We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Wild Food Cafe

Wild Food Cafe
Ranked #1,513 of 25,561 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Covent Garden
Description: A vibrant raw-centric, vegan, vegetarian eatery created around the art and science of feeling great! ♥ Please note the bar & kitchen will close 45 mins prior to restaurant closing times
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

I came here for lunch. The ambiance is really sweet and the staff nice. I had baked sweet potato what was good but regarding the size of the portion a bit to expensive.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Nora Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellouisewilkie, Marketing at Wild Food Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello Nora,

We are happy you enjoyed the food and we are sorry you were disappointed with the size of the portion and price. We strive to constantly improve our menu and provide innovative dishes from global and local seasonal ingredients that are freshly prepared in our open plan kitchen every single day.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Wishes,

The Wild Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 57 of 613 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2018 via mobile

Really delicious food, so happy to find this gem however as they like to leave the door open upstairs.. and as it was snowing, the draft was too much. When asked could they close the door, they drew the curtain over which helped. Really yummy and will definitely return but when sun is shining x

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Dee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellouisewilkie, Marketing Intern at Wild Food Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2018

Dear Dee Q,

Thank you for your feedback , we are glad you enjoyed the food. We are sorry you experienced the cold weather breeze, we will make sure the staff are aware of this next time!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 26, 2018

The Wild Food Cafe is a real gem.

The restaurant is small, with cosy decor and windows overlooking the beautiful Neal's Yard square.

The all-vegan menu is inventive with intriguing combinations and obscure but tantalising ingredients.

I opted for the ‘Queen of the Forest’ for my main which was absolutely incredible; tangy, sweet, pretty - like a tomato soup from another world! There were so many flavours and textures but they complimented each other perfectly.

To drink I ordered the orange hot chocolate which was adorned with maple glazed seeds and the best coco-whip I've had.

For dessert I opted for the walnut and date banana bread with almond vanilla custard, which was beautifully presented and a lovely flavour.

You simply must not miss Wild Food Cafe if you are heading to Covent Garden any time soon - it will blow your mind and your taste buds! I will be back without a doubt.

Date of visit: December 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AVeganVisit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ellouisewilkie, Marketing at Wild Food Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2018

Hello,

We are happy you enjoyed the food and had a great experience with us!

Thank you for your feedback

Best Wishes,

The Wild Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 24, 2018

We visited on a thursday about 1 in the afternoon, so we knew would be jumping with the lunch rush.

Went up the stairs and a waiter was there was a nifty tablet and said it would be a 25 minute wait, we said that was fine and he took our name and number to text us when the table was ready(great idea btw!!).we poked around the nifty shops and neighbor hood and after about 15 minutes got a text that our table was ready.

Went back and were seated in the corner, its not your typical place the tables are like a school cafeteria your literally sat right next to other patrons so if that isnt your thing i wouldnt bother going...very cozy, its crazy how many people they can stack in the small room they have.

I had emailed before we went to ask about the menu as its a bit strange, it says what contains nuts and seeds and says what items contain 'some raw ingredients' being a raw vegan its a bit strange as you would think you would mark out the 100% raw dishes, i dont think any normal eatter is going to care if the almonds on the salad are raw. Had a nice reply stating what was 100% raw and what could be changed to make dishes raw so very well done and a big thank you for you guys.

Had trouble finding said email while there though and the server was a bit naughty saying certain dishes were 100% raw which we knew was not the case, she checked though just to be safe and while doing so i found the email and we sorted it out.

we started out with some shots, we both had the 'awake' which is cayenne,lemon,ginger and fresh tumeric. it 100% didnt have cayenne, or if it did it had no where near enough, i am a baby for spice and it had zero spice at all....was very nice though and really enjoyed it at £3 though probably not something would have again.

We had two of the pulled jackfruit sandwiches (which are 100% raw fyi) they were very nice, for £11 certainly not much for value but interesting flavors and we enjoyed them.

We wanted the kale chips but they had none. So ordered some of the sunflower seed and sundried tomato crackers £3 for 3 little rectangles, i loved them but my wife wasnt a fan, quite salty so be warned.

my wife had the venus bowl(not raw) which she said was wonderful, the broccoli was amazing to look at, you'd never no it was cooked, so green, never seen broccoli like it, soooo green, she couldnt fault the dish, she said the superslaw was a bit spicy though but again we are whimps so should be fine for others.

I had the wabi-sabi kale salad, can be made 100% raw by asking for no chestnuts....its fantastic, the kale is tossed in the sunflower seed sour cream and the avocado and kimichi goes so so well with it could not fault it.

Desserts as with most vegan and especially raw vegan places arent worth your time....

i had the pear and hibiscus cheescake with pumpkin seed and coconut granola and i kid you not its 3 mouthfuls and for £8 you can make up your own mind whether its worth it or not.....like most raw desserts it was pretty much all coocnut oil flavor so if thats your thing this is for you otherwise i would save your money.

My wife had the walnut and date banana bread....id never seen anything like it, we both looked at it when it came and thought it had been cooked and left out since christmas, it looked soooo dry...surprisingly she said it didnt taste half bad, very 'bity and grainy' she said so dont be expecting a nice soft chewy bread as she was ...

over all we would 100% go back, its terribly over priced but vegan and especially raw vegan places especially in london seem to all be this way, we know what to have again and what not to bother with(shots, desserts). Service was slow and i think they could get people in and out quicker if they had maybe one more server as the lady we were sat next to asked for her bill and then had to actually get up and go to the bar to sort it as the waitress went M.I.A, and with only 5-6 tables it shouldnt be that kind of delay even and peak time.

give it a go you wont regret it.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2018 via mobile

Two of us had a lovely lunch here during a recent stay. Food is super tasty and staff are friendly and helpful. The cafe itself has a lovely chilled out vibe and we will be back again to try out more of the menu. Highly recommended for any Vegan or meat eater alike!

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Passport427192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wild Food Cafe also viewed

London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Wild Food Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing