We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with a good health club”
Review of Grange City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grange City Hotel
Ranked #373 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The rooms are fairly average and I might say almost a little tired. Comfortable enough but not going to wow anyone.

The gym however is nice and it's great to have a 25m pool with sand, steam room, jacuzzi and aromatherapy room. A very relaxing stay after a hard day at work :)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PedroYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed the spa and hope you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

28 - 34 of 2,991 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for the second time last night. We had a great stay last June so we decided to stay again due to its great location and very comfortable beds. Unfortunately last night I had the worst sleep ever as the bed this time round was rock solid, I had the worst nights sleep ever. It would have been more comfortable sleeping on the floor. We booked a double bed which was actually 2 singles bed pushed together so there was that uncomfortable line down the middle. Really not what you would expect from a 5* hotel. We did complain in the morning but they were very disinterested. Won't be back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank taramac77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

I am very sorry to learn that you were not fully satisfied on this occasion. Additional mattress toppers are available on request. I hope that you will reconsider staying on a future occasion in order that you have the opportunity of witnessing the comfort of your first stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've now stayed at the Grange City twice over the last two weeks, which given all the other hotels and areas one could choose in London, perhaps tells you more than any review.

It's in an excellent location close to Aldgate and Tower Hill tube stations, and to Tower Bridge, the Tower of London and the footpath along the south bank of the Thames.

Both times we stayed at an exceptionally good package rate in an Executive Room, including a very good Continental Breakfast.

Every one of the staff with whom we interfaced was helpful, courteous and friendly, and, if you arrive early, they'll happily store your bags for you whilst you go out-and-about.

The room itself was well maintained, clean and very comfortable, with an excellent bed, lounge area and 'proper' bath.

The only downside I would point to here didn't really affect us directly because of our package, but we saw that the full English Breakfast was £23, which might be fine in the 5* environment, freshly cooked and served individually to the table, but this is for self-service from hot plates at the buffet, although it has to be said that many were happily tucking-in.

That said we think the Grange Group Hotels, and this one in particular, are great, and we'll be back!!!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GunnerGraham64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location, a few minutes walk from Tower Hill tube station. We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal which was for an executive room and continental breakfast. On arrival I managed to get checked in early which as great. The room was on the 10th floor, it was very large, very clean and a very clear view on the Tower of London and Tower Bridge.
There was a queen size bed, a 2 seater sofa, a chair and a desk + chair, all comfortable. It was very quiet on the 10th floor however the heating/cooling system was a little noisy.
The in room hot drinks facility was well stocked with great size mugs.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pinguFareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are pleased that you are intending returning to the Grange City Hotel and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is MY FAVOURITE HOTEL BY FAR IN A GREAT LOCATION TOO!!
The rooms are stunning....almost have an oriental feel
Always spotless clean and immaculate
The beds and pillows are the comfiest anywhere
The bathrooms are well equipped
With staff are so friendly and not pretentious at all this is a wonderful place to stay.
There are good deals to be had too, look out on hotel sites.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
Thank Claire L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are delighted that The Grange City Hotel is your favourite London hotel. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is a hard review for me. I love the location of the hotel and the view from my room is fantastic. The bed is semi comfortable, the drapes are black out, the furnishings appear high quality, the room is quiet and there is decent Internet. They provide Instant Coffee and Tea and the heating works great from a strange thermostat. The hotel is just a few feet away from the Tube at Tower Hill making travel around London very easy, the Borough Market is just across the river and is 5 minutes away by tube.
But – The small details that make a room comfortable are missing. It is like they placed the furniture and fixtures in the room in some random manner. The desk and chair are located at the bottom of the bed and if you use it you block anyone else from getting around the room. The desk and chair are also uncomfortable to use The bed is so close to the desk that it is hard to even get in the chair. One of the bathroom lights was burned out with no attention for 6 days. There is a small sofa, which one would use to sit and read a book but the reading lamp is over on the other side of the room making it useless. There is a clock radio permanently fastened to the desk taking up a lot of desk room, the radio should have been placed next to the bed, and the TV is also mounted on the desk counter taking up most of the rest of the desk room. The Tub shower is located in a very high tub making it difficult to get in and out and the anti slip mat is place every day in the back of the tub requiring you to get in the tub to deploy it. There is no bottled water in the room other than the water for sale in a mini bar that charges you whenever anything is removed. For the entire 6 days I was here they never left a pen or pencil in the room. And last I find it hard to believe that they ask 23 pounds (32 Dollars) for a self serve breakfast.
For a single person staying one or two nights it is fine but not for more.
I find that the small details in many other hotels are cared for which make a room comfortable for a multiday stay. If the small details had been cared for here I would return to enjoy the location and the view.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank fishpictures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive review, your comments have been noted and passed on to the management to consider.
We hope that you will stay at the Grange City Hotel again on a future trip to London. Please note that if you book directly via the Grange Hotels website continental breakfast is complimentary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed here for 1night whilst working in London. The room was lovely. Nice exec room. Good views of the shard and tower of London. Bed was 2 singles into one. Clean comfortable room. I had room service and it was fast and tasty.
The room was a tad cold at night then the heat was a little loud. Overall though it was nice. Great for my office which was a 5min walk away and also for tube and train station.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
Thank NikkiScotland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for your lovely review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
Grange Tower Bridge Hotel
#245 of 1,081 in London
3,864 reviews
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#362 of 1,081 in London
4,502 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Holborn Hotel
Grange Holborn Hotel
#411 of 1,081 in London
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#82 of 1,081 in London
4,176 reviews
City of London
Novotel London Tower Bridge
Novotel London Tower Bridge
#230 of 1,081 in London
3,030 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange City Hotel

Address: 8-14 Cooper's Row, London EC3N 2BQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Spa Hotel in London
#208 Romantic Hotel in London
#233 Business Hotel in London
#264 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: C$180 - C$525 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grange City Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grange City Hotel is a spectacular luxury 5 star hotel. Superbly located with unique panoramic views over the City and just a gemstone's throw away from the Tower of London, the Grange City represents a first for a hotel of this standard in the City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grange City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange City London
Hotel Grange City
Grange City Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing