We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a safe option.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Darlington Hyde Park
Ranked #230 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2012

On a big beleiver in first impressions being lasting impressions i was shocked when arriving and checking into the darlington that upon the paperwork which i was required to sign by a receptionist whom was confused throughout the conversation, that for myself, my teenage daughter and my elderly parents identification was needed for all.
When we pulled out normally what would be acceptable photo identification for ourselves, the receptionist refused to accept claiming it was 'nomal procedure' and presented me with a form of paper which required each of us to put down our passport numbers, signatures, where the passport was issued at and our date of birth. After confronting the receptionist about this invasion of my familys privacy, as i did not mind placing down my own as was paying for the two rooms, and they already had my credit card details, the receptionist stated that they must fill it out. Refusing to place their passport details down as we are overseas travellers, i printed their names in the signature box, much to the dislike of the receptionist.

The rest of my stay was plesant, the rooms were clean and the options for breakfast were decent. But through this personal experiance, i wont ever be returning to this particular hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IveCaughtTheTavelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yulaine, Manager at The Darlington Hyde Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2012

As required under the Immigration (Hotel Records) Order 1972 all Hotels must keep a record of the full name and Nationality of their guests. For non UK residents their passport or identification ID card number, place of issue of their passport, nationality and next destination are legally required for all persons over the age of 16.
The management of the Darlington Hyde Park are extremely sorry if this was not clearly explained on your arrival at the hotel a notice clearly explaining this has now been displayed at the reception to help prevent future confusion.
The Darlington Hyde Park is also registered under the Data Protection Act to ensure all customers personal details are securely store both electronically or on paper.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,178 - 1,184 of 2,219 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2012

This hotel is in a great location - very close to Paddington Station, lots of bars/restaurants, Hyde Park and hop on hop off bus tour. Nice clean modern room. However, this hotel has no (or very very little) sound proofing. We were kept awake by what sounded like an elephant walking across the floor above our room for hours on end in the middle of the night and then woken by the same noise at 4am in the morning which continued until we finally got out of bed at 7.30am! I tried to call reception several times during these hours to complain but no one answered (even though it was supposed to be '24 hour reception service'). We could also hear the guests in the room next to us complaining about the noise at around 5am.

If we stayed here again, it would purely be for the location (which was amazing).

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed here 2 nights at the end of March in a small single room. It was definitely a small single room, but that was expected for London. However, it was clean, and the whole hotel looked like it had recently been painted/renovated, clean carpets. Staff at check in were very nice and helpful with information/restaurant suggestions, etc. The included breakfast was great, with both continental items, as well as a chance to have a cooked to order full English made for you. Paddington Station train/tube and bus stops both very close. Quiet neighborhood as well. The ladies at the front desk work both the desk as well as the breakfast room service (hard workers!) Would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1highplainsdrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Stayed for 3 days everything was great.
Clean room good breakfast would recommend .
Close to lots of restaurants and a 5 minute walk to Paddington station

Stayed: April 2012
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Myself and my teenage daughter stayed here on the night of Monday 9th April 2012. It was only a 3 minute walk from Paddington Station. The staff on the reception desk and Breakfast room were very efficent, polite and inconspicouous at the same time. Following my short walk from the train station my shoes were rather muddy and the hem on my trouser leg was dragging. What a pleasant suprise to discover that along with the usual 'bathroom smellies' there was an emergency sewing repair kit, and shoe buffer kit in the room. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel and have already recomended it to a frien who is visiting London in the next few weeks.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebraBrecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

A very pleasant stay in London, thanks to the very good quality of the Darlington Hotel.
Thank you so much for global service, quality of the breakfast and rooms comfort.
We forthrightly recommend Darlington Hôtel, for an unforgettable stay in the city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frederic V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I booked for business, after an event in London I arrived around 2am. I rang the bell and the night manager answered. He was completely rude, didn't acknowledge me when he opened the door, I tried to make conversation and he ignored me. He asked for my passport details which I have never provided in the UK for Hotel booking, I told him I didn't have it and he just said " well I need it"! Rude as unhelpful. My room 12 stank of smoke which was surprising to me. The bedroom was basic and the bathroom shower leaked even with the curtain in the bath as stated. The morning staff were also short on exit. Completely disappointed for a Hotel that had seemingly good reviews. I guess you hey what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CamilleMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Paddington / Maida Vale
Days Inn London Hyde Park
Days Inn London Hyde Park
#420 of 1,077 in London
1,083 reviews
Arbor Hyde Park Hotel
#248 of 1,077 in London
659 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Park Grand Paddington Court
Park Grand Paddington Court
#165 of 1,077 in London
1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paddington / Maida Vale
Best Western Plus Delmere Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Darlington Hyde Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Darlington Hyde Park

Address: 111-117 Sussex Gardens | Paddington, London W2 2RU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#162 Business Hotel in London
#184 Family Hotel in London
#189 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: $164 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Darlington Hyde Park 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Darlington Hyde Park is located in the Paddington Hyde Park area of London, less than a 5-minute walk from the Heathrow Express terminal at Paddington station. This 40-bedroom former stately Victorian terraced town house conversion offers high standard accommodation with modern facilities, which ensure that the expectations of both business and leisure travellers alike are fully met. The Darlington Hyde Park prides itself on being a strictly non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Darlington Hyde Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Darlington Hyde Park Hotel London
Darlington Hyde Park London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing