We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like wooden panelling and disinterested staff - you'll love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grange Fitzrovia Hotel
Ranked #551 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed at the Grange Fitzrovia for 2 nights in April 2012. The location is the biggest selling point of the hotel. Great Portland Street station is at the top of the road and it's only 15 minute walk to Oxford Circus. The service is pretty poor though. When we arrived at the hotel we had to struggle with our luggage up the stairs to the entrance, whilst the doorman just stood and watched us! The chap who checked us in didn't mutter two words to us and, on the whole, the staff looked pretty miserable.

We stayed in a double superior room which was clean but a bit drab and small. The bathroom has no ventilation or windows so the whole bedroom & bathroom steamed up when you had a shower. I imagine this would be unbearable in the summer months and there is also no air conditioning in the rooms. Must admit, we didn't have any problems with the noise like many reviewers but I would definitely consider upgrading to a room with air con (or another hotel!!) if looking for somewhere in the warmer months.

I probably wouldn't stay here again. Whilst the location is convenient and our room was clean, there was nothing else appealing about this place.

Room Tip: The basic rooms don't have A/C - our room was uncomfortably warm even in April (partly because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (970)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 638 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

Had a good two night stay at this hotel over the Easter weekend with very reasonable rates. The room was a little tired but pleasant enough and had a large bathroom. The staff were all very attentive and the little touches such as free daily newspapers were most welcome.
Continental breakfast was included in the first night stay and was very good.
Room service was good value for a central London hotel and delivered quickly.
The location is excellent for the West End, a ten minute walk to Oxford Circus. There are a few nice pubs and restaurants within a few minutes of the hotel.
Great Portland Street is the nearest underground station.
Good hotel, well worth a look at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are bigger, but have a terrible view over the office block behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholap19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Stayed at the Grange Fitzrovia, for our daughter's 21st, for 2 nights but we felt it was over priced £170 for a very small room, (Double executive) With a mini bar that was locked! Price included a continental breakfast. The check in was a bit matter of fact, not with a friendly smile! On the up side the decor, although dated in style, was in very good condition, small hotel in a good location 5 mins walk from Great Portland Street Tube and 10 mins walk to Oxford street. The dust bins are collected via truck outside the hotel at 4.30 am and there was roadworks that started at 8am!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoopyLou4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Stayed at the Fitzrovia for two nights whilst on business in London. Good location and accessibility to tube stations and within walking distance of good shops and the West End. Stayed in room 210 which overlooked flats at the rear of the hotel. This proved to be a quiet location unlike some other reviewers who say they were woken up by traffic and waste collection lorries. Nothing amazing about the room, not exceptionally large, with usual mod-cons including tea/coffee and a kettle (if you can find it hidden away in the cupboard on the wall!) and mini bar, large bathroom with twin basins and shower screen around the whole of the bath..... I have to agree with a previous reviewer who described it as bathing inside a telephone box! Good description! We were disappointed with the restaurant area as it was in the basement and looked like it had seen better days, the breakfast was a self service buffet of cereals, continental meats and pastries and a small selection of cooked/English breakfast 'bits' which always looked like it had been there rather a long time. Unlike other hotels where we have stayed we were not provided with a pot of tea or coffee so we could help ourselves, instead you had to rely on catching the eye of one of the young foreign waitresses to ask for them to pour you another. This proved a frustration to us on both mornings when they appeared more interested in standing around talking to each other than serving the guests. This has to be my only criticism though as on the whole the staff were Polite and courteous and my room was clean and well presented. I would be happy to stay here again, but may opt out of the dining experience!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolLizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

We chose this hotel as it was convenient for a meeting in Portland Place and only a short walk from Oxford Street.

We'd initially tried to book over the phone, but it was a painful process, with the first person not understanding English and the second person telling us no rooms were available, despite us seeing rooms available to book via laterooms and other websites.

Upon arrival, check-in was painfully slow – the system surely needs updating - but the foreign staff friendly and helpful. Nice glass lifts and we had an average-sized (for London) room with dated dark decor and carpets but very nice fabrics for curtains and bed throw. Bathroom was roomier than expected, shower hot and fast, bed comfortable, TV with plenty of channels... a comfortable room for a good price.

Breakfast was included in the price we'd paid, but it was a bit of a shambles. Basic cheese & ham plate (with no salami left, despite the room not being busy - had to ask for more to be brought out), tinned fruits (grapefruit, orange, peaches), yoghurts - but again, none left, pastries (yep, you guessed it, none left so had to ask), cereals, juices (plenty of them, but no glasses out - had to ask), pleasant coffee and tea (but had to ask twice for milk to be brought). Nice enough but wouldn't have paid extra for it. People next to us paid the very reasonable £6 for a cooked breakfast, although the mushrooms looked shrunken, bacon had seen better days and sausage and egg were very greasy.

Breakfast moaning aside, it was a comfortable hotel in a good location with a slightly longer than necessary check-in process. Check-out was painless, and we were able to store our luggage there until we came back later.

Probably would stay again, but give the breakfast a miss.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lmcoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend for one night in December. The room itself was very nice - comfortable, spacious but still cosy and traditional. The bathroom worked and was clean, though maybe slightly tired. The common areas of the hotel (especially corridors) could do with a lick of paint and general spruce up, and the breakfast was fine but could have been better. Overall, my experience was highly positive with only one complaint - I ordered a rose on the bed from the 'extras' page and paid for it, but sadly the rose never materialised. Check-in/out was all very efficient and painless. All in all, go for it if you are looking for a comfortable and convenient hotel in central London, but not if you're looking for a special treat or 'wow factor'.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank in80days__12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Grange Fitzrovia is a short walk from several tube stations. Easy access to the west end, restaurants, bars etc. The first impressions are very good - clean, bright, welcoming efficient reception staff. Two glass elevators with polished brass detail in the middle of the hall. Like any conversion, layout is slightly quirky...the obligatory two/three steps up and down here and there! My room (#217) was large and comfortable. A long bathroom with side-by-side basins. A shame the bath has old fashioned glass shower screens all round - a bit like bathing in a phone box. Room service was quick, food good. Breakfast fresh with responsive service. Hotel clean throughout with friendly atmosphere. Having stayed in dozens of London hotels in last year alone, happy to return to the Fitzrovia - it's well located, does the basics well and has a degree of character & atmosphere so often lacking.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Grange Langham Court
Grange Langham Court
#555 of 1,078 in London
616 reviews
Fitzrovia
Holiday Inn London - Regent's Park
Fitzrovia
Rathbone Hotel
Rathbone Hotel
#280 of 1,078 in London
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Fitzrovia
Astor Court Hotel
Astor Court Hotel
#602 of 1,078 in London
697 reviews
Fitzrovia
Saint Georges Hotel
Saint Georges Hotel
#760 of 1,078 in London
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Fitzrovia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Fitzrovia Hotel

Address: 20-28 Bolsover Street, London W1W 5NB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#334 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $127 - $420 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Fitzrovia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grange Fitzrovia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Fitzrovia London
Hotel Grange Fitzrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing