We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended - **** Stars.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grange White Hall Hotel
Ranked #579 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Very friendly and helpful staff although I checked in at 2:00 AM. Almost all wishes are fulfilled.
High ceilings, walls and windows because of old building and nevertheless everything is clean and almost as new.
Here the bathroom was bigger than my whole room in another hotel.
Rich breakfast. And bus stop right in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Beautiful garden and nevertheless close to Oxford St. and many places of interest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Eumetsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the traditional features of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2017 via mobile

The hotel has really pretty frontage and a pleasant reception area with transparent glass lift. Check in was quick and smooth and the receptionist was very welcoming. Room was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, there was plenty of storage and a good selection of toiletries. Wifi was free and reliable. Little things like screwed in tiles in the bathroom, the TV remote not working and the inability to fully close the sash window let it down a little though!

Breakfast was lovely, generous portion and most importantly - hot! A small selection of continental breakfast items were available as part of the room rate but the £8 I paid for a full English was good value.

We had a room overlooking the street but didn't find it to be overly noisy, even with the window open. On the two days we stayed it was 25 degree sunny days and despite not having ac we didn't find the room too hot, the supplied fan was perfectly adequate.

Some rooms overlook the pretty garden at the rear of the hotel which can also be seen from the breakfast room. We didn't have time to use this, but it did look really nice, and had plenty of seating areas.

The location is perfectly situated for the British Museum, it's literally right around the corner! It's also a very short walk from a really pretty park (Russell Square), and a tube station - great links to the main London tourist attractions and Piccadilly Circus.

The hotel does offer a luggage hold service, pre and post check-in. This was very handy - but we did notice that items were stored at the side of the reception desk, rather than a separate secure storage room. I didn't leave anything of real value there, just to be safe.

Overall, we had a really good stay. We would recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dej1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your constructive review, it is really helpful to us to received such a full review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are noted. We hope you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Stayed for a weekend break. This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring London. It is also one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in whilst in London - very little traffic noise and our room overlooked the street. The continental breakfast was fine. The room was also good although it was very warm (August) and there was no air conditioning. A fan was provided in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Price was also reasonable for a central London hotel. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissKittyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the location of the hotel and found the hotel rooms to be very quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

So two of us were visiting London for two nights and booked the Grange White Hall Hotel - a twin room booked two and a half months in advance (booked 19 May for stay 29 July).

When we arrived we were met by a surly receptionist who told us we were at the wrong hotel and needed to be in the less salubrious, less well equipped sister hotel the Grange Blooms hotel next door. This despite having the booking confirmation etc.. with me. No apologies made, no refund, no smile, no joy.

Would not recommend on this basis. Not good practice and a v. poor attempt at customer service.

Room Tip: Get the hotel you book for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

I am sorry that there was no room available at the time of your arrival at the Grange White Hall Hotel and that you were disappointed with the room allocated to you at the Grange Blooms Hotel. The 2 sister hotels are next to each other and share many of the same facilities. Although the interior designs are slightly different the Grange Blooms is not considered a "downgrade" - the hotels are of the same category.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. It is in a great location. The staff were very helpful. I booked through the Grange website and found the rates to be a lot more favourable than on other websites with a complimentary breakfast which was ideal to start you off for the day. I have stayed previously at Grange hotels (Holborn and St Paul's) I preferred this one to the Grange Holborn which was very impersonal. I received an upgrade to an executive room. This was a good sized room which I was very happy with and very pleased with the gesture.

Room Tip: 203 was a very good twin room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed the personal, friendly atomosphere of the Grange White Hall Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017 via mobile

We visited on Saturday 5th August and stayed for one night.
This hotel is situated in a lovely are of London. Formerly a Georgian town house it has retained any original features and even has a rear garden where guests can relax...Very rare in London. The reception staff were helpful and courteous as indeed was every staff member who dealt with us!!! I was very impressed..so professional.
The hotel and room were spotlessly clean. The street where the hotel is situated has retained many original features and is like a street scene from the film "Oliver"
The hotel..staff..food..scenery are fab and we will definately be going back for more
Sincere Thanks to all of the staff who work so hard to make your stay special

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review. Your comments, particularly in relation to our staff, are very much appreciated.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

My bestfriend and I stayed at this hotel- I have previously stayed at the grange Holborn Hotel where my stay was very lovely. However, this branch is not worth the stay. We payed over £150 only when we checked it, we realised the room did not have AC. There was a fan available but it was blowing warm air- I was not impressed. Apart from that, the room was fine. Also during the night, it is very noisy which I did not expect as its not really a main road. Also, in the morning the breakfast was very poor. With most of the options not available and they kept running back and forth from the kitchen. I will not recommend this hotel at all.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Suzia89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2017

We are sorry that your expectations were not fully satisfied on this occasion.
The majority of guest reviews find the hotel to be quiet and in a quiet location.
We are pleased to know though that you enjoyed your stay at the Grange Holborn Hotel. All your comments have been noted.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,076 in London
338 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#558 of 1,076 in London
565 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#364 of 1,076 in London
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Bloomsbury
Thistle Holborn, The Kingsley
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#397 of 1,076 in London
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange White Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange White Hall Hotel

Address: 2-5 Montague Street | Russell Square, London WC1B 5BP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#343 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $116 - $379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange White Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional Hotel housed within an Edwardian-style building dating from 1800. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange White Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange White Hall London
Hotel Grange White Hall

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing