We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
51 Kensington Court Limited
Ranked #729 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Fort Klamath, Oregon
2 reviews
“Good location, very nice room”
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Stayed in #3, the one bedroom apartment. Very clean, staff was lovely, great location. Did our grocery shopping at Whole Foods and Marks and Spencer, just around the corner. Ate one meal out during the day and had sandwiches and snacks in the room, which was a great savings. Liked the heated floor and towel rack in the bathroom.

Never got the hang of the convection microwave (I could have read the mfr booklet, which was provided) and would have preferred an oven instead, but that's very minor.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WildPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    19
    4
    5
    5
See reviews for
36
26
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2011

This is our third stay at this hotel. Previously, we stayed in Flat No. 3 - a One Bedroom Superior. The Living room, kitchen and bathroom were quite good - very clean and well kept. The bedroom was tiny - barely enough room for the bed and chest of drawers. Closet was in the living room. Nevertheless, we were quite happy staying there.

This year, from September 24 to October 1, we decided to rent a 2 bedroom standard - Flat No. 11. The elevator only went to the third floor and our flat was probably on the 5th floor - a walk up another 18 stairs which was not easy for us. The main bedroom was fine with a double (might have been queen sized bed. Adequate closet and storage space. However, the second bedroom was terrible. Two very narrow single beds - much narrower than a normal size single bed. Suitable only for small children. Very small closet and no other storage. Kitchen and bathroom clean and well equipped. Living room rather drab and we had a fair amount of trouble getting the TV to work. I would like to know what the difference is between "Standard" and "Superior" other than price as our "Superior" did not have a dishwasher whereas the "Standard" did...

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
51KensingtonCt, Manager at 51 Kensington Court Limited, responded to this review, 16 October 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing and letting us know of your experience. Unfortunately apartment 11 does not have direct elevator access and we do make sure our guests are aware of that at the time of booking. It is on the 4th floor and elevators go up to the 3rd. If this was not made clear to you I sincerely apologize. We have taken your feedback into account and can assure you we are working on some of the elements of the apartment and how it is presented so that such an experience is not repeated.

I really hope you choose to return to us for your next stay and allow us to make this up to you. Please contact me directly at manager@kensingtoncourt.co.uk for any further bookings.

Warm Regards,
Karen Wong.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Overall, 51 Kensington Court is an excellent accommodation option for London. We were two couples travelling together and stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment (number 8).

Pros:
Brilliant location
Decent amount of living space
Very clean
Helpful, pleasant staff
Very quiet

Cons:
Furniture a bit dated
Second bedroom has two single beds and is quite small

If you are used to 5 star accommodation, this property will be different to what you're used to, but is still a great option.

We really appreciated having the option of washing our own clothes and being able to prepare a quick meal.

An improvement would be an update to apartment furniture and soft furnishings. Our single beds were squeaky and the linens a bit old.

This aside, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at '51' and wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tippd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2011

My family stayed at #1 flat. It was a 2 bedroom and one bath flat in the basement flat. It was a quiet flat. The rooms are nicely decorated and clean.

I would definitely return to 51 Kensington.

By the way, if safety is your issue. The Iranian consulate is next door. There is a policeman oon duty 24 hours every day.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihsbjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Usually stay in tiny London hotels with miniature beds and no space to breathe. The suite at Kensington Court made a huge difference - a proper size bed, space to walk around, a decent bathroom and a spotless and well equipped kitchen. If you are a couple or even travelling solo and value some breathing space then I recommend '51' especially as the price was no more than the typical london hotel box size room. On top of that the location is great - one minute from High Street and good transport to all the main areas. The suite was well furnished, well maintained and serviced to a high standard. Dealing with reception is a real pleasure - no grumpy or unhelpful responses - a really nice experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoDubaiUae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We had a family suite with two bedroooms (both very small) with large living/dining area and fully appointed kitchen, one bathroom. We were disappointed that our unit was below the ground floor, but it had a small enclosed garden and it was still pleasant and very clean. Hotel is next door to the Iranian embassy. We watched women whip out their scarves to cover their hair before going inside, and there is a 24/7 British police officer outside all the time. We had a nice chat with one of them, who gave us travel tips while we waited for the hotel to open at 9 am on the morning we arrived. That put us off a bit as we ended up having to wait a half-hour until staff arrived to let us in. They informed us of this in advance but it would be nice if they could arrive a bit early when they know they will have early-arriving guests. Don't bother accepting the breakfast reservation at the restaurant next door -- there are many informal places to eat in the area. In particuar, there is a Whole Foods market around the corner -- very convenient for buying groceries for the hotel and there is a cafe there as well. The atmosphere at the hotel is quite nice, informal, young men and women at the reception and friendly. We were not happy that heat in our room was on and couldn't be turned off and they told it would take two days to fix. When we suggested that we'd be gone in two days and it was quite warm, they did find someone to fix the situation promptly. This is not an inexpensive place but was better value than finding two separate rooms and we enjoyed having the full kitchen for having breakfasts in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhereAreMyGlasses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We stayed there for 7 nights from the end of June to start of July. It is the best location, I lived in London for 2 yrs if only it was here, the apartment was clean, and enough for 3 adults. The staff where brilliant always willing to help. There are not many apartments with daily housekeeping which was of great standard. If we come back to London I know where. I will be staying!! Thanks 51 Kensington Court!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debstrappa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
The Gore Hotel
The Gore Hotel
#244 of 1,068 in London
1,532 reviews
South Kensington
Baglioni Hotel London
Baglioni Hotel London
#46 of 1,068 in London
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kensington and Hyde Park
Royal Garden Hotel
Royal Garden Hotel
#90 of 1,068 in London
3,175 reviews
South Kensington
Kensington House Hotel
Kensington House Hotel
#486 of 1,068 in London
364 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#660 of 1,068 in London
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 51 Kensington Court Limited? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 51 Kensington Court Limited

Property: 51 Kensington Court Limited
Address: 51 Kensington Court, London W8 5DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#382 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 51 Kensington Court Limited 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eleven 4* serviced apartments located in a prestigious Kensington square near Kensington High Street’s shops, tube station, Kensington Palace, Museums and the Royal parks. The apartments sleep between 1 and 8 guests and have fully fitted kitchens, wireless internet, flat screen TVs, i-pod docks, complimentary toiletries and a welcome hamper on arrival. We also provide a first class housekeeping and reception service 7 days a week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 51 Kensington Court Limited reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
51 Kensington Court Limited Hotel London
51 Kensington Court Limited London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing