We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, central spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swinton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Swinton Hotel
Ranked #936 of 1,089 Hotels in London
bristol
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great, central spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

For £70 a night this is a really good find for 5 mins from Kings Cross station. The room was not huge, but not problem small, everything was clean and a few small pack of biscuits is always appreciated. No complaints and the best of several hotels I have tried in this area.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    84
    141
    77
    137
See reviews for
65
133
64
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

Myself and a few of the boys stayed here, we were expecting something from the film Hostel but were pretty surprised. It wasn’t the Taj Mahal but no one was expecting that. Place was clean enough, had a nice kettle, few bickies, towels and stuff were changed even though we were only there for two nights. Hardly a place to bring the wife and kids but if you are just a bunch of lads you’ll have no problems. Staff were all good bant as well and seemed pretty down to earth and friendly, sure there was no bloke In a top hat to take your bags, but again, I wasn’t expecting that for the price.

Would totes stay there again

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FLexington_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

So we booked this "hotel" without really looking into more details and trusting their website pictures... What a mistake! We arrived late and when we came to our room we did not know what to do - everything, from smell to the sheets was so disgusting! After checking the sheets closely we found spots of blood on them! It seemed like the room was not cleaned since the building was built. The management said they did not have any other rooms available, which at the end of the day we did not even want any!

In the middle of the night we started looking for another hotel as we could not stay a single minute in this kind of place. Thankfully, there was another bed & breakfast style hotel a few houses down, which was less expensive and clean!

We requested our money to be refunded, but the management refused and returned only the partial payment. That's how they probably make their money - by tricking tourists with their "beautiful" room pictures on the website and not returning the money. We later read other reviews and people had to find another place to sleep as well. It really is a scam and I hope people will think twice before booking it.

If there was an option to give a negative rating, we definitely would!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OK_NY2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these London hotels

UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2011

Clean, basic rooms for close to budget price. Location a little further from Kings ross than other budget hotels in the area. Breakfast was very basic, only cold croissant and some toasts but the coffee was excellent. If it was £20 cheaper it would be great.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryAngstrom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed here mid wk due to work in London - AWFUL EXPERIENCE. The hotel is situated on the one way system around kings cross just after a set of traffic lights, i was staying in one of the rooms at the front of the hotel, between the window not closing property and the single glazing , all i heard all night was the revving of truck/bus/car engines pulling of from the traffic lights=no sleep, beside that the room in tiney, u step side ways in the actual bedroom door, and hav to back up into the bathroom...no joke, paper thin walls, sounded like a porno was being filmed nxt door at one point. i asked to move rooms the nxt night due to all the noise (remember the truck revving....) ther was only one other room available....down in the dungeon...i mean lower grd floor, i thot i was entering a 'Saw' film set....horrible, i declined and checked out the nxt morning......The breakfast was fine - juice,coffee and cornflakes...cant really go wrong with that!

Room Tip: stay at your peril.....ask for room at back of hotel...for the extreme budget traveller!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank annemarieb256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2011

This place looks great value but actually isn't. I'd have been better off spending a few more pounds so I didn't feel depressed and claustrophobic in this very poor room... never ever ever again will I believe laterooms.com

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

This hotel looked like decent value at £64 per night for a single room and breakfast. The pictures posted on Hotels-London.co.uk gave the impression that the rooms were clean and moderately modern. However, when I got to my single room, it looked like a prison cell, furnished with second-hand very basic, not even shabby-chic furniture. It was very depressing. The wooden toilet seat was all worn and fraying at the inside front, and harbored goodness knows what kind of bacteria. Although the shower was clean, the very small en-suite smelt nasty. The bed was lumpy, athough the sheets were clean.The carpet in the room, and throughout the hotel, was filthy. The road noise was noticeable, and the walls were so thin I could hear the man next door snoring. The only positive was that the breakfast, although basic, was ample for me. A croissant, a choice of brown or white toast, cereal, and fruit juices, and tea and coffee. I wont be staying at Swinton again, and can't recommend it. I was embarrassed to think that foreign visitors have to stay in places like this in London for this price.

Room Tip: Don't stay anywhere in London for less than £100 a night if this hotel is anything to go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#527 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#954 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#551 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#723 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#788 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Point A Hotel, London Kings Cross
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swinton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Hotel

Property: Swinton Hotel
Address: 18-24 Swinton Street, London WC1X 9NX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #936 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Swinton Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swinton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing