We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Simply the best!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #6 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire
Level Contributor
206 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

This hotel feels just like staying with family. Friendly, welcoming staff. Rare in London, believe me.
My room was small but had everything that I could want. Even though it faced out to the front of the hotel it was quiet. The bed was comfortable, the pillows soft, and the curtains of such good quality that the room was lovely and dark.
Breakfast was cooked to order, and served amazingly fast. But yet perfectly cooked.
Lovely dining room. Lovely friendly staff.
Taxi ordered for me: Addison Lee, who are really professional and know what they are doing.
Thank you all. As a woman here on business, and staying alone, this hotel felt very safe.
Would I stay here again?
Without any doubt. And for the price they charge, they really beat the competition for what they offer.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    200
    31
    6
    1
See reviews for
169
241
104
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

We were a party of 4 (2 mothers and teenage daughters) and all stayed in room 13 on the first floor which was a comfortable size and a very pleasant room.
Very peaceful and a very convenient location.
Good breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smudge-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lime Tree for 2 days recently as part of our honeymoon before flying to Egypt and we couldn't fault it.

When we arrived we were warmly greeted and made our way to our room on the top floor which was quite a hike with our suitcases. The room was a pretty good size by London standards, with nice decor and all the appropriate amenities. The bed was very comfortable and we slept very well on both nights.

Breakfast was served in a nicely decorated room and was very tasty and well presented by relaxing staff. We were also offered a sample of freshly baked Lime Tree bread on both mornings. There's also a computer beside breakfast room with internet access that's free to use.

The surrounding area of Belgravia is beautiful with Sloane square, Victoria station and Saatchi Gallery just a few minutes walk away. We went to see Wicked at Apollo Theatre while we were there and had a lovely walk home through the quiet streets. We also ate at the romantic La Poule au Pot French restaurant at the end of Ebury Road which was delicious.

When we left the Lime Tree to go to Egypt I realised that I left my wedding ring in the room (only after 3 days of marriage!). Emma at reception was so kind she sent the ring back to my mother in laws recorded delivery free of charge! So thanks to the Lime Tree my marriage is still going strong.

We are hoping to go back later in the year and I don't think we could go anywhere else but the Lime Tree. A truly delightful experience in every way.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smutz121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The Lime Tree Hotel is an oasis just minutes walk away from Victoria coach and train stations. The staff are nice, friendly and helpful and do everything they can to make you feel welcome. The rooms are charming and personal, the beds are very comfortable and I woke up to the smell of fresh bread in the morning. How can you not love it?!
There is free wifi and a small business centre with a computer, a beautiful garden which much be wonderful if it's not January... You can choose between a continental or English breakfast, both of which were tasty and generous.
Be aware that there are quite a few stairs and request a room on the lower floors if it is a problem.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hoya91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We stayed the week between Christmas and New Years-- what a fantastic BandB. The staff was helpful, kind and so knowledgable. The breakfast was PERFECT ever morning is was fantastic. The rooms were cozy and very comfortable with a electric tea kettle and assortment of teas. My husband and I loved every minute we stayed at the Lime Tree. You simply could not find a better location to tour London. We will always make plans to stay at the Lime Tree when we are in London!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Nice hotel, good location, friendly staff, will stay again

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling Mat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2012

We really liked staying at the Lime Tree hotel. The best things about it are it's fantastic location, helpful staff, and lovely ambience. We had a spacious superior room facing the back so it was quiet and very comfortable. As expected, the bathroom was tiny but modern and well equipped.

The only disappointing thing thing was breakfast although the breakfast room is lovely. Breakfast start with an offering of morsels of freshly baked bread from a basket. This is indeed a most curious thing.......the only other bread we got was hard, thin toast. Why tempt and then not deliver - in fact under-deliver with really bad bread? They also seem to be economising by trying to get guests to choose from the 'continental' breakfast with the hard, thin toast and small rationed portions of fruit, cereal etc OR the 'English' breakfast which was standard eggs, bacon etc. The choice of mushrooms or tomatoes supposedly changed daily but there were only tomatoes when we were there.

Better breakfasts would really make the Lime Tree an all round winner!

Room Tip: Back rooms would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrequentFlyer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,498 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#26 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westminster
The Goring
The Goring
#8 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,106 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#104 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#15 of 1,078 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing