We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wise choice for London”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #200 of 1,063 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Wise choice for London”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here 2 nights at the end of March in a small single room. It was definitely a small single room, but that was expected for London. However, it was clean, and the whole hotel looked like it had recently been painted/renovated, clean carpets. Staff at check in were very nice and helpful with information/restaurant suggestions, etc. The included breakfast was great, with both continental items, as well as a chance to have a cooked to order full English made for you. Paddington Station train/tube and bus stops both very close. Quiet neighborhood as well. The ladies at the front desk work both the desk as well as the breakfast room service (hard workers!) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1highplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    901
    175
    38
    14
See reviews for
492
769
208
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days everything was great.
Clean room good breakfast would recommend .
Close to lots of restaurants and a 5 minute walk to Paddington station

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brecon, Mid Wales
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Myself and my teenage daughter stayed here on the night of Monday 9th April 2012. It was only a 3 minute walk from Paddington Station. The staff on the reception desk and Breakfast room were very efficent, polite and inconspicouous at the same time. Following my short walk from the train station my shoes were rather muddy and the hem on my trouser leg was dragging. What a pleasant suprise to discover that along with the usual 'bathroom smellies' there was an emergency sewing repair kit, and shoe buffer kit in the room. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and have already recomended it to a frien who is visiting London in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Hulpe, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A very pleasant stay in London, thanks to the very good quality of the Darlington Hotel.
Thank you so much for global service, quality of the breakfast and rooms comfort.
We forthrightly recommend Darlington Hôtel, for an unforgettable stay in the city.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I booked for business, after an event in London I arrived around 2am. I rang the bell and the night manager answered. He was completely rude, didn't acknowledge me when he opened the door, I tried to make conversation and he ignored me. He asked for my passport details which I have never provided in the UK for Hotel booking, I told him I didn't have it and he just said " well I need it"! Rude as unhelpful. My room 12 stank of smoke which was surprising to me. The bedroom was basic and the bathroom shower leaked even with the curtain in the bath as stated. The morning staff were also short on exit. Completely disappointed for a Hotel that had seemingly good reviews. I guess you hey what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CamilleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Darlington Hyde Park was the absolutely perfect choice! It was clean, the room (twin) was large, the bathroom had bath and a huge window, the bed was extremely comfortable, the breakfast was great, the staff was spectacular (nice and helpful), the location couldn't be better (Circle line, Central Line, Hammersmith line, Bakerloo line, Paddington Station, buses to the city and to everywhere else as well), so I'm more than satisfied, this is gonna be our London-hotel forever :) I truly recommend it to anybody who wants to get quality.

Ps. 1: I booked a twin room but somehow the hotel got the reservation for a double room. The solution was: for the first night we've got a family room, from the second night we've got our twin room - they've managed to take our suitcases and everything to the new room. This is what I call solving a problem.
Ps. 2.: It is really nothing, just an advice: we like to sleep with the windows opened. If you are the same type, you're gonna need earplugs :) London is noisy, even during the night.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank czelfrida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

We recently stayed at the darlington while in London for 3 nights. Upon arrival the hotel seemed very clean, and the front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. If your traveling from north America you will find the rooms very tiny, as did we. Barely enough room for two people to move around. I guess this is normal for London though. The breakfast is plentiful and the staff are great, and the location is 2 minutes from paddington station which can take you anywhere you need to go. Overall great stay in London.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smythbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#184 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#398 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#194 of 1,063 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#304 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Property: The Darlington Hyde Park
Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing