We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in London”
Review of Lime Tree Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Lime Tree Hotel
Ranked #5 of 554 London B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, VA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel in London”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed at the Lime Tree for a week, and it was terrific. Everyone there was friendly and helpful and seemed very involved in helping us to have a wonderful time in London. Since it was our first time in London, we really appreciated all the suggestions and directions and recommendations for places to eat. The neighborhood was lovely, and it was great to be within a quick walk of two tube stations. We ate at 2 restaurants within a block or so, both quite good, and there was a very friendly wine and cheese shop just around the corner.

Our room was comfortable, the breakfast was delicious, and we would absolutely stay there again if we go back to London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    210
    32
    6
    1
See reviews for
176
259
109
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2012

So much to say. Getting here from Heathrow is a breeze. Forget the Tube. Take the bus. Six pounds and about 20 minutes without traffic. Station is easy to find in Heathrow and arrival station is literally a half a block around the corner from the Lime Tree Hotel (LTH). Very handy. Location of the Lime Tree is unbelievable. Belgravia is one of the finest neighborhoods in London. All that you read about location is true. Easy access to Tube, all the main tourist sites. Great things about LTH include clean comfortable rooms, quiet location, safe neighborhood, free internet, free breakfast is great (dont miss it), friendly staff with lots of good ideas and suggestions. This is a wonderful hotel and a great home away from home in London. I can't wait to get back. My tip is to be bold and try the C1 bus that goes right by the hotel about every 10 minutes. It will take you straight over to Sloan Square and on up to Knightsbridge and Harrods. It is also a handy connector to Victoria Station if you dont want to make the short 10 minutes walk. We stayed her 4 years ago on the recommendation of Rick Steves and we stayed here again in March 2012. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pxisright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

There are hundreds if not thousands of quality London lodging options. But the Lime Tree is our favorite comfy, cozy home away from home whenever we're in London. If its close proximity to the Victoria bus, rail and tube stations weren't reason enough, the helpful staff, delicious breakfasts and comfortable accommodations in a charming, quiet neighborhood have continued to win us over. We've stayed there 3 times now and can't wait to return.

Room Tip: If it's available, try to book the superior double up the first flight of stairs. You'll enj...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lime Tree Hotel was such a charming place to make our home base while in London! The staff were excellent, breakfast was good, rooms were clean and comfy. Some people may find them a little on the small side, but we were impressed with the size considering the age of the building! The only real complaint we had was that the feee wifi seems very spotty. We were on the top floor and only seemed to have a good connection in our room in the middle of the night (we only know this because we were coming off jet lag). The up side is that on the main floor it was fine so we usually just took our devices to breakfast and planned out our day/routes from there. All in all, we were very please with the value in such a charming building, proximity to the tube and popular attractions, a lovely neighbourhood, wonderful staff and a DELICIOUS breakfast. Thanks so much to everyone at the Lime Tree for their wonderful service!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evalew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

Overall a good stay in a great location with a great staff. But be forewarned: the "twin" rooms are very small. Actually too small to be comfortable. We were relegated to the very top floor which felt like we were in the attic. In fact, you almost hit your head in the hallway on the ladder which is affixed to the hallway ceiling that leads to the attic. Our room had very low ceilings which added to the claustrophic effect. Trying to negotiate where to place our only two carryons in the room was a bit of a farce. And the bathroom is just ridiculous with the doors consisting of something like pantry doors (i.e. no privacy from your roommate!). And we are not large people. I have no idea how anyone oversized would negotiate this room.

I wish we had paid for a superior room and one was not available on check in. The staff offered me no other option once I expressed my unhappiness. Somehow, I hoped reserving six months ahead of time would have given us a room not on the "attic" floor which would appear to be the worst.

That said, the beds and pillows were quite comfortable. There is a kettle with tea, although the Twinings tea bags were never replenished (and we couldn't bear to tear down the multiple flights of stairs to ask for more). And the towels could remove a layer of skin. And the wi-fi was undetectable in our room.

The staff, however, is delightful. Breakfast is delicious with a full English served by a cheery attendant in a tranquil breakfast room. The location is also convenient to Victoria Station. There is also a free computer on the ground floor and the staff will let you print your boarding passes.

(There is also a great fish and chips place called Friar's Inn around the corner on Elizabeth Street. Yes, it doesn't look like much and it serves other cuisine which is suspect but give it a go...you'll be delightfully surprised)!

At the end of the day, you realize London hotel prices are ridiculous and this may be the best one can do for what you pay for.

Room Tip: Upgrade and pay for a superior room. Do not take a room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank haydenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Lime Tree Hotel. We arrived before check in time and our room was ready so we were able to access it. The staff was welcoming and generally helpful. The location is literally around the corner from Victoria Coach station. We took the bus to and from Heathrow Airport at a cost of 12 pounds. We were also close to Victoria Tube and train station. We purchased the week pass for 30 pounds and we found it to be a great value.We always felt very safe in the area. (We often saw Bentleys and other fine cars parked in the area) Our room was #18 and it overlooked a little garden in the back of the hotel. It was very quiet. The room was very clean and very basic. The bed was comfortable. The linens were a little rough...I have to admit that I like fine bedding. The bathroom appeared to be new and it was immaculate. Our only complaint was the breakfast. We are Americans and we didn't find it appealing. There was a lovely little deli up the street, La Bottega, where we got delicious pastries and cappacino, lattes, and sandwiches. Overall, we felt this was a good value for London.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sisi123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austria, vienna
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

First of all...don't believe the negative reviews here. The Lime Tree Hotel really beats all other locations in this price range. Everything the announce on their website is true and you will meet the friendliest staff ever.

I went there with my sister and mum and we booked one single and one double room. Upon arrival we were very friendly welcomed and given a free upgrade to a triple and double room which made the welcome even warmer.

It is true, the stairs are quite steep but this is all written on the website and residing in such a beautifully restored house makes you forget the stairs. My mum stayed on the third floor which was really high up but she liked her room so much that she did not mind the stairs. When we left she was helped with her luggage.

My sister and me stayed in room 17, a triple room with a single and double bed. It was heaven! We had two huge windows that face the street with a small balcony and the room was super-clean. The curtains block out the light if you want to sleep longer and there was hardly any noise. The decoration is beautiful and the bathroom even had a bathtub. We slept perfectly in the cosy beds and were woke up by the delicious smell of freshly baked bread.

For the breakfast you can choose between continental and british breakfast - both is fantastic. The staff is cute and helpful, always happy and eager to help.

There are two great cafes on the corner of the hotel: TomTom Cafe with the best chicken salad and coffe and Peggy Porschen with her incredible cupcakes. The Ebury Wine Bar next doors serve delicious Dinner. The location is perfect - right in the neighbourhood of Victoria station and Kings Road is also just around the corner.

We really enjoyed staying in such a beautiful area and the hotel lived up to all our expectations. After trying lots of locations, we finally found our favorite hotel. Thank you, Lime Tree Hotel for this amazing stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank corrinska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Westminster
Hotel 41
Hotel 41
#1 of 1,068 in London
2,760 reviews
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#309 of 1,068 in London
1,587 reviews
Pimlico
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#189 of 1,068 in London
3,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#109 of 1,068 in London
2,077 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#57 of 1,068 in London
3,701 reviews
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#33 of 1,068 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lime Tree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lime Tree Hotel

Property: Lime Tree Hotel
Address: 135-137 Ebury Street, London SW1W 9QU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 554 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lime Tree Hotel is a superior bed & breakfast set in a pair of Grade II listed Georgian townhouses. Family-run for 30 years, the Lime Tree has a friendly, welcoming atmosphere and enviable location in the heart of Belgravia making it an ideal base from which to explore all the sights of London. Providing affordable, comfortable accommodation in an elegant city setting, we provide free WiFi to guests and all bedrooms have en-suite bathrooms and flat screen TVs. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing