We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfy, cosy & central, just like home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Fichi in the CIty

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
London, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Bonnie K
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfy, cosy & central, just like home”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Fichi in the City is a 2-bedroom apartment with everything (and I mean everything, down to towels, a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer, wifi, and even a tablet) you need for a comfortable stay in London. The location is great: just 10 mins walk through the lovely Highbury Park to Highbury & Islington tube station, which is a few stops away from Oxford Circus.

What's unique is that the apartment is also located near a little parade of shops, which include a bakery, pub, restaurants, local greengrocer and a local health shop, so you get the big city experience as well as the 'village' experience - which is as 'London' as you can get.

For those with children (ours is 2), there are singalong activities in the Church around the corner and in the Central Library located 10 mins walk through the park, and, of course, playgrounds in the park itself. There are also public tennis courts in the park :0).

The apartment itself is on a quiet road, is well heated and really comfortable. It was a joy to come back to after long days out. It really does feel like a home away from home. We stayed for 3 weeks and completely enjoyed our time there. We would highly recommend it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of accommodation
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WearyTrav...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location for a London vacation”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When booking the apartment, Ian was always quick and helpful with his responses. The property is as described, in a convenient, quiet neighborhood with a variety of shops and a 10-15 minute walk to either Arsenal or Highbury/Islington tube station. All the appliances worked, although the washer/dryer combo leaves something to be desired if you are used to American appliances. That is not the fault of the owner though, and it was nice to have it. It looks like it was nicely remodeled in the not too distant past, but is starting to look a bit worn. Overall, it is a good value to stay there for a nice haven to come back to after a busy day in crowded downtown London. We enjoyed staying in a place where we were not surrounded by tourists, but by normal everyday Londoners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malcolm C
2 reviews
“Immediately felt like home”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

This was my first visit back to London for many years. Neither Highbury nor the flat did anything to dampen my growing urge to return to this great city. The location is ideal, Highbury Barn has a great selection of upmarket but practical shops perfect for foodies. Lively Islington is only a short walk away – through a beautiful park and access to the city centre couldn’t be easier. The flat is comfortable and tastefully furnished in a quiet secure street, with a fully equipped kitchen it is ideal for a family and makes a much better holiday base than a hotel. With the ease of self catering it is also vastly cheaper and lets you live, for a while, in one of the classier parts of the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the quality of the accomodation
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lovelivin...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Like being at home in London”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Living and working in Africa we relish our trips back to the UK. For us Fichi in the City is the only place to stay in London. It's close to where we lived before, we lived there because we love it and it reminds us of why we miss London so much. The flat has everything you could possibly need and is thoughtfully and tastefully presented, everything is immaculately maintained and worked perfectly. We found it ideal for a young family, Ian - the owner - is always available for any questions and the property manager Warren couldn't have been more helpful or informative. The flat has a great information pack which contains things that even we didn't know about - try the Vietnamese restaurant Au Lac - it's wonderful.

If you want to experience one of the many "real Londons" then this is the best, in a safe and secure villagey neighbourhood with excellent links into the heart of the city.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucia C
London
2 reviews
“A wonderful flat in a perfect location”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We stayed in this beautiful flat for 6 days in November and really enjoyed our time there. The flat was the perfect accommodation for our family of four : it had everything we needed and we really felt like home all the time during our stay. Having two little girls we appreciated also the safe area and the very good connection to the public transport. Shops, restaurants and supermarkets are very close by and with just a two minutes walk it is possible to enjoy the beautiful Highbury Fields with a very nice playground for kids. Every evening, after a day out in the city, we were looking forward to going back to the flat and having a relaxing time there. The owners - Ian and Bob - and the manager - Warren - were always very kind and helpful from the first emails to the booking process and during our whole stay.
We already feel like going back to London and to Fichi in the City soon and will definitely recommend this flat to all our friends as the perfect place to stay while in London.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbanet...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Handy to everything!”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

A small but well set up apartment. We particularly appreciated the fact that there were plenty of consumables so that we didn't have to shop for soap or laundry detergent etc. The location was really great - I don't think anyone could get tired of the walk along Highbury Fields to the underground and having so many speciality shops in Highbury Barn was fantastic.
A minor quibble was that we could have done with some extra linen, but we did appreciate the clean half way through our twelve day stay.
Finally, Ian the owner, and Warrren the manager were both extremely approachable and very good communicators.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$188
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing