We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (710)
Filter reviews
710 results
Traveller rating
136
280
167
81
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
280
167
81
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumrussell squaremontague streetoverlooking the gardencontinental breakfastsash windowsfour poster bedfull englishquiet streetsister hotelupgraded to an executivetheatre landbed was comfortablelovely hotelnice roomeuston stationwest end
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 710 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2017 via mobile

The hotel has really pretty frontage and a pleasant reception area with transparent glass lift. Check in was quick and smooth and the receptionist was very welcoming. Room was spotlessly clean, beds comfortable, there was plenty of storage and a good selection of toiletries. Wifi was free and reliable. Little things like screwed in tiles in the bathroom, the TV remote not working and the inability to fully close the sash window let it down a little though!

Breakfast was lovely, generous portion and most importantly - hot! A small selection of continental breakfast items were available as part of the room rate but the £8 I paid for a full English was good value.

We had a room overlooking the street but didn't find it to be overly noisy, even with the window open. On the two days we stayed it was 25 degree sunny days and despite not having ac we didn't find the room too hot, the supplied fan was perfectly adequate.

Some rooms overlook the pretty garden at the rear of the hotel which can also be seen from the breakfast room. We didn't have time to use this, but it did look really nice, and had plenty of seating areas.

The location is perfectly situated for the British Museum, it's literally right around the corner! It's also a very short walk from a really pretty park (Russell Square), and a tube station - great links to the main London tourist attractions and Piccadilly Circus.

The hotel does offer a luggage hold service, pre and post check-in. This was very handy - but we did notice that items were stored at the side of the reception desk, rather than a separate secure storage room. I didn't leave anything of real value there, just to be safe.

Overall, we had a really good stay. We would recommend this hotel and we would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank dej1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your constructive review, it is really helpful to us to received such a full review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Your comments are noted. We hope you will return in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2017

Stayed for a weekend break. This hotel is in an excellent location for exploring London. It is also one of the quietest hotels we have stayed in whilst in London - very little traffic noise and our room overlooked the street. The continental breakfast was fine. The room was also good although it was very warm (August) and there was no air conditioning. A fan was provided in the room. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Price was also reasonable for a central London hotel. Would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleMissKittyVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you liked the location of the hotel and found the hotel rooms to be very quiet. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017

So two of us were visiting London for two nights and booked the Grange White Hall Hotel - a twin room booked two and a half months in advance (booked 19 May for stay 29 July).

When we arrived we were met by a surly receptionist who told us we were at the wrong hotel and needed to be in the less salubrious, less well equipped sister hotel the Grange Blooms hotel next door. This despite having the booking confirmation etc.. with me. No apologies made, no refund, no smile, no joy.

Would not recommend on this basis. Not good practice and a v. poor attempt at customer service.

Room Tip: Get the hotel you book for!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

I am sorry that there was no room available at the time of your arrival at the Grange White Hall Hotel and that you were disappointed with the room allocated to you at the Grange Blooms Hotel. The 2 sister hotels are next to each other and share many of the same facilities. Although the interior designs are slightly different the Grange Blooms is not considered a "downgrade" - the hotels are of the same category.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2017

I was very pleased with my stay at this hotel. It is in a great location. The staff were very helpful. I booked through the Grange website and found the rates to be a lot more favourable than on other websites with a complimentary breakfast which was ideal to start you off for the day. I have stayed previously at Grange hotels (Holborn and St Paul's) I preferred this one to the Grange Holborn which was very impersonal. I received an upgrade to an executive room. This was a good sized room which I was very happy with and very pleased with the gesture.

Room Tip: 203 was a very good twin room
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zed1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. I am pleased you enjoyed the personal, friendly atomosphere of the Grange White Hall Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

We visited on Saturday 5th August and stayed for one night.
This hotel is situated in a lovely are of London. Formerly a Georgian town house it has retained any original features and even has a rear garden where guests can relax...Very rare in London. The reception staff were helpful and courteous as indeed was every staff member who dealt with us!!! I was very impressed..so professional.
The hotel and room were spotlessly clean. The street where the hotel is situated has retained many original features and is like a street scene from the film "Oliver"
The hotel..staff..food..scenery are fab and we will definately be going back for more
Sincere Thanks to all of the staff who work so hard to make your stay special

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange White Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2017

Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review. Your comments, particularly in relation to our staff, are very much appreciated.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews