We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect hideaway and gateway to London”
other travellers have booked this property
The living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The living room
The living room and dining table The dining table ready for breakfast
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
The living room
The living room and dining table
The dining table ready for breakfast
The double bedroom in the eaves
The kitchen - oven, hob, microwave, fridge, washing machine
High quality kitchen equipment
Shiny surfaces in the kitchen
Guide books for your use during your stay
' A hidden Gem!'  Our Visitors Book
The shower-room
Fluffy white towels and complimentary soaps
The Stables from the garden path
The front door of the Stables - flowers round you door
Your private, sheltered sitting area outside your door
The rear of the Old Bakery
Deli-on-the -Green - friendly food shop and cafe
Fruit and vegetables can be bought at Deli-om-the-Green
Food supplied by The Larder, a lovely shop and cafe on The Green
Cakes at Deli-on-the-Green
The Garden in June - view towards the Stables
Historic Old Bakery - Mr and Mrs Chalkley the bakers with their delivery cart
The Old Bakery - The Stables is located in the walled garden within independent street access
The Green, Winchmore Hill - great shops, cafes, restaurants and pub
Grovelands Park - just 5 minutes walk from The Stables
The view from your front door towards The Old Bakery
Cobbled pathway to the Stables
The Garden - clematis and geraniums in May
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Atraffic
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A perfect hideaway and gateway to London”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Truly loved our stay at the Stables. Nina was literally waiting at the gate for us when we arrived, though some of that may be due to luck. The setting was nothing less than idyllic with its private courtyard, flowers in bloom and cozy accommodations. It was so nice to have a quiet place to come home to but be an easy train ride away from all that London has to offer.

Apparently it is a bit outside the travel norm to stay outside of London when traveling but we considered staying in Ennfield one of the best decisions of our trip. This was the perfect home base for all of our adventures.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jun 2017
So glad that these charming guests enjoyed their stay. We too love the courtyard garden and it is always at its best is May and June. This year there have been even more birds on our bird-feeders that usual. Winchmore Hill is a pleasant and very popular residential area of London with excellent communication to the centre. As the station is just around the corner we are conveniently placed.
Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great little hideawy!”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property owner Nina was wonderful and extremely helpful prior to the trip. She sent us information that was so incredibly organized and offered more if we needed it. The property was adorable. the garden was super cozy but large and I loved seeing the little tortoise running around the gardens.

This property is a 15 minute train ride into downtown London and the train station is like a half of a block from the property. It's located on a "green" which is a circle and has everything that you could need right there. Groceries, restaurants, laundry mat, etc...

I highly recommend this property to anyone that wants to ensure that you have a comfortable, quite place to sleep after a fun and hectic day in the craziness that is London....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the gardens and the quite studio apartment
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank you very much for this kind review. We are always delighted to know that visitors enjoyed both the Stables cottage the surroundings of The Green. Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha...
1 review
“Fanastic London Honeymoon”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

My husband and I stayed in the Stables at Nina's Old Bakery during the first leg of our honeymoon, and had such a wonderful time. The Stables was cozy and quaint, and a nice retreat after spending the day in busy London. The train station is a 2 min walk from the apartment, but be advised it's not the tube, so if you're going into the city you'll have to change stations to get onto the tube. This wasn't a big deal, but it did take us a good 45 min to get into the city center each day. We didn't mind, though, since we were looking for a peaceful and quiet place to stay, and also loved Winchmore Hill, too. It is an adorable town in its own right, especially the area around the flat. There's a store across the Green where you can buy cooking essentials, and we enjoyed using the kitchen. Nina was incredibly helpful in the lead-up to the trip, sending us information about London day trips and asking for our flight info so she'd know when to expect us. It was comforting knowing someone was looking out for us as we made our way into a foreign country. Nina also provided guidebooks in the Stables, which were helpful. All in all I wish we could have stayed longer! Also, random side note to Nina: I'm so glad the bed had a top sheet! As my husband and I went to other places, we noticed this often wasn't the case. As an American it made me feel like the bed in the Stables was more hygienic compared to other places (even though I'm sure the other flats we stayed in were clean, too). Also, thank you, Nina, for being so welcoming and leaving us bread. My husband and I enjoyed meeting you and hope to one day return. Please send our love to Octavius! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Nov 2016
Thank for your review. We are delighted that your stay here made a good start to your honeymoon. We certainly hope that you will return one day. Octavius the Tortoise is now asleep for the winter but would, I am sure, If he were awake, send his love to you and remember you well. Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice and serene property withe easy access to London”
Reviewed July 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Our stay at the Old bakery was perfect. I loved the quite little garden and Nina has decorated the property so tastefully. It had everything that we needed and there are good restaurants and a market close by. The train station into downtown London was also very conveniently located. I really enjoyed spending a day in the wonderful chaos that is London and then having our private, quite little place to retreat to at the end of a long day of sight seeing. Stepping through the little gate into the beautiful garden with the tortoise was kind of magical after the noise of the city.

Nina was so incredibly helpful both prior to and during our stay there. Also, we had a little mishap that ended in some slight damage to a piece of furniture. I told Nina what happened, she inspected the damage and said no worries, that it was clear that we had not intended to do any harm and refunded our entire deposit. I highly recommend both the property and Nina! She sent us some great ideas and itineraries for day trips as well as extremely helpful information about what to do prior to our arrival to help navigate the metro system.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful garden
Liked least: no hair dryer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2016
so glad that these charming guests enjoyed their stay. We love our walled garden and it is a pleasure to know that our guests do too. The tortoise, Octavius, has been with us since 1978 and is very busy eating at this time of year. If I am late with his morning food he will even walk into my house to remind me. He seems to be getting more intelligent in recent years. Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCOTT D
1 review
“A GEM IN THE WOODS”
Reviewed June 21, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Received specific directions that were spot on. Nina met us and the Old Bakery is everything it was advertised to be. Nina is a history buff so her info was very valuable. Great accommodations,easy to get London. tons of things to do in the immediate area. very cozy and most important clean and quiet. Sat out in the garden every morning and drank coffee and watched the pet turtle. Life doesn't get much better. Well worth the price. Beats staying at some stuffy hotel in London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting in the garden
Liked least: recycling
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
I am delighted that Scott and his partner enjoyed their stay in The Stables cottage and that they took advantage of the garden as well. I suspect that the tortoise is missing them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Reviewed April 12, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Thank you so much, Lynda, for this lovely review. The sun has come out this week and the idea sitting outside the Stables for a drink or for breakfast is more enticing.. What a pity the weather was so variable during your stay. The sunshine has brought our tortoise out of hibernation and has got me working in the garden as well. We are looking forward to welcoming Lynda back soon. Nina
Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed July 6, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful and quiet surroundings after a busy day in London
Liked least: The loft makes is tight for a tall person to move around
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing