We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not in winter!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Queensway Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Queensway Hotel
Ranked #875 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Stroud
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not in winter!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked for one night in February. It wasn't an especially cold day and the staff were obliging, letting us check-in early - about 11.30am. But the room was freezing so we turned the radiator on. However, when we returned at about 6pm it was still freezing - no heat in the radiator. Again the staff were obliging and brought a small electric heater which eventually did the job.

But the bathroom - with a working radiator - remained sub-zero as it was down a few stairs from the bedroom with single glazing and a way-too-small radiator. That room will never get warm.

So - simple facilities, adequate for a summer stay, but not one for winter.

Two stars for our miserable experience solely on the basis of helpful staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a bathroom on the same level as the bedroom and you won't get our room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveyPez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    95
    105
    52
    22
See reviews for
57
85
51
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

We got a room in the basement with 3 beds. The room was ok in size, but the toilet was extreem small, so when you sat on the toilet, your knees touched the radiator, which was boiling hot, and there was no knob to turn it off. In the morning several people threw cleaning water on our window and there was a lot of noise from people who went pass the window.
There was tea and coffee available in the room and a keddle for boiling water. This was for free.
The beds were ok and the room was ok clean. The Hotel is 3 min. away from Paddington Station and close to Oxford Street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above ground, so you don't get the one in the basement
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette Lykke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2011

Rooms were a little small but can't really complain. Good location next to Hyde park, a little far from downtown London but with the tube it doesn't really make it a problem (just remember the tube stops running later at night and a cab ride can be costly if you're far). It can be a little noisy since it's on a busy street but not too bad.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange Beach, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2011

CLEAN! That was my number one requirement, and I was thrilled. The bathroom was spotless and I have a high standard for bathroom cleanliness. Good water pressure and hot water, too. I was in room 408 - it was a tiny attic-nook room up the top staircase. I didn't mind the small size of the room or the short climb up the crazy stairs. Nice location on a lovely street. The free breakfast was good: cereal, toast, fruit cocktail (canned, but whatever), yogurt, boiled eggs, cheese, croissants, coffee, juices. The staff were friendly. The location is nice. If this hotel keeps it up, I'll return every time.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

This hotel is in a nice area very close to paddington train but it stops there. The outside is very posh looking for sure. The bed was comfortable and clean but the room is very small. We had two large suitcases and found it difficult to find a place to put them. The air was stuffy and hot and until late in the night you can hear doors slamming. The walls are very thin as well. We were not able to sleep very well even though we were tired. The staff was fine and the breakfast was adequate. I would not recommend this hotel to my friends and I would not stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms seem to be all mostly small except the top floors perhaps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carmelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2011

This location is super only 2 blocks from Paddington station and easy connect to all of London. The first night room they put me in (a 4 night stay) was the size of a postage stamp, room 307, no place for luggage unless you slept with it. I was moved to a larger room I was traveling solo. They expected you to use the same small bath towels your entire visit and I suspect that the bath was not cleaned every day. The price was very good and the location was the best. Beds not comfortable and the pillows were like sleeping on rocks. The photos make the rooms look much larger.

Room Tip: Avoid room 307 and guessing 207 also in the 149 address bldg, 147 is connected to 149.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Woodland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

I'd like to think I'm an easy-going person and traveller and can handle quirky hotels. But to get to my 4th floor room I needed to get off on the 3rd floor and bring myself and my suitcase up 2 additional staircases-one a bit steep.
The location in terms of Paddington (which is why I chose this location) was great. The staff were nice and the breakfast was ok but if you get assigned to the top floor, be prepared.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TessM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 km away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#676 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 km away
Ashley London
Ashley London
#883 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.1 km away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#770 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Falcon Hotel
Falcon Hotel
#659 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 km away
Olympic House Hotel
Olympic House Hotel
#809 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.1 km away
Abbey Court Hotel
Abbey Court Hotel
#772 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queensway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queensway Hotel

Property: Queensway Hotel
Address: 147-149 Sussex Gardens, London W2 2RY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #875 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Queensway Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Queensway hotel is an elegant listed Victorian building which has been thoughtfully refurbished to reflect the opulence of that period, while offering all the amenities one expects to find in a modern hotel. The Queensway Hotel is in a tree line road close to Hyde Park, Marble Arch and Oxford Street. We look forward at welcoming you at the Queensway Hotel located in Paddington next to Paddington and Lancaster Gate Stations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Queensway Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queensway Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing