years and had an excellent experience both times. The building and rooms were clean and comfortable both stays. It's location right next the British Museum in the heart of london is great. You're never more than a short tube ride from the popular attractions and neighborhoods. And free breakfast is always nice.

The best thing about the Astor Museum is the friendly, helpful staff, and kitchen area/hangout room that encourages meeting other travelers. Everyone drinks and chats in the kitchen. Traveling solo I met a number of people going to the same clubs I was on a number of nights and were happy to go as a group. Being walking distance from Fabric is also a big plus.

I'd recommend it for its laid-back inviting atmosphere, excellent location, and good value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
Ruskin Bed & Breakfast
#601 of 1,072 in London
259 reviews
South Kensington
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
Astor Hyde Park Hostel
#38 of 897 in London
362 reviews
Soho
SoHostel
SoHostel
#27 of 897 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Travel Joy Hostels Chelsea
East End / East London
The Dictionary Hostel
The Dictionary Hostel
#30 of 897 in London
1,157 reviews
Astor Queensway Hostel
#109 of 897 in London
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor Museum Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor Museum Hostel

Address: 27 Montague Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1B 5BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 897 Speciality Lodging in London
Price Range: $33 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest low budget hotels in London, the Museum has been helping weary backpackers and travellers loosen up since 1977! The location of this hostel makes it one of the best value hostels in London central. Right in front of the British Museum guests can access Trafalgar Square, Covent Garden and Leicester Square in just 10 minutes. Definitely the best central London hostel.A cosy budget hostel split across two buildings near Russell Square, this low cost hotel doesn't feel much like it. With a recently renovated kitchen, new reception and revamped lounge. There are dozens of sights located so close to the hostel, and is best hostel to visit as much of London as you can take in! Otherwise stay indoors with your fellow residents and enjoy a good time in the kitchen or if weather permits on our small terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Astor`s Museum Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing